Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Merchandise - here's how to do it

Quote Originally Posted by billybunter View Post
    how can you hold the league of ireland clubs to a high standard of marketig and merchandising when you cant buy an irish scarf or shirt on the national associations website?
    WTF has that to do with it?

I know we are small fry and we havent got the greatest fan base but on any given day in Monaghan I generally see at least 2 people wearing something with the Monaghan United logo on it. Was in Xtravision one day and apart from me there were 3 other people wearing Mons gear, so it is possible. Having said that, the most common item u will see is the rain jacket that was given to all the kids who took part in last years Halloween camp, so there was no profit on that, but the visibility factor is there!

P.S. Just remembered that you wanted solicitors details (told you I was feckin forgetful !). Do you still need them ?
    P.P.S. You taking care of my shirt....?
    Your shirt is doing lovely, wore it out in the londonderry when i was out there, so the people of derry are still getting to see it

the shop was quite impressive in town if a bit small.

why dont ye set up a site like irishclubsupporters.ie etc, get it a good page ranking and good meta tags, so that anybody abroad or wherever that looks for ( individual ) club gear can be directly linked off that page. Then ensure that all clubs pool off that main site.

Steve, you obviously know nothing about Cork City FC and our merchandise sales. Just because Derry may be falling behind, doesn't mean you should assume that every other club hasn't got their act together.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    why dont ye set up a site like irishclubsupporters.ie etc, get it a good page ranking and good meta tags, so that anybody abroad or wherever that looks for ( individual ) club gear can be directly linked off that page. Then ensure that all clubs pool off that main site.
    Good Idea. I also think that a League of Ireland shop in Dublin City Centre would be an idea. Not just merch of the Dublin clubs as there are people from all over the country living here. Think about it. The Galway/Sligo/Cork/Cobh/Derry/Ballyboffey man who doesn't get a chance to buy the latest club merch on his all too rare visits home just has to pop into town. It could even carry some Irish league stuff too.

Maybe you would also be able to buy match tickets there.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

I agree with that idea...I'd say the way Umbro are going, they will do something like that (of course without non-Umbro teams).Link it in with Ireland stuff too.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Good Idea. I also think that a League of Ireland shop in Dublin City Centre would be an idea. Not just merch of the Dublin clubs as there are people from all over the country living here. Think about it. The Galway/Sligo/Cork/Cobh/Derry/Ballyboffey man who doesn't get a chance to buy the latest club merch on his all too rare visits home just has to pop into town. It could even carry some Irish league stuff too.

Maybe you would also be able to buy match tickets there.
    there used to be a shop in Carnaby Street in london called 'soccerscene' - i think it's still there - and it was pretty much like that. from my hazy memory i think you could buy pretty much all club jersies. it would be a great idea for a LOI one.

you could also include other jersies but unfortunately it would probably just turn into an MUFC or Celtic shop then - espically if umbro ran it!

i think that the FAI should open a prime city centre outlet (grafton st., stephens green .. etc) selling national team merchandise and as it is the new FAI LOI they should also have eL gear too. even if it was backed by umbro (but not run by them) with only umbro sponsored clubs it would be acceptable - but irish teams only - we have enough Celtic/ManU shops as it is.

The percentage increase in revenue from merchandising at Rovers since the fans takeover is unreal. Partly because the previous shower didn't bother with it and partly because the current set-up is very impressive.

We now generate very healthy revenues from merchandising and hopefully even more as time goes on. Small things like actually having stock, having dedicated merchandising people, having a strong online presence and having a physical store that fans can walk into and spend money. It's not rocket science but I know that the majority of Irish clubs don't have any of these in place.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    there used to be a shop in Carnaby Street in london called 'soccerscene' - i think it's still there - and it was pretty much like that. from my hazy memory i think you could buy pretty much all club jersies. it would be a great idea for a LOI one.

you could also include other jersies but unfortunately it would probably just turn into an MUFC or Celtic shop then - espically if umbro ran it!

i think that the FAI should open a prime city centre outlet (grafton st., stephens green .. etc) selling national team merchandise and as it is the new FAI LOI they should also have eL gear too. even if it was backed by umbro (but not run by them) with only umbro sponsored clubs it would be acceptable - but irish teams only - we have enough Celtic/ManU shops as it is.

Great idea in theory but there would never be enough revenue generated to cover the overheads particularly for a city centre shop in Dublin. Maybe the FAI should look into some sort of sponsorship deal with some of the major sports stores and get them to have a section of eL and ROI merchandise with all clubs available. And they should have an online store on the FAI website. You can buy Monaghan United stuff at www.monaghanunited.ie by the way!

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Was in Xtravision one day and apart from me there were 3 other people wearing Mons gear, so it is possible.
    3 people in the same place in Monaghan

Was there some kind of festival on

We had loads of gear for sale last year. Then it was robbed. So much like Monaghan the visibility is there but no profits

YA, I see where you are coming from but given the rates of a dublin city centre shop, they would need to stock more than just LOI jerseys I reckon to remain financially viable. Its kkinda like a sports shop in a small town, not enough people, whereas in this case enough people but not enough of what they want.... A good thing I spose though is, particularly with donegal ppl they get really clannish and more proud of being from donegal when they leave, so the option of buying a finn harps jersey would probably appeal to them more in dublin than when they go back to ballybofey or donegal town or stranorlar etc.

Most people have internet access now ( someway or another whether at work or at home or whatever ), its easy to setup a site that can link off to clubs or posisbly even sell the merchandise on behalf of the clubs ( if they dont have sites, or dont have an option to sell over the internet )using something open-source and free like oscommerce. I really think there is potential in that if enough people were interested to help out to get it up and running etc.

How many clubs sell merchandise directly ON their site?
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 24/01/2007 at 12:43 PM.

Why would Cork City FC want someone in Dublin making profit on their merchandise? We only make profit on what we sell ourselves. If I want something, but can't get home, I order it online.
    I wouldn't even buy a City shirt from Lifestyle!

Most of the clubs I've been to see here in England have been League 1 or League 2 sides. A number of those I have visited have retail outlets similar to those suggested at or near the ground - Bournemouth and Wycombe being two examples.

A number of the larger clubs have town centre retail outlets (including Ipswich).

I think this, along with online merchandise sales, are two logical moves for Irish clubs.

Who manufactures those AFC Wimbledon jerseys? The quality looks fairly good.

Maybe the eL would be better off doing a league wide deal with one fit suppliers? Clubs make cash based on percentage cut from sales. A bit like US sports...?

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    Why would Cork City FC want someone in Dublin making profit on their merchandise?
    I was talking about a joint venture between the Clubs. Obviously profits would go back to the clubs.

Sounds to me like you want clubs from the country to supplement the cost of a shop for Dubs.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    Sounds to me like you want clubs from the country to supplement the cost of a shop for Dubs.
    Sounds like you are jumping to conclusions as usual.
    It would be say to say how much of who's merch was sold. And do you honestly believe that there would be more CCFC stuff sold in a shop in Dublin than Bohs, Pats or Rovers?

You clearly haven't thought this through.
    All clubs would contribute equally to the running costs of the shop?
    Profits would be divided based on quantity of merchandise sold for each specific club?
    Dublin clubs would sell more merchandise, therefore, have a greater cut of the profit.
    Country clubs would have less profit, which, for some clubs, could end up being less than their overheads.

We refuse to subsidise the Dubs!

lads this thread is comical (I hope intentionally!)
    a global football mega brand like Man United couldnt sustain interest in a merchandise shop in the heart of the city centre

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast