Page 45 of 75 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast

Thread: John O'Shea

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    UTD never looked at the races tonight, thats what has made it so annoying.
    ...or enjoyable

I wouldn't be a huge John O'Shea fan but I thought he was one of United's best performers tonight. Did a very good job on Henry, and generally solid throughout.

2,796 Posts
    He certainly didn't let himself down. Fair play JOS, keep it up for another 2 weeks.

Yeah O Shea was very good tonight probably Man Utds best player. A pity he does not have another medal to add to his name. I would never shout for a team that has no irish players over a team that does. Not sure I understand why someonene who is Irish would to be honest. He could have been tooked in more for the secon goal but to be honest Evras clearance was woeful and the whole defence was out of position as a result.
    In Trap we trust

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by richieos View Post
    i thought o'shea was the only solid united defender tonight, did his job against henry and hardly gave him a sniff, rio and vidic werent at the races, second goal cant be blamed on o'shea
    I agree, he kept henry very very quiet, except for one point in the second half where he lost the ball in midfield and henry was released down the left. Think Vidic and Ferdinand were the main at fault for the goals. Very performance from united in general.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Yeah O Shea was very good tonight probably Man Utds best player. A pity he does not have another medal to add to his name. I would never shout for a team that has no irish players over a team that does. Not sure I understand why someonene who is Irish would to be honest.
    Maybe because having one Irish player isn't enough to compensate for what a trulely despicable team MU are, it would be like rooting for the Nazi's because Hitler happened to have an Irish henchman

3,501 Posts
    O'Shea didn't do much wrong tonight, but United could have put out the 1970 Brazil front 5 with the 1982 Italy defensive 5 and Barca still would have beaten them, just an amazing team.
    To castigate him for the mistakes of others is unfair, and unjustified IMO

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I would never shout for a team that has no irish players over a team that does. Not sure I understand why someone who is Irish would
    Oh get over yourself Neil. I wanted JOS to do well but as a team - or even as a brand - I vastly prefer Barcelona, simple as that.

I don't like Rio Ferdinand or Wayne Rooney much, Berbatov neither; I think Ronaldo is a cheat and a creep, Despite being a great coach I think Ferguson is pretty unlikeable. I dislike the EPL and I dislike MUFC's ownership structure. Barcelona winning will shut SKY commentators up for a while when it comes to their "EPL is everything" drivel.

I love the way Barcelona play football.

Oh sorry, I'm being treachorous.

I'd have a soft spot for United but they were outclassed last night.
    I thought John O'Shea was United's best performer, though he was far from the best player on the pitch. He kept Henry Very quiet and supported the attack very well, especially in the second half.

Ya the ITV panel would drive ye demented as well, they were going on about how much of a great game it was going to be etc, even well into midway of the first half - i think at this stage they copped it wasn't giong to be but just wanted to keep everyone interested. NO COP ON at all. Surely at the very least you stop all this once the game starts. Finals never ever are free flowing or attacking from end to end as the fear of losing a final is too great. These games that are hyped up never ever live up to that.

Btw, I don't understand this word "creep" its crept in, and yet i dont really understand how a footballer is one, if you mentioned in the context of the Marist Brothers or Christian Brothers in reference to one of its former serving members then I would fully understand, but when referring to a soccer player I don't understand....

130 Posts
    Ya the ITV panel would drive ye demented as well, they were going on about how much of a great game it was going to be etc, even well into midway of the first half - i think at this stage they copped it wasn't giong to be but just wanted to keep everyone interested. NO COP ON at all. Surely at the very least you stop all this once the game starts. Finals never ever are free flowing or attacking from end to end as the fear of losing a final is too great. These games that are hyped up never ever live up to that.
    Off topic a bit, but i personally thought it was a great game, not in the standard end to end attacking way, but the standard of passing from Barca was a joy to watch. Sky and co rave about arsenal and their ability to keep the ball and string 20/30 passes in a row, i lost count of the number of times Barca did that last night.

