Page 2 of 75 FirstFirst 12341252 ... LastLast

Thread: John O'Shea

537 Posts
    great finish! far better footballer than many give him credit for. deserves a good run in both his teams.
    another great midfield performance from keane also

Have to agree - great finish by O'Shea and Utd were worthy winners for their second half display.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Great goal... it took him a while to realise it wasnt offside though!

Looked totally off the pace of the game early on, but then popped up and scored the goal..

I love this site but it's ridiculously predictable sometimes. I can remember a lengthy thread not too long ago - I only signed up in September - which castigated the chap! Fair enough, he has improved recently but he's always been a decent player who happened to go through a bad patch!

Quote Originally Posted by Donal81
    Fair enough, he has improved recently but he's always been a decent player who happened to go through a bad patch!
    Something which I've always said

Quote Originally Posted by ramblers05
    up front V China keane and o'shea
    Suggested this before 'I would like to see him tried out as a striker. He can head and can shoot. He has a presence in the opposing box for free kicks and corners. If nothing else he may give us an option if we needed a big guy up front.'

Definitely worth looking at.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

In fairness his problem is he's had too many positions, playing him up front would do more harm than good.

I've slagged off Miller but not O'Shea, I think hes a good footaller..

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I have often wondered if O'Shea could play a similiar role to that
    of Nial Quinn.
    He seems to be developing into a master of all trades
    He certaintly seems to have a pretty good strike rate at the moment
    anyway.

Just like Delap's two goals against Arsenal - O'Shea best Irish striking talent ever. Not quite.

Please don't play him up front. We don't need a "big man" up there!

o'shea can play midfield if he continues to improve which is almost like saying nothing at all. but i think he's got the technique and 2 decent feet. he looked a little lumbering but has some experience now and confidence, well.. how calmly he took his goal.

2,687 Posts
    Aren't we getting a bit carried away?

He's done well in a midfield role in two games & now we're saying he should be a striker!

Still, MUFC gave a good lesson in how to defend a lead in a tough away game and JOS played his part.

Humble pie

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy
    Lads I'm sitting here eating a big bowl of humble pie.
    Don't go hogging the whole bowl, TP. You'd better make sure there's some left over for everyone's favourite Caribbean politician.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Fair play to O'Shae delighted for him...
    First class finish

He looked truely shocked himself when he scored

O'Shea was playing poorly for a season and half, after an amazing first season, and seemed to have lost interest and gained weight. The transfer talk seems to have given him the kick up the arse, he's lost a few pounds and is producing the goods again. Fair play to him, as he could've been on a downwards spiral out of the club, but he's turned it around - and long may it continue.

Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour
    I have often wondered if O'Shea could play a similiar role to that
    of Nial Quinn.
    You mean stick him in goals aswell!??!
    UCD sha-la-la

3,304 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cullenswood
    You mean stick him in goals aswell!??!
    And save penalties??

With all the talk of O'Shea moving into midfield (eventually) who will play left full?? In the squad he's the only recognised left full in there, apart from Finnan who (I'd imagine) will play right full.

Quote Originally Posted by ken foree
    he looked a little lumbering
    I think that's O'Shea's biggest problem. He looks so awkward on the ball and as a result he comes in for a lot of stick as a clumsy unskilful player. Personally I think he's a great player, a great passer of the ball, always does the simple thing and as we've learned over the last couple of games he's a fantastic finisher!!

B.

Quote Originally Posted by BaZmO*
    Personally I think he's a great player, a great passer of the ball, always does the simple thing...
    You've obviously never seen him play for Ireland!

Page 2 of 75 FirstFirst 12341252 ... LastLast