Thread: Season 07

106 Posts

Season 07

with the new season only weeks away (depending on the limerick injunction) it has struck me about the lack of enthusiasm among supporters, i remember during martin lawlors tenure, although we were struggling, there was still the buzz around town, the atmosphere and craic to be got at matches. Thhings have changed in that regard, but what i want to talk about is the level and number of vocal support, and its importance this season, more than any other since perhaps we were promoted.
    In fairness, marty and the lads have been the predominant vocal support in flancar over the past few seasons, but last season the support in section o rarely reached 20, even if we doubled this i reckon we can make a contribution in an attempt to galvanise the team.. At away matches there used to be a great buzz among th etravelling, especially friday nite games in dublin, there is no reason why this cannot be the case this season save for a bit of structure and organisation, even if it means arriving at games 15 mins before kick off, and we could really make ourselves heard, too often away support is confined to random shouting in a sparse setting, this need not be the case.
    So any budding songwriters/ vocalists out there, your talents are needed.. Let me know what ye think, i just feel, something needs to be done. After all this is your club. Your Premiership club, it is why we travel to wales and liechtenstein, derry and linfield, cork and waterford. It is time we stood up and be counted. We can be the 12th man that will ensure mid-table security and a good season!

i agree with everything you say but the problem is we dont know whos coming or coming. The vocal support has being lacking badly in particulor since the cup wins. Any fresh blood would be needed and we could better organise the away vocal support. It all depends on who we get in this season then we might get some classic tunes. Its all about sittin and waitin im afraid.