Ya, but they hype it up in terms of that sorta game, not that i agree much with dunphy but he said it before, top quality football isn't necessarily nice to watch football. As giggs said last night, barca make you look stupid when you don't have the ball....which is true but if utd had a gattuso in there that might not have been the case. But, yes, barcas passing at times in tight spaces was brilliant. UTD did it in rare glimpses as well in fairness.

131 Posts
    JOS got a very poor rating on skysports:

http://www.skysports.com/football/us...145284,00.html

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    but United could have put out the 1970 Brazil front 5 with the 1982 Italy defensive 5 and Barca still would have beaten them, just an amazing team.
    reminds me of jimmy johnstone being interviewed before Celtic - Porto in uefa cup final.
    Interviewer, - "if the current celtic team played the Liosbon Lions who would win"
    JJ -"it would probably be a draw"
    Interviewer - "really Jimmy, are the current team that good".
    JJ - "Aye, but sure we're all in our 60's!"

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Oh get over yourself Neil. I wanted JOS to do well but as a team - or even as a brand - I vastly prefer Barcelona, simple as that.

I don't like Rio Ferdinand or Wayne Rooney much, Berbatov neither; I think Ronaldo is a cheat and a creep, Despite being a great coach I think Ferguson is pretty unlikeable. I dislike the EPL and I dislike MUFC's ownership structure. Barcelona winning will shut SKY commentators up for a while when it comes to their "EPL is everything" drivel.

I love the way Barcelona play football.

Oh sorry, I'm being treachorous.
    Bit OTT there Stutts. All I said was I don't really understand it. Not having a go at anyone, I just don't understand it. Barca are a great footballing team but I do have to say that having been to the Camp Nou a few times, their atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired when at the game.
    In Trap we trust

Oshea got 7 on the metro over here, surprisingly so did ronaldo though, but they were the only 2 everyone got less. Vidic and ferdinand were marked poorly at 5 i think. That sky sports thing is crap in fairness ferdinand was no way a 7. In fairness to oshea not much came down his side, granted that might have been Barcas game plan but I would have thought they would have seen oshea as the weaker link and attacked down there more often. There is no way Evra was better last night.

Yeah I would have O shea as Man Utds best player and then Ronaldo. But not much more than a 6 or a 7 really.
    In Trap we trust

2,796 Posts
    I still love you Neil.

Oshea got 7 on the metro over here, surprisingly so did ronaldo though, but they were the only 2 everyone got less. Vidic and ferdinand were marked poorly at 5 i think. That sky sports thing is crap in fairness ferdinand was no way a 7. In fairness to oshea not much came down his side, granted that might have been Barcas game plan but I would have thought they would have seen oshea as the weaker link and attacked down there more often. There is no way Evra was better last night.
    Probably because Henry was not fully fit. They moved Eto'o out wide right which created the space for Inniesta, Xavi and Messi to attack.

Thought both Ferdinand and JOS were equally at fault for second goal.The cross was perfect, but a players of Messi's size should not be allowed to find the space he did between the 2 defenders who were no more that 4/5 yards apart. Both were ball watching and both have a tendency to do it.

I have always thought that Ferdinand is overrated. Looks good coming forward with the ball and passes well. He can also tackle but I think he is poor reader of crosses, particularly the ones from the right hand side, when he is playing on the right of the 2 centre backs and the forward peel off his right shoulder. Has been caught out with this several times for MU and England.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Think he can hold his head high, was one of Uniteds better performers. Much better than Evra on the other wing.
    More ITV bashing here(i watched the match in England), they seemed to hype up every single mistake John made and continously mention it. He got caught out of position once in the first half and about 3 times in barcas attack the commentator mentioned how it stemmed from O'Shea's mistake. I lost count of how many terribl passes both Carrick and Ronney did throughout the match, yet not a word about the from the commentators

Page 45 of 75 FirstFirst ... 35434445464755 ... LastLast