Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2006/07

fairly tight alrite lads......grattan must be favourites now, followed by leeside, cant write off kinsale though, after all, they've not lost a game.

Leeside's manager seems to have bit the bullet and is now playing his most settled side. Dulea has returned to playing up front, and the midfield has a better balance in the centre too. They dont have more than one winger in the squad however.

I wouldnt have any worries about Leeside playing grattan but as was already made reference too, there has to be question marks over whehter their squad can take the 5 games over the next 9 days.....they only have a squad of 15/16 players, and if im to be brutally honest, their 4 subs are mad up of two players who are full-backs and dont have the pace to play elsewhere in the team, and two average strikers. So they'll need a bit of luck in the run-in with injuries. If they can stay injury free, i fancy them to go on and do the double as the aoh success must have whetted their appetite!!

Kinsale

Kinsale are done and dusted. Drew again last night 2:2 with Villa Utd. They will probably go through the season unbeaten but they've dropped too many points already...
    For a team that conceeded f*ck all over the last 3/4 years they seem to be leaking goals this season...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

Foot.ie! Last Nights Results

Kinsale V Villa. 2 all draw.

What is happin to Kinsale,2 nil up for the second time in 3 games and gave it away.6 draws in a row, league gone.
    Go unbeaten for the season,laughable.
    Accordin to some sources they were drag'n fellas off the street in Kinsale for last nights game.Season can't finish quick enough.

Leeside V Park. Leeside won 2.1

Leeside are goin well,2 nil up at half time but Park came at them big time,again this is accordin to a Leeside player ''we were put under feirce pressure for the second half and just shaved it ''.Its seems the physcial sides threaten Leeside the most and they have to play Maymount and Kinsale over the next few games ???????

Grattan V Macroom. Grattan won 5.1

Grattan took the lead in this one early on through John Paul and it took nearly another 50 mins to get a second Harry Goulding with the strike. Macroom pulled one back straight away2/1 .Macroom are not that bad.Guy up front is excellent for them,Polish fella i think.Surprisin to see them where they are.Grattan got number 3 with 15 left.

John 'Figo' Kelleher came on a sub,his first appearence in 5 months due to injury.His first touch put a superb ball across the box which the Macroom defender put against his own bar.His second,from a free kick right hand side of the goal he bent with the outside of his right boot into the top left hand side of the Macroom net.John Paul got number 4 from the other side of the box again from a dead ball(his 2nd) and Darren Geaney rounded it off with number 5.By the way the Grattan manager shouted a lot again,thats what he dose,it works goin on what i saw last night.

Whose my tip for the top now,goin on last nights results it will still be close.But the fact that Grattan have Figo back is a killer blow to Leeside.Thats my own thinkin.Grattan are just to strong.
    Last edited by littleman; 16/05/2007 at 6:12 PM.

__________P___W__D___L____Pts
    Park Utd___16__10__0___6____30
    Kinsale____13___7__6___0____27
    Grattan____10__8___2___0____26
    Leeside____9___7___1___1____22
    Maymount _15__5___6__4_____21
    Glenthorn__18__5___2__11____17
    Villa_______13__4___3__6_____15
    Togher_____15__4___1__10____13
    Macroom___15__3___2__10____11
    Coachford__14__2___5__7_____11

Thursday May 17th
    Grattan United v Park United (1)
    Leeside v Villa United (X)
    Coachford v Togher Rovers (1)

41 Posts

Post up to date table includin thur nites results

__________P___W__D___L____Pts
    Park Utd___17__10__0___7____30
    Grattan____11__9___2___0____29
    Kinsale____13___7__6___0____27
    Leeside____10___8___1___1____25
    Maymount _15__5___6__4_____21
    Glenthorn__18__5___2__11____17
    Villa_______14__4___3__7_____15
    Togher_____16__4___2__10____14
    Coachford__15__2___6__7_____12
    Macroom___15__3___2__10____11

Thursday May 17th
    Grattan United v Park United (Grattan won 4/0)
    Leeside v Villa United (Leeside won 2/1)
    Coachford v Togher Rovers (finished 1/1 )

Grattan were 3 nil up at half time,finished 4 nil.John Paul 2,Paul Lynch and Brian O'Sullivan.Leeside scrope through again 2/1.

This is Grattan's league. There winning where Kinsale are drawing.. and winning emphatically going by last tues! Dont think Leeside can do it. Kinsale away tomorrow.. what are the odds on a score draw?? Put your house on that one!

41 Posts

Post Kinsale V leeside.

I think tomorros game with Kinsale at home to Leeside could well decide where the title goes.Leeside have to get 3 points in the home of their old foe's and at a time when Kinsale will be lookin to save face in light of recent results and also gain revenge for gettin knocked out of the AOH by Leeside.

Leesides next 3 games are against Grattan,Villa and Coachford.They would have to win all 3 just to be in with a shout come the run in.Idon,t think they are strong enough to do it.

