Thread: How about some really Naff Irish Acts

How about some really Naff Irish Acts

Here's a start to a list of Irish acts now considered Naff by the great unwashed public....

CHRIS DE BURGH

Well I've always said there was only ever one truly foxy chick in Bewitched ...and it will always be Elizabeth Montgomery.

Those twins hit every single branch ..either that or spent the first half of their teens breaking into cars -using their faces as mallets.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

84 Posts
    Buffalo G have to be the worst. They were on Adam and Joe once, A&J told them they would play out the show when it came to the end they cut them off and played the credits over them.

Others that spring to mind:
    The Revs
    OTT
    Six
    Last edited by Neish; 21/01/2007 at 5:45 PM.
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

115 Posts
    Foster & Allen doing Bunch Of Thyme on Top of the Pops must be close to topping any list.
    Fúck that was awful!
    Naffest thing I've ever seen, and I've seen Sonny Knowles!
    more bass

Snow Patrol are getting there trust me
    U2 are pretty damn naff aswell now that I think of it

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Foster & Allen doing Bunch Of Thyme on Top of the Pops must be close to topping any list.
    Fúck that was awful!
    Naffest thing I've ever seen, and I've seen Sonny Knowles!
    Loved the interview on Podge & Rodge. "But seriously now. Have youse no f*cking shame!"

The Carter Twins were shocking. That debut video for Six was a total cheesefest. Some other pop band Dove were quite awful too. Murdered Crowded House's Dont Dream Its Over.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Hand on heart that video for Six's debut single was the naffiest thing I've seen since my neighbour used to go around dressed in a NAFF t-shirt and NAFF jacket in July.

But I'm with LTID that Snow Patrol are quickly catching U2 as Ireland's most embaressing export

37 Posts
    Sorry for dragging another musical topic back to the 1980s but there was a really naff (I say "sh!te) band with a naff name who had naff songs.

There were called Light A Big Fire and they once had a single called C.I.A. which boasts the beautiful lyrics:

"...If I was the CIA,
    I would kill everyone,
    Who got in my way..."

Look at them here...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fMwFglydgU

Nobody knows us, we don't care

Vocalist/lyricist Tom McLaughlin of Light a Big Fire... now writes Stageplays. And I asked for people's views on some of the Naffest Irish bands ever, and your opinion is welcome !

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    B*witched
    Those twins hit every single branch ..either that or spent the first half of their teens breaking into cars -using their faces as mallets.
    You mean Shane Lynch's sisters? I thought Lynsey what's her face was cute. Their music was godawful and your wan from Newbridge was actually 2 years older than she let on to be.

u2.. without a shadow of a doubt

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    ...... a list of Irish acts now considered Naff by the great unwashed public....
    Bewitched - for the sheer tragi / comic tour de force that was the "Ce'st la vie" video and the spoken asides in the song "What are ye loike" and "I foight like me Da as well".

Boyzone - the cringeworthy / shambolic / hilarious first appearance on the Late Late Show. Gay Byrne asked each of "the Band" what instrument they played. It seemed about 3 of them said they played the Piano. A keyboarding extravaganza beckoned. That was before the infamous dance routine kicked off!!

Daniel O'Donnell - specifically for the change of musical direction away from Country and the hardcore foray into 50's rock and roll standards a few years ago. They said it would never work - they were right!

The Cranberries - Maybe some of the great unwashed disagree but when the Cranberries got political - the lyrics were mortifiying.
    Last edited by Wolfie; 22/01/2007 at 9:15 PM.

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Boyzone - the cringeworthy / shambolic / hilarious first appearance on the Late Late Show. Gay Byrne asked each of "the Band" what instrument they played. It seemed about 3 of them said they played the Piano. A keyboarding extravaganza beckoned. That was before the infamous dance routine kicked off!!
    Pure comedy that was! I remember watching the Late Late at the time, and it was one of the funniest things Ive ever witnessed. They were announced as ireland's answer to "Take That". Thought it was a delibarate comedy sketch at the time!
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    Pure comedy that was! I remember watching the Late Late at the time, and it was one of the funniest things Ive ever witnessed. They were announced as ireland's answer to "Take That". Thought it was a delibarate comedy sketch at the time!
    I still maintain it was a disgrace that they were on the late late show that night and the producer should have been sacked for it. I've made the point on another thread that at around the same time The Cranberries had to get to no.8 in the US Billboard chart to get a feature like that on one of our national broadcasters flagship programmes.
    Meanwhile these tosspots are rounded up from the front of a courthouse somewhere and parachuted in for an advert you simply couldn't pay for. Evidence of all that's bad in RTE.
    A disgrace I say again -and a pox on the fcuker who facilitated it.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Yip. Obviously Louis was greasing the producer's palm and as well as Boyzone's chests!
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    ...... a list of Irish acts now considered Naff by the great unwashed public....
    Brush Sheils!!

Can't believe no-one has mentioned the Sawdoctors yet

112 Posts
    Werent Shane Lynch's other sister in another band, FAB or something, they all had piercings. Not one attractive wan amongst them. Juniper's "Weatherman" was an awful one, going back a few years. It makes me cringe when guidebooks go on about Ireland's musical heritage. And U2, Cranberries, Sinead O'Connor and Westlife, jumbled in as if they mean something to anyone.

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Sorry for dragging another musical topic back to the 1980s but there was a really naff (I say "sh!te) band with a naff name who had naff songs.

There were called Light A Big Fire and they once had a single called C.I.A. which boasts the beautiful lyrics:

"...If I was the CIA,
    I would kill everyone,
    Who got in my way..."

Look at them here...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fMwFglydgU

Light a big fire were a good band. Saw them live a number of times and they always put on a good show.

Quoting lyrics out of context is a bit of a cheap shot too. Generally speaking, rock lyrics read like crap without the music (hardly surprising as most of them are written by 17-25 year old blokes).

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PAURO 7 View Post
    Werent Shane Lynch's other sister in another band,
    Yeah I think that was Buffalo G, as I mentioned above absolutely awful
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=L0lOjOOOGMc
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC