Thread: Tattoos?

Tattoos?

Does anyone here have one or is considering getting one?
    Whats the opinion on them generally?
    Where would be the best/safest place to get it in Dublin?

Cheers.Im full of questions these days .

Got 3, each one hurts more than the previous. If you do decide put a lot of thought into it....

Have been thinking of getting a flower head done on top of my scar on my ankle so that it looks like a flower and stem but was told that 1. the ankle is the sorest place, 2. that you cant get a tattoo on a scar. Does anyone know if they are true??

112 Posts
    tramp stamps. ah no im ok with them generally, wouldnt get one myself, getting far too old. Id go as far as one or two on a girl but any more is pushing it. The worst one ive ever seen, is the kn@ackery heart on the arm, Anto loves Britneeeeey or something....
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

ya tramp stamps, first heard that in the states, for the lower back on women. thought it very funny when i heard it.

3,498 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    ya tramp stamps, first heard that in the states, for the lower back on women. thought it very funny when i heard it.
    I've heard tattoos on a woman's lower back also referred to as "ass antlers"!

634 Posts
    I have three. And I don't believe one hurts more than the next. I've a Celtic symbol on my right breast, a scorpion of my left shoulder blade, my wife's name is on the right arm.
    I'm getting one onto my left breast in the next few weeks.

The Zulu tattoo parlour in Temple BAr is good. Boards.ie have a good informed section on tattooing and the pros and cons.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Kingdom i wouldn't have put you down as one for tatoos!!!

634 Posts
    Kingdom i wouldn't have put you down as one for tatoos!!!
    Why is that Paul? I got my first one @ 19, didn't really plan on it, my mate was getting a barcode on his arm, but was only 17 so I went in as guardian. The tattoist did the job and asked my mate what did he want for the 'code' so my mate says 'my date of birth'. The tattoist was halfways through and just ****ed himself laughing realising my mate was underage. Got one done then and I tell you what, they're addictive.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Am not mad about them, but kinda always wanted one for the whole rebellion thing as a teenager, but talked myself out of it thinking how yuck it will look when am old and even wrinklier, but since the scar on my ankle is so nasty I would like to improve it.

Why is that Paul?
    I don't know, you are from kerry maybe, they are banned down there aren't they :P

in terms of women getting them, i always thought ya, if its a bird you are gonna shag on a one nighter then fire ahead, it would be nice, but an actual girl that would eventually become your girlfriend or whatever, not a chance, there is something in my mind at least ( and i know i speak for most of the lads i have asked about this also ) that if you see a girl with one on her lower back, you instinctively go, oh id .... oh i bet ye she loves it....etc etc I think it looks kinda sluttish. To add to magicme, think 10 years time when your skin gets wrinkly and it pulls apart and stuff, i think it would look hideous. I know you can remove it but its a lot of money to do so!!!
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 22/01/2007 at 11:51 AM.

There are two kind of people that get a tattoo the first get one for themselves normally something small personal and hidden so that only them and a partner would know about it .

the others are the people who get tats for other people ( ie to look cool ) normally on fore arm, neck, face, hand etc normally they are big stupid looking things that have no meaning to them other than it looks cool .( there is a guy in limerick who got an album cover on his back its massive some crap metal band to make it worse ).

there are very tacky ones like chinese writting , barcodes , spiderswebs, cut here ---------- etc .

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Have been thinking of getting a flower head done on top of my scar on my ankle so that it looks like a flower and stem but was told that 1. the ankle is the sorest place, 2. that you cant get a tattoo on a scar. Does anyone know if they are true??
    it will be sore the more "meat" you have around the area the less pain you feel , top of the arm is the least painfull across anwhere where the bone is close to the skin will be sore . remember your stabbing your skin over and over with little needles but its very barable ( a pain killing injection for the dentist is worse ) . take 2 strong pain killers and you wont feel a thing .

you can tat over a scar depending on the scar some places wont do it but tats are basically scar tissue .so there is a possibility that the tat wont come out properly if your scarrign over an old scar but from the sounds of things it should be ok .

If you have even a tiny doubt dont do it

I got one on the shoulder blade when I was 17. I like having it and its in the right place and shape from far away, but up close the detail embarrassing (it didnt come out of the booklets, I had them draw me up something specific and being young and eager, I went for it despite reservations about the quality of the artwork) I always cover it on hot days or when changing, with the tee-shirt slung over the left shoulder.

I've looked at having it redrawn before but all the places I went to in town were reluctant. Does anyone know the procedure for having them redone ie is it possible to have bad art turned into something decent? and can anyone recommend a good place for it.
    <insert witty remark>

thanks anto for that, i didnt know there were only 2 types of people who got tattoos, cheers for the heads-up!

Quote Originally Posted by Beavis View Post
    I got one on the shoulder blade when I was 17. I like having it and its in the right place and shape from far away, but up close the detail embarrassing (it didnt come out of the booklets, I had them draw me up something specific and being young and eager, I went for it despite reservations about the quality of the artwork) I always cover it on hot days or when changing, with the tee-shirt slung over the left shoulder.

I've looked at having it redrawn before but all the places I went to in town were reluctant. Does anyone know the procedure for having them redone ie is it possible to have bad art turned into something decent? and can anyone recommend a good place for it.
    it depends on the tat itself , colour etc they can be covered over with a darker colour or even shaded out but it can take a few goes and doesnt always work . A good artist should be able to do something with it .

Try Danny Bulmans in limerick prob the best in the country .

thanks anto for that, i didnt know there were only 2 types of people who got tattoos, cheers for the heads-up!
    i take it your in the second catagory

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    it depends on the tat itself , colour etc they can be covered over with a darker colour or even shaded out but it can take a few goes and doesnt always work . A good artist should be able to do something with it .

Try Danny Bulmans in limerick prob the best in the country .
    Thanks a lot, I'll check him out. I'd be defo willing to go down to get a good job but have to wait until the footy season is over because I was afraid to fall on it for a couple of weeks the last time.
    <insert witty remark>

from SNL

http://www.burntpickle.com/videos/tramp-stamp-remover/

The fear of it being wrinkling and disgusting is what has held me back big time.