Grattan have a home game against the Villa. A derby game just to add a little spice. Leeside at home and Kinsale at home.Grattan are free scorin at the minute and with John Paul bangin them in for fun and FIGO on the side lines waitin to come on if needed you could be well lookin at the first city based premier winners since Cresent in 1992 as long as they dont lose any of their next 3 games.

Their last 4 games are away to Macroom,Park,Leeside and Maymount who have one eye on the MJC semi.

Tomorrow

Kinsale to beat Leeside.
    Grattan to beat Villa.

By what dos'nt really matter at this stage.3 points is what counts.
    Last edited by littleman; 18/05/2007 at 7:00 PM.

41 Posts

Exclamation Premier results

Grattan 3 Villa 1. Could have been 33/1 and thats no joke.
    Kinsale 5 Leeside 1. Did'nt see that comin.

The Gratts get another 3 points on the board to finally go top.Kinsale with what has to be a shock result to most people.I think Kinsale have done Grattan a big favour.Leeside now need to beat Grattan Tuesday and also win away to Coachford,Maymount and Villa in their next 4 games just to have a chance.Grattans scorers were Mark O'Sullivan,Decky Gostel and who else John Paul O'Sullivan.

ps,the Grattan manager was his normal shoutin self again.Noisy *******.

Grattan are top now and thats where they'll stay. They're just not slipping up and fair play to them. Leeside started well yesterday but their heads went down once the Kinsale goals went in. It was an extremely understrength Kinsale team, even weaker than the teams that they have been fielding recently, no subs on the line, so this result was all the more impressive. How's the golden boot going?

86 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    Grattan 3 Villa 1. Could have been 33/1 and thats no joke.
    They'd be very steep odds for a 2 horse race!
    [/B][I]P.Esc.

41 Posts

Horses For Courses

To be honest Pablo i don't know much about bettin but i know a donkey when i see one.Villa had a few,on lone from Banna beach or Redbarn i might guess.The last 30 mins was unreal,Grattan had 10 chances inside the 6 yard box but hit the goalies ass,head,post ,upright everything you name it, it got in the way to prevent a Grattan goal.They had 2 stone wall penos but i guess the referees want to keep games tight so their wont be any trouble if their was a cricket score.

The Gratts looked very sharp,fitter and more agressive then anythin else in the league.They have their noses in front and i honestly cant see them bein caught.They are playin as well know as they were duirin their FAI run.

Regardin the Kinsale last 2 results,their are a lot of rumors about at the minute.None good if your a Kinsale supporter.Illeagal players and suspended players bein played.I'd be surprised if the current Champions would pull a stroke like that.

Tue nite games.

Grattan to beat Leeside I think.At least 1 peno for Grattan with either O'Leary the center half or the big full back to give it away and or get sent off.A draw for Leeside is useless as they have to claw points back from the Gratts.

Kinsale against Villa,dodgy game,a couple of sendin off's a few goals and a Kinsale win i think.Ijust ncannot see this game finishin in a 0/0 draw or with 11 men on each side and you can quote me on this,but what di hell do i know,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

41 Posts

Talking tuesday nites results

Grattan V Leeside. Grattan 2 Leeside 1.

Game of the season,Grattan went 2 nil up within 15 mins through a fantastic lob through from Darren Galvin from 35 yards and a crackin OG from Leesides Jason Keegan. For the next 10 Grattan could have doubled it.Leeside for the remaining 20 pulled one back through another crackin OG AND could have leveled if not gone 4/2 up if it was not for great saves from the Grattan keeper,tackles from the Gratts back line and bad finishin from Leeside.

The second half was fantastic,chances for both sides,shots,balls hittin crossbars and uprights and great defendin by both sides.Penos denied,everything.Best AUL game i've seen for years.

Either team could have won this game as it was that open,free flowin football end to end.You could say their was poor defendin by both sides but their was also some outstandin defendin by both sides and you could see why these 2 are neck and neck for the league.A different class to the rest of the Premier.

Grattan won,just.Leeside lost just.A draw would have been a fair result but a draw was useless result to Leeside.Grattan took the 3 points and thats what counts no matter how you get it.Everything Leeside came up with started from their left back,and he caused Grattan feirce problems by puttin the ball long over the top every chance he got.The Gratts went wide every time they got the ball and tore at Leeside from the wings.Leeside did not have any answer to Decky Gostel on the right for Grattan.The Grattan midfield was physicaly smaller than Leeside but way quicker and more inventive.Leeside did not know what hit them for the first 25 but came back with a bang for the remaining 20 of the first half.

Leeside are big and well drilled but cumbersome.Another referee may have not looked upon the treatment dished out to Mark and John Paul O'Sullivan so lightly. The yellow card count 5 for Leeside and 2 for Grattan tells its own story.5 yellows for tackles dished out to those 2 plus Decky Gostel.I thought,and this my own opinion that their were a few terrible challanges from behind from the Leeside players on those 2 players and also young Decky Gostle who tore Leeside to peices in the last 15 mins again that is just my view.The only sour note durin the game came when Gettings was subbed,the player comin on when to shake his hand and Gettings refused then made personal remark directly to the player I would not be allowed post on this site.Took the shine off of what was a very sportin Leeside team.

