Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Chris Turner

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post

I realise that you're a relative newbie to this lark but it is a Rovers/Bohs thing. We'll take any edge going and the ambiguity surrounding Bohs formation and history does the job nicely.

For instance our baiting of Derry fans re. the Queen's shilling and slagging Paul McGrath's alcoholism when he was at Waterford. In Derry's case a lot of us would be politically sympathetic to Derry people but that doesn't stop us. In McGrath's case he's a hero to most Irish football fans but fair game at the same time. See also Roy Keane songs in Cork.

So when Linfield play Cliftonville and sections from both fans use sectarian language and sing sectarian songs it can be dismissed as a Blues/Reds thing? Fact is that by behaving in this manner if the club do not take adequate action to try and prevent it you are in breach of UEFA's 10 point plan and liable to fines/point reductions and relegation or dismissal from competitions.

Back on Topic.......

Word is that Bohs have withdrawn their bid for Chris Turner yay!

Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    So when Linfield play Cliftonville and sections from both fans use sectarian language and sing sectarian songs it can be dismissed as a Blues/Reds thing? Fact is that by behaving in this manner if the club do not take adequate action to try and prevent it you are in breach of UEFA's 10 point plan and liable to fines/point reductions and relegation or dismissal from competitions.
    But its not sectarian as Bohs supporters are not predominently prodestant. Just like most Shamrock Rovers fans are not homeless. Cliftonville/Linfield are seen to represent their communities so it does apply there. It doesn't apply here...

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    But its not sectarian as Bohs supporters are not predominently prodestant. Just like most Shamrock Rovers fans are not homeless. Cliftonville/Linfield are seen to represent their communities so it does apply there. It doesn't apply here...
    Thanks Dodge......

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Thanks Dodge......
    **** off you homeless ****

if those four stars refer to anything religious yiz are all banned

GOD has NO place on a football forum!

But its not sectarian as Bohs supporters are not predominently prodestant.
    So representing Protestantism as a negative value is ok? Who'd buy that?
    Just like most Shamrock Rovers fans are not homeless.
    No one says they are. The term refers to the club's lack of a stadium, which I for one hope will be resolved soon.

Quote Originally Posted by wws View Post
    if those four stars refer to anything religious yiz are all banned

GOD has NO place on a football forum!
    Yes he does

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    They do because the majority of your fans get annoyed by it. Likewise the needling of Derry fans as being British needles them. Nothing wrong wtih being British, it just annoys the locals.

And you're kinda proving them right now...

Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    Unfortunately we have seen the bad side of some Rovers fans when they come to Belfast to support Cliftonville when playing Linfield.
    I wouldn't worry about Rovers fans David. They're a deeply confused lot.

When they play against us they assume a psyche that wouldn't seem out of place at a 12th night bonfire ! Lots of 'What's it like to have a Queen', references to the Union flag etc.

Then the next week they're 70 miles away in North Belfast giving it the Super-Taig impression with their buddies in Cliftonville.

Some of them have more faces than the 'Guess Who' board game stockroom... It'd be quite tragic, if it wasn't so deeply comical....
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 26/01/2007 at 2:03 PM.

They do because the majority of your fans get annoyed by it.
    Doesn't bother me. I think its hilarious.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

No one says they are. The term refers to the club's lack of a stadium, which I for one hope will be resolved soon.
    Try not taking life so seriously, it's football FFS. Same goes for Steve with his endless analysis of other people's motivations. Football fans do lots of things that make no rational sense. It's all part of the fun.

Oh, and Dodge, **** you, ya ******* Pats ****.

Football fans do lots of things that make no rational sense.
    Some football fans certainly do, but most definitely do not.

Meanwhile - the insane, the idiotic and the educationally sub-normal tend almost to-a-man to "do lots of things that make no rational sense".

I'll leave forum readers to draw their own conclusion here......
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 26/01/2007 at 3:02 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Some football fans certainly do, but most definitely not all.
    in fairness supporting a football club is hardly rational behaviour in itself!

following your team accross the country (and in some cases overseas) enduring long journies to stand beside a pitch shouting for a group of lads to win a game against another group, all the while spending your hard earned cash in the process and more than likely wearing the symbolic colours of a team with whom you feel affinity. it is not rational - it never has been and never will be - when was supporting a football team ever meant to be a rational act??

rational behaviour and football are not closely linked

How anyone can even begin to claim that calling someone an orange b**tard is not sectarian is way beyond me.

Try not taking life so seriously, it's football FFS. Same goes for Steve with his endless analysis of other people's motivations. Football fans do lots of things that make no rational sense. It's all part of the fun.

Oh, and Dodge, **** you, ya ******* Pats ****.

Football is not rational. Sectarianism is not rational either, so it's ok and we should all lighten up? What Craggy Island back number have you been watching lately, and are you Ted or Dougal?

BD - Read Dodge's post again, us calling you Orange Bastar*ds is not and cannot be sectarian but as far as I'm concerned anything short of racism is fine. If Turner signs for Bohs, he'll get it with both barrels same as Lee Feeney did from you lot last year.

As an example, I was out with a mate of Keith Gillespie's last Saturday and we ripped the (sectarian) pish out of each other all night and no harm done.

The world has gone PC crazy - Jade Goody, Herschelle Gibbs, that BNP ballerina etc etc- and when football fans decide to join in then we may as well throw our collective hat at it.

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    in fairness supporting a football club is hardly rational behaviour in itself!

following your team accross the country (and in some cases overseas) enduring long journies to stand beside a pitch shouting for a group of lads to win a game against another group, all the while spending your hard earned cash in the process and more than likely wearing the symbolic colours of a team with whom you feel affinity. it is not rational - it never has been and never will be - when was supporting a football team ever meant to be a rational act??

rational behaviour and football are not closely linked
    How is that irrational ?? What's more irrational, for example, would be for a male to commit himself to only one female for the rest of his life - as animals are all programmed/designed primarily to reproduce, and males are programmed/designed to sow their seed as often and as widely as they can. I give that example to show that pretty much anything can be viewed as irrational if you want.

Meanwhile - I can look at my free time, my finances and my responsibilities and make a perfectly rational decision to support a football team by weighing-up those factors versus the relative pleasure, sense of belonging, identity etc that following a club it in-turn gives to me. The very occassional idiot will lose their hosue and job etc to support their team - but those people are the type of infrequent and irrational idiots who would probably find acceptable the type of behaviour that most of us here are castigating anyway !

So how is the thought process outlined above with regards supporting a football team in any way irrational....???? People's active support levels ebb and flow across their life-span to reflect their family circumstances, employment demands, finances, responsibilities etc. I'm sure we all know loads of decent 'real' fans who don't get to games these days as often as they'd like to (I'm one, for example...). That doesn't make them any less of a supporter because they have a life outside of the game !

This notion of the great mass of football fans being swept along on a giddy tide of pseudo zombie-esque, all-encompassing irrational behaviour is, in the main, best left to Nick Hornby novels and football hooligan films.
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 26/01/2007 at 3:13 PM.

how posts has there been without chrissy bein mentioned?

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    how posts has there been without chrissy bein mentioned?
    too many..

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast