Page 20 of 75 FirstFirst ... 1018192021223070 ... LastLast

Thread: John O'Shea

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish
    United supporter by any chance or do you just have no general clue about football? Gary Neville is nowhere near one of the best right backs in Europe.

The following are all better right backs:

Finnan
    Thuram
    Puyol
    Cafu (if your talking about players playing in Europe)
    Zanetti (see above)
    Sagnol
    Ferreira
    Lauren
    Gallas (when he plays there)

That's off the top of my head. I'm sure I could think of a few more. You my friend are a muppet. Stop believing what you read in the English tabloids and watch a few games. I'd imagine you'd play Neville instead of Finnan then? Thank f**k your not picking the Irish team.
    don't really like man utd. i read the times daily actually, their football supplement is also quite good. As far as i was aware the english tabloids pretty much slate neville but i find it difficult to ignore a man with 70 odd international caps, a number of premiership titles, a champions league winners medal, and captain of one of the biggest clubs in the world. In amongst the cr*p you wrote you have actually accidently produced a very valid question, who would play neville or finnan? i would go with Neville as he's more experienced but i think i would play finnan on the right of midfield as he is a solid player.

However, in regards to watching 'a few games', i happened to see the united arsenal game and noted one point in the game where neville came across to clear out the danger in the box when a shot seemed certain. His position and reading of the game was superb.

2,796 Posts
    For what it's worth I rate Neville too, but he's not as good as Finnan in my opinion. I think Finnan is that bit more cultured a footballer. I think Neville being such an opinionated so-and-so disguises his abilities as a player. Full back isn't a position for flash gits & Neville does his job very effectively. His brother is a different story altogether though.

O'Shea should be given a chance in CM for Ireland cos we just dont have anyone else. I think on form Stephen Reid is a starter, but who else would be picked beside him if there was a match tomorrow? Kavanagh? no way. Liam Miller, Johnathan douglas-any other center mids spring to mind?

OShea has been poor for Ireland, very poor, but hasnt been given a proper chance in center mid-lets see if he takes that chance.
    I

I think the O'Shea and Reid partnership has potential. They are both big, athletic, good tacklers and decent passers of the ball.

Quote Originally Posted by as_i_say
    Kavanagh? no way. .
    Kav is an excellent player IMO - just look at Wigans results when hes been missing.

Agree with you on O'Shea - he deserves another chance in CM for Ireland - we have a very small pool of players and are not in a position to write anybody off

Another John O'Shea - Rant

John O'Shea reckons when he puts on the Green Jersey - He feels 10 feet tall.. or so goes the add break on TV3 on saturday during match coverage..

Personally I thought you looked disinterested John on Saturday, You really did want to get back to your Plush gaff in some posh Manchester Suburb, your nice Car and various Luxuries..Wearing the Green is a necessay inconvenience to you, hell it comes with the Job and sure you can have a bit of craic with Robbie and the lads in the pub or nightclub afterwards before tipping back to Sir Alex and the Day Job..John O'Shea is typical of the Rot in Modern footballers not just Irish but a major culture of greed has developed in the morally corrupt premiership. Player like John don't care anymore they are minted and have lost their drive at a young age. We the Fans can only look on in Horror..John as an Irish Fan watching you preform was embarassing made me and many an Irish Fan feel an inch high..

i love your posts reality bites.

"You can't but wonder about the competitive hardness of players who earn more in a week that many white collar workers earn in year.

What exactly is their motivation in playing international football? Do they really want to be in Dublin this week?

What connection do they feel for the supporters, beyond the swift, trademark gesture at a final whistle? "

can the next person that meets him give him the almightiest kick in the arse. something tells me he might like it though.

2,796 Posts
    I heard he admitted to his mates in Waterford that Ireland doesn't matter to him anywhere near as much as United.

Cheap shot, rumour or whatever. It's what I heard from someone in Waterford.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I heard he admitted to his mates in Waterford that Ireland doesn't matter to him anywhere near as much as United.

Cheap shot, rumour or whatever. It's what I heard from someone in Waterford.
    Yeh, you're not wrong Stuttgart. I've heard the same. He's the most self-indulgent, over-rated, talentless player we've ever bought into. Think of all those players we thought were average, Gary Waddock, Alan McLoughlin, David Kelly, Jeff Kenna. When you compare them to O'Shea they are heroes.

214 Posts
    Ireland might mean a little more to him when Fergie dumps the talentless ass at the end of the season when he buys Hargreaves. Biggest waste of space at Man Utd since Bosnich and look at that fatty now......
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Quote Originally Posted by DeNiro View Post
    Yeh, you're not wrong Stuttgart. I've heard the same.
    what, you heard the same romour?? So what?
    I said it before, John O'Shea is sometimes an easy target.
    Honestly, if he was not that much 'into' playing for his country, do you think he'd keep turning up to take all the abuse he gets from his own fans?

no he is a disgrace, another shambolic and lethargic display for a major disappointment of a player once hailed as our next great white hope

182 Posts
    we should stop building him up to be something that he's not. ok, so he's not going to be the world class centre-back he was billed to be, but he can still be a useful player.

i'm also from waterford like o'shea and happen to agree like a lot of other people down here that he is over rated but would disagree with the the point that he is ambivalent towards playing for us - how many times has he withdrawn from squads (not as much as we'd like him to). But give him a break on that note. Also i have never heard that rumour and i know a lot of his friends here.

I've always defended him a little. I always think he's not as bad as people make out but that's not to say he hasn't had shockers for us. He still has the odd decent game for his club but has never brought that form with him to the International stage.

One thing that doesn't help is the constant groaning and occasional abuse when he gets the on ball. I'm all for having a whinge after the fact but hate to see a player get abuse off his own fans no matter how bad they get. C'mon, you don't think it helps him do you?
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

mr. consistently sh*te

he has never had anything but a shocker in an irish shirt,
    he's a complete disgrace, does he even watch the replays of the
    match at all, if i was him i'd pack it in

Booing John O'Shea?

Was i hearing things or was JOS booed everytime he touched the ball last night?
    Now there is no doubting that JOS is rubbish, a liability, but do we really want to resort to that level of britishness?
    But then, maybe its a wake up call he needs??
    He wouldnt make the Shamrock Rovers team these days, really cant understand what anyone sees in him

I didn't notice it on the box anyway but I'd hate for anyone to do that to one of our own players regardless of how sh!te they are.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

I was saying Boo urns.

After he had his legendary shot (last of the famous Lansdowne international memories?) lots of people started shouting "SHOOT!" every time he got the ball. Think some people thought this was booing and joined in enthusiastically
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Booing

The "shoot" theory was put forward by V Hogan in the Indo today but i noticed it way before the "shot" and it was vaugely mentioned on the radio this morning also that he was getting booed by his own fans..........

Page 20 of 75 FirstFirst ... 1018192021223070 ... LastLast