Top marks to Grattan and Leeside

Kinsale V Villa Kinsale 5 Villla 1

Kinsale started with 10 men and won 5/1,Villa had no keeper.Must have gone back to Banna.I was kind of right though,Kinsale won,it was'nt a draw and Kinsale finished with 10 men.I could have made a fortune if i went to the bookies Pablo.
    Last edited by littleman; 23/05/2007 at 6:50 AM.

I find it very hard to believe that Ricky would behave like this under any circumstances, littleman.Anyone who knows him would find it hard to believe too.

41 Posts

Question Funny ol game

Quote Originally Posted by rebelrover View Post

Alright lads,

in fairness ye all seem fairly tuned into things in the Prem Div. Just wanted to add my bit to the Leeside debate.........

Ye are right about Dulea, himself and Craig Donnelly (former Golden Boot winner) are being asked to play in midfied. I think it fair to say Donnelly is far better off up front, he's not a midfielder. As for Dulea, good player, but at the moment he's playing the holding role in Central Midfield, again he's far better off going forward, being the link man between attack and midfield.

Unfortunately the reason they are being played in midfield is because the manager (Eddie O Rourke) insists on playing his son Trevor up front. He's a nice lad Trevor and he's honest and hard-working, its not his fault, but in reality he wouldnt cut it in AUL3B, never mind Prem.

Even though they are a happy camp right now, and the training under the new coach (Eddie O Rourke's other son Paul) has been good, the feeling down there is that the manager's favouritism could derail their title/cup ambitions. The team have a very solid defence, and 4 good midfield players, but the balance of the team isnt right and if the manager doesnt bite the bullet and play his best side, then id be surprised if the players can battle on against the odds for the whole season.
    I dont know the lad myself,other than bein told his name by a guy on the line I would'nt have known who he was.He might just have been a bit ticked off at havin to come off in such a big game.
    Just was a strange thing to do,but in light of this recent post it might explain a few things.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    He might just have been a bit ticked off at havin to come off in such a big game.
    He said he missed a few chances so whatever he said was probably directed at himself.Funnily enough some of the Leeside players still think they can win it.Surely its done and dusted though.I think Grattan will slip up at least once in their remaining games but i think Leeside wont capitalise

41 Posts

Red face Fair dues

I think Leeside really put it up to the Gratts last night.Played really well and deserved a point but the luck went to the team who won.I think Leeside are right to keep pluggin away,but i must admit i dont think Grattan are goin to slip up before they have it in the bag. A fair result would have been about 6 all if iI was to be honest.

The Gratts have Kinsale at O'Neill Park on Thursday night and Macroom Saturday away (who are bascially relegated)and then Maymount (who have the MJC semi the week later).

Grattan should have had the game dead and buried in the first 25 mins but didnt and gave Leeside a lifeline back into the game when they seemed dead on their feet and fair dues they took it and made a great game of it.

They are 10 points a head of Leeside now but Leeside have a game in hand.Leeside have to play Coachford,Villa and Maymount in their next few games and have it all to play for.At least its still interestin,when was the last time we could say that.
    Last edited by littleman; 23/05/2007 at 2:14 PM.

41 Posts

Exclamation thursday nites forcast

Grattan to beat kinsale
    maymount to beat leeside

41 Posts

Thumbs down Knocks an all

Maymount 2 Leeside 2
    Grattan 3 Kinsale 3.

Kinsale wer'nt even in this game.They were poor bar Varian again.Grattan ran the game for 75 mins and then fell apart.Referees can cost you points,the bounce of a ball or the conditions even the pitch this one falls under not playin your best side against the champions for 90 mins.

Disapointin result for Grattan because in last nights game they actually deserved to beat Kinsaleand did fantastic work for the majority of the game.The records will show that they won the Premier,but were unable to beat the Champions home or away...............

21 Posts

Foot.ie! Grattan v Leeside

Very good game last nite between two good sides. Kinsale looked to be very understrength again but at least they had 11, unlike last tue when they beat Villa (5-1) with 9men I heard.

Grattan had most of the ball but didn't create much. (No shots on target in the 2nd half outside of the pens). The 2 pens for Grattan (1st one looked harsh for handball) were well taken by our junior international JP, who although tried hard had another poor game against the Kinsale defence.

Kinsale were 3-1 down to Grattan with under 10 left and had a man sent off and then sent a pen wide. All other teams in the league would've let their heads drop but not Kinsale. They showed how they've collected league medals for fun over the last few years by coming back when buried to preserve their unbeaten season.

The result didn't matter for either team as Grattan will win the league and Kinsale won't, but at least Kinsale gave 100% in a nothing game for them unlike what lot of other teams have been doing at this time of the year. If all teams did this then the league would be a lot more competitive.

41 Posts

Thumbs up To right.

Kinsale showed exactly why they have been champions for so long last night.Grattan could learn a thing or two from them.

I actually thought Grattan had the beatens of Kinsale last night but their manager maybe learned a costly lesson.

As for Kinsales unbeaten season,I think not.The Villa objection looks rock solid and that means their season might end on a sour note.

Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast