Page 7 of 75 FirstFirst ... 567891757 ... LastLast

Thread: John O'Shea

Contracts in football mean nothing these days.
    Nice bit if business for the lad because he's got himself a contract that will see him paid well to warm the bench.

3,501 Posts
    I really do worry he's going to turn into the next Phil Neville, esp now the last Phil Neville has left the club

so is he the new Phil Neville then ? i dont know where he is giong to fit in with hienze there. I dont see it as a great contract for Josh,

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    I really do worry he's going to turn into the next Phil Neville
    Some players seem to lack ambition and happy just to be at a "big" club.
    Man Yoo has a history of such players, Solsjaker, Butt, P. Neville etc.
    John O'Shea seems to fit the bill in that respect.

How is winning trophies consistantly and playing at a top club lacking in ambtition. Nowadays with squad players the idea of a first 11 when everybody is fit is gone. What is Chelsea's First 11 or Arsenals. There is normally always about 3 players in a squad injured. In addition to that you have form, tactics etc, so the days of a pick yoru best 11 players is totally gone. Should Crespo be worried because Drogba played on Sunday and scored twice. He will get his chance if you are at a top club there is always competition for places. It is only further down the league and at smaller clubs were someone is certain of their place. and in my view if O Shea did that , it woudl lack ambition.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Nice bit if business for the lad because he's got himself a contract that will see him paid well to warm the bench.

37 appearance, does not sound like warming the bench at all, but sure we wont let facts get in the way.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    37 appearance, does not sound like warming the bench at all, but sure we wont let facts get in the way.
    You're talking about the past, I'm talking about the future.
    Have a seat next to him on the bench and chill out a bit!

I am grand and chilled today as I have a nice bottle of water with me with lots of ice here in work. Well the future is only opinino but O shea seems to think he will get between 37 and 50 appearance during his contract and Ferguson does too. But the past can be a good guide to the future and last season O Shea had 37 appearacne when Heinze was there so there is no reason to think he will have less appearances this season as Kleberson, Djemba Djemba and Phil Neville have all left and O Shea was competing for places in midfield with them. O Shea will not get 37 appearances at left back for Man Utd but I think he will get 37 appearances in various positions.
    In Trap we trust

O'Shea is a good player and ManU would not allow him to walk away on a Bosman at the end of the season, and he is a valuable player in his own right. Makes sense for United all round.

You're talking about the past, I'm talking about the future.
    Have a seat next to him on the bench and chill out a bit!
    Actually, I've seen the future, O'Shea played 35 games for Man Yoo in 2005/6 (including 8 as a sub), but only 22 the following season (partly due to his poor performance in the World Cup in Germany)!!

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    but I think he will get 37 appearances in various positions.
    For me, that's the problem. I'd love to see the guy specialise.

I said this recently on another thread, but it's appropriate here too: I disagree with the assertion that he's a poor passer. I just think that he's a poor passer from left-back, as he's a right footer. I think he could do a Lawrenson type role in midfield for us.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    I think he could do a Lawrenson type role in midfield for us.
    Not likely to get that chance at club level though.
    Look at all the second rate midfield players they bought over the past few season and then they stick Alan Smith in there.
    Surely if they rated O'Shea he'd have been coached into that role?

On another note, I fear for Miller at Glazer Bros.

fergie is only going to be at united for another season or two ,, what going to happen to josh and mr invisble then ? i cant see the new manager being so positive about such weak performances

I thought this thread was about him becoming a pundit

Can't be worse than Shearer anyway.

Hard to know what to make of O'Shea, but this is a very big year for him

John O'Shea - Success or Failure

Heard two lads having a very deep and meaningful at half time at the game last night about the career to date of John O'Shea. One thought that it was a roaring success, premiership and fa cup medals, near regular in the United side and a cert for Irish games.

The other wasn't convinced and doesn't rate him a success at all, thinking he's only in the Unted side to boost his value before he gets sold on, and is only in the Irish team because he's playing regularly for a massive club side.

I'm kind of caught in the middle of this...seeing both sides. What does everyone else think?? Maybe a poll, success or failure, or undecided??

Failure as a left back ... .moderate success when in centre midfield ....

now liam miller on the other hand total failure ...

2,796 Posts
    Career to date? Undecided, but certainly closer to success than failure.

Last night in central midfield: success.

Total failure, he's shyte!!! I really can't understand what he's doing in the Irish team, never mind the premier league!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

To me, he's got great skill and vision and can play the game, but for a 6ft 2" strong lad, he gets muscled out of it very easily at times which is why he'll never make it as a centre-half. I think he's a decent full back though.

He suffers for his flexibility because he's never picked in the same bloody position three weeks in a row,

Failure.
    Makes all the initial hope and promise invested in him now seem naive (same for Miller).
    I firmly believe he's getting in the squad due to "lovely lad syndrome" (a problem McCarthy has been known to suffer from).

Why are the likes of Miller, O'Shea, and Quinn getting into the squad every single time when they have done nothing to warrant it, when others (Dunne, McGeady, S. Reid) are left "dumbfounded" by going months at a time without a call up, wondering if they pi$$ed Kerr off somehow -??
    "Ah, he's a lovely lad. Gets on with everyone, tries hard, always eager to be a part of it." It's not enough. We have the players, and we're not getting the most out of them.

We need someone who is going to be clinical and detached, a la Mourinho. Hard but fair.
    Don't get me wrong, I'm not calling for Kerr's head. I don't think there's any point in replacing him unless we have someone better who's ready, willing, and able to step in. I have been a fan of Kerr since he was given the job, but I've found that every game since (and including) the match in Paris has just been frustrating.

Game after game, I'm not enjoying these matches, I'm just getting frustrated watching it. Sure, over time, that feeling gets clouded by the memory of a result (wins over the likes of Faroes and China, draws away to Swiss and Israel when we actually played far, far below par), but it's just...I don't know. I've never for a second doubted that we're going to the World Cup, and I'm glad that the overall reaction on here has been surprisingly accomodating for last night (that's somewhat reassuring), but I'm losing that optimisim fast.

Page 7 of 75 FirstFirst ... 567891757 ... LastLast