Thread: Seán Connor, Fran Gavin on RTE Radio now

Seán Connor, Fran Gavin on RTE Radio now (6.45 Jan 17)

to discuss the state of the league, transfers to Britain etc
    Last edited by BohDiddley; 17/01/2007 at 5:52 PM.

65 Posts
    good stuff, thanks

Radio 1?

Missed it

What was it like? What was said?

Probably bull****. Usually all he talks anyway...

There wasn't much said. Conner told us about how exciting the season will be cuz all Bohs players are brilliant and Fran has turned into an identi-kit FAI spokesman.

1. Both said that player transfers to Britain were good for the league (someone last night, forget who, said otherwise).
    2. Both said season is shaping up to be a very good one (which I agree with, assuming it's not killed in the Four Courts)
    3. Connor said Bohs and everything about Bohs are brilliant, which of course is just a fact of life. He was hardly going to tell people that we were rubbish.
    4. Dessie, fair play to him, read out criticism of the media's poor coverage and the lack of appreciation of the league generally.
    A good 10 minutes' work, IMO.

how can good players leaving for next to nothing be good for the league..

connor the muppet.
    wait til he stabs u in the back and moves along to the latest faze..

It's good for the game here, because it suggests that the standard of those playing at present is higher than in the recent past. With the eircom league now seen as a stepping stone to greater things, maybe more of the young kids will stay here, and play eircom league football.
    As to what the eircom league clubs can negotiate - you never get what you deserve, you get what you can negotiate. Because our league is in such a perilous state, we will always be subjected to predatory advances. Until the league becomes a sustainable entity, any player worth his salt will view a move to the UK as "progression", both in footballing and financial terms - especially the latter.

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    wait til he stabs u in the back and moves along to the latest faze..
    Ah the gilted Wife's warning to the pretty young mistress.

I think you Sligo lads need:
    Quote Originally Posted by The Relationship Learning Centre
    The dangers you face in each stage are:

1) avoiding having to face or feel what you feel -- you take the 'stiff upper lip' approach, numb out, live in your head, act as if nothing's wrong or that it's no big deal. You keep pushing painful feelings and thoughts aside.

2) getting stuck in the feelings, fears, betrayal, etc. and prolonging them.
    Breaking up, is so very hard to do... Go on lads, make it easy on yourselves!

TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

It's good for the game here, because it suggests that the standard of those playing at present is higher than in the recent past. With the eircom league now seen as a stepping stone to greater things, maybe more of the young kids will stay here, and play eircom league football.
    spot on

Quote Originally Posted by Burnsie View Post
    spot on
    I'd say not so spot on.

The good thing about the recent high profile transfers is that the players are all old enough to have had a couple of seasons in the league instead of getting snapped up in total anonymity at the age of 14/15 via their junior club pimps. This sends out the message to the people of Ireland that there is a decent standard of football in the country. Hopefully this is movement in the right direction to get recognition of the league of Ireland at home and abroad.

Transfer fees are on the rise as clubs are not so hasty in accepting risible offers for quality players (er... Doyle aside). It also proves to us that the league we follow is no longer a boneyard for rejects and geriatrics (unless you're Shels).
    FTH

Transfer Fees

I think you missed the point I was trying to make regarding fees received.
    Firstly, it has been the fashion for English clubs to come to this country and woo the best young talent at the ages of 15 or 16. Most of the development work, if not all of same has been done by the juvenile clubs. The eircom league sides, by and large, are just as bid a shower of "pimps" as anyone else.

Because of the movement of players from this island to the next, many young players may be persuaded to stay here and learn their trade, and may see the eircom league as a stepping stone.
    This is the same scenario that happens in every field where individuals are looking to better themselves.

The recent glut of transfers from this league to the UK, speaks to the fact that there has been : a) an improved perception around the standard of players playing here, and b) opportunistic - players are available at reasonable prices (from the buyers perspective), mid season, and they are more willing to take a chance on them.
    As to whether the clubs should/can retain these players is down to the commercial viability of the club they are contracted to.
    It's simple commerce - if you can pay the guy a competitive salary and demonstrate over time that you can pay it - then the likelihood is that players will choose to stay, all other factors being equal.
    However, to this last point - most other factors aren't equal - clubs don't have training facilities, academies, decent commercial depts and they have consistently failed to honour contracts.
    So who can blame them for leaving like rats deserting a sinking ship?

Quote Originally Posted by number16 View Post
    As to what the eircom league clubs can negotiate - you never get what you deserve, you get what you can negotiate. Because our league is in such a perilous state, we will always be subjected to predatory advances. Until the league becomes a sustainable entity, any player worth his salt will view a move to the UK as "progression", both in footballing and financial terms - especially the latter.
    What it suggests is that there are easy pickings in the EL. How can it be 'good for the game here' if premium players move so cheapily? It's merely a reflection on how little we value our talent and how poorly we cherish our league. Losing our best players for peanuts tell the barstooler all they need to know. Mickey Mouse league equals Mickey Mouse prices.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord View Post
    What it suggests is that there are easy pickings in the EL. How can it be 'good for the game here' if premium players move so cheapily? It's merely a reflection on how little we value our talent and how poorly we cherish our league. Losing our best players for peanuts tell the barstooler all they need to know. Mickey Mouse league equals Mickey Mouse prices.
    The prices being paid are a good bit above previous years. The league isn't going to suddenly become popular, we need to keep taking steps in the right direction.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Ah the gilted Wife's warning to the pretty young mistress.

I think you Sligo lads need:

Breaking up, is so very hard to do... Go on lads, make it easy on yourselves!

same article bp..

Growth and emergence:

Gradually the rollercoaster of thoughts and emotions begins to even out. Some of the intensity decreases. You begin to notice that you can make a difference in your own life, that you can create a fulfilling life for yourself after this experience. You begin to make plans. You take more action. You try new interests and discover more of your strengths and talents. You develop areas of yourself that you thought were weaknesses. You feel some fears, but you go forward in spite of them. You move out of focusing solely on the past. You move from pain into possibility. You begin to let go of thoughts, beliefs, blame that keep you locked in the past. You discover more of your own power.

Exactly lad. Sligo should just get on with it.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

we have a new toyboy.. from holland

ooooooohhhhhh.. now your jealous....

i say, take your pr man if hes the best yis van get with the money ye have

Formerly: wild rover
    the fact we have to react to everything he does now is kinda embarassing!the majority of us have moved on and a small percentage of us dont hate him cos he did so much for us!anyway not getting into this!