View Poll Results: Will Shels start the new season?

Voters
99. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

67 67.68%
  • No

32 32.32%
Page 31 of 43 FirstFirst ... 21293031323341 ... LastLast

Thread: Shelbourne FC Demoted to First Division - All Purpose Thread

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1 View Post
    Basically they cheated their way to the title. Im suprised you lads arent going ballistic at this

Now come on, let's be reasonable about this - all anyone is accusing them of doing is massive overspending to purchase players they couldn't afford and had no intention of paying every week;

and withholding money from the taxman, deliberately defaulting several times on repayment schedules before telling a national newspaper that "it's just something you do to keep them off your back";

and supplying financial documents that may not have shown the full extent of their financial difficulties in order to obtain a license to compete in the league...

It's not as if Ollie was the type to go shouting "RULES IS RULES" and appealing to every court in the land whenever something didn't go his way. The way some people are going on you'd think Shels had commited some truly DESPICABLE crime against football like waiting for 5 games before being informed about a mistake in Stuey Byrne's registration papers, even though the under-contract player had already been with Shels for some time and his validity to play for the team had never been questioned by any party. That's the type of thing that really needs to be punished.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    I'll work out what would have happened with the League table later tonight if Shels record were expunged
    Derry would have won with 58
    Drogs second with 57
    Cork third with 49

Couldn't be arsed looking at the rest of the table, but I don't think there'd have been much change.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

I think someone worked this out on another thread a week or two ago... Can't find it though!

Quote Originally Posted by bigmac View Post
    Derry would have won with 58
    Drogs second with 57
    Cork third with 49

Couldn't be arsed looking at the rest of the table, but I don't think there'd have been much change.
    Is that with or without the Dublin City results?

Penalising Shels retrospectively would highlight the FAIs negligence in the licening process but I suppose it never affected them when penalised Rovers...

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    I'll work out what would have happened with the League table later tonight if Shels record were expunged
    I already did, its somewhere earlier in this thread. No change in positions.

Edit:
    Here ye go:
    If Shels' results were expunged
    Last edited by BohsPartisan; 06/02/2007 at 8:39 PM.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

>They were deducted 8 points, purely because thats all the had earned at that time.

Rovers had 7 points at the time and were knocked back down to -1 IIRC

>A similar punishment for Shels would be fair.

Fair for Shels or anyone else

bhs

Quote Originally Posted by blackholesun View Post
    >They were deducted 8 points, purely because thats all the had earned at that time.

Rovers had 7 points at the time and were knocked back down to -1 IIRC
    No, they definitely had 8. No other reason for that random figure

>A similar punishment for Shels would be fair.

Fair for Shels or anyone else
    Fair for the league as it would show some consistency

Its interesting what you find when you search the archives to see what the world was like when the 8 point deduction was imposed.
    Together with all our hearts.

He hee he. Funny thread alright

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fergalr View Post
    Its interesting what you find when you search the archives to see what the world was like when the 8 point deduction was imposed.
    When you read that stuff as a Rovers fan it's like another country..... by God we've reversed matters big time and we're not finished yet... to be a Hoop is just magic

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrit
    Poor guys, we should really not be laughing with the misery of such a traditional club. Still, when you play with fire you know you can get burnt... So saying this is all injustice that they're punished would be wrong.
    Brilliant! Shels fans take note of your own words!
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    When you read that stuff as a Rovers fan it's like another country..... by God we've reversed matters big time and we're not finished yet... to be a Hoop is just magic
    Never mind a different country, it's like a different world

Dublin City have a fickle inconsistent support just like the GAA team. They had bigger support in their promotion season of 2003 than in their Premier Division campaign last season. So in spite of having a more attractive opposition to play against their crowds went down.
    Look at the Dublin Gaelic Football team as a comparible example.
    Used to use Croker for National League matches now can make do with Parnell Park as only 10,000 max are arsed about going to those games.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Brilliant! Shels fans take note of your own words!
    To be fair BP - Gerrit wasn't really a Shels fan. He just arrived over from Belgium looking for a team to support, and latched onto the most successful club at the time....

I believe he's now a Northern Ireland fan - having ditched the Republic - and he's probably a fan of the Glens or someone, rather than Shels...

1,550 Posts
    In fairness if he's looking for success he'd be better off with Linfield or Cliftonville at the rate Glens are going!

Quote Originally Posted by fergalr View Post
    That makes great reading in hindsight, especially with Rovers back in the Premier and in profit.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

If Shels are booted out of the CL will they be in the draw for the fair play spot in the UEFA cup?

First Division Club to replace Shels

unlucky shels i guess.......sad to see the champions be relegated in a way! should be dundalk...not waterford to come up but my guess is the FAI forgot a team have to be re promoted now shels are gone so might take them a few months for them to get a coin to toss to see who gets promoted!

feo123, have you any idea about the fact Dundalk signed teh same agreement as the opther clubs re the decision making process. Its not as though you didn't know winning a playoff from the first didn't mean promotion. God, I mean how many times does it need saying. Waterford finished ahead of Dundalk. So Waterford deserve the place???? If Kilkenny won the league or playoff, do you think they should have gotten promoted , despite this document they agreeed to ??? Argh!
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Page 31 of 43 FirstFirst ... 21293031323341 ... LastLast