Why the hell does it seem that all Junior football supporters in Limerick city think that Limerick 37 will be made entirely of players from their clubs?I don't want the run down the Junior league which is obviously one of the best if not the best in the country but it is a big step from there to the eircom League, even the First Division. I doubt if even a hand-full of players will make into the Limerick 37 team this season. I expect it will mostly comprise of players who have already played senior football at eL standard.
If you don't like John 3:7...
There's always Limerick 37!
You'd swear to god that the LDL was the premiership by the way some of the junior brigade go on here. Let's look at a few facts. Firstly, it's a JUNIOR league. Full of average players with little or no technical ability. I can safely say that if Fairview, Pike etc entered the Munster Senior League, or even the FAI Intermediate Cup, they'd be absolutely walloped every week. The LDL is very average lads, get over it!
For anyone who can't fathom this, I'll draw a little diagram for u....
Senior Football
^
^
Non-League Senior Football (MSL, LSL)
^
^
Intermediate Football
^
^
Junior Football
Now dumbasses, can u see the gap between the two? Most players in the Limerick District League wouldn't get on the Rockmount team in Cork, never mind an EL teamAs has been already said, at best 2/3 players may sign for Limerick 37. Big deal......Which should be an indication as to where the standard of the LDL really lies. The truth is, if the LDL clubs had any balls or ambition the so called 'big guns' would surely be plying their trade in the Munster Senior League by now. That Fairview team that won a handfull of FAI junior cups - why didn't they have a go at a higher level? No balls, that's why. Cos they knew the level up is a different ball game. It's all well and good being top dog in Limerick and even in the national competition, but the reality is it's the lowest level of football in Ireland. So stop being so narrow minded and get behind senior football in the city - cos our 'big' junior clubs are NEVER going to offer a higher standard of football.....
The one-horse-town attitude is so pathetic![]()
so where did limerick fc get ross cosgrove,paddy purcell,brian buckley,tommy barrett,robbie kelleher,john whyte,derek whyte,paul harman,jason purcell,barry ryan from?must be from a junior team with no bottle,take your head out of your arse about limk fc being so far ahead,they have the cream of junior players along with a few decent senior players that train twice a week like every other junior team,if they were that good they wouldn't have spent the last 20 or so years in the first division while practically every other team has gone up.i'm a limerick fan by the way but just find this trashing of junior soccer ridiculous
Well Said Lim Abroad..dont Forget Gaga
I thin 4tothefloor is wrong there about the gap between Limerick junior and Munster Senior League. MSL really is just a name given to the highest junior division in Cork. I doubt the best of the "junior" scene in Munster e.g. Limerick, Waterford, Tipp would compete with teh best Cork teams - it is just a name really. There is very little movement between MSL and eL, which you would expect if there was a closer standard.
However I absolutely agree on a big gap between the junior scene (including Limerick junior and MSL) and the eL. There are examples of players making the step but it is a small enough group. The few that do it (e.g. Kelliher, Barrett) don't represent the standard at junior level - they were stand out down there too.
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
1. Where did I say that Limerick were so far ahead? Never said that. Read the post properly. In fact I think the reason we've been so far behind is because we've basically been playing players of junior standard at EL level, and most of these have come from the LDL.
2. Purcell and Rossi didn't come to Limerick from LDL clubs. John Whyte, Derek Whyte, Paul Harman, Jason Purcell, Barry Ryan - read point number 1One or two there were good servants and great clubmen, but not up to much on the pitch, which is where it counts. Brian Buckley is ok, nothing special. Tommy and Robbie I'll give you, and Heff. But that's what, 2/3 decent players?? Big deal, you'd expact that anyway from a place the size of Limerick.
3. The MSL isn't just a fancy name. I can guarantee you that the best Limerick junior sides would get tonked by the best MSL sides. Junior sides gain entry in to the Munster Senior cup every season (AFAIK it's the premier champions of each league) and always exit early, very early. Players like Brendan Sweeney, so lauded here by many, was playing in the MSL last season. There is a gap, and it's quite a big one too.
4. Nobody is rubbishing Limerick junior football - Limerick junior football just thinks it's better than it actually is, when it's clearly not. The Tommy Barretts and Robbie Kellihers have no other choice but play Junior, as it's the only level in the city, unlike in Cork, Dublin etc. Their only other option, ie to better themselves is senior soccer with Limerick - so get over it![]()
think 4th has a fair point here.many outside limerick think the standard is very high in lims junior soccer,bt what has happened is that this is based mostly on f.views success in the f.a.i.....they masked the standard to such a degree that it was assumed our junior premier was very strong...which of course it is not.it is no better or worse than in galway,dublin,etc.it must also be remembered that lims most successful junior converts have come from the view in recent times.
okay point taken,in my opinion i dont think the gap between top junior teams and el 1st div is as big as you think but thats just my opinion
seeing as we're on the topic,is there any junior players that you think you would like to see play for L37?or even youth players?
mc carry bolye,harnett of pike was asked turn up for training
And when Limerick GAA take players from clubs then its the exactly the same is't it? TBHmate i think its a load of ****** and no the junior clubs are not right. If a good player is playing with a small junior club and a bigger junior club (not looking at anyone) comes in what happens?![]()
look serious i cudnt give a **** about lim37 whatever people say ye need better players than these plus rossi,alan barry,dunphy davy wall,were not good enough and they were asked turn up hope ye get some decent players to replace the ones that left you know its goin to be a struggle this year as well gael
Last edited by the only 1; 11/02/2007 at 3:05 PM.
well i know wall+mc,carry were training monday and yes they are not good enough for loi if the rest are true i would agree with you lim37 could struggle plus heard the was only 11 at training that is not good enough
well no offence only 1 but i you have no interest in the senior club Limerick 37 then go elsewhere or to the junior section. And yea it will be difficult this season, if i were still playing and i wanted it easy id join a club like shelbourne or play division 4b. Or as a supporter id support some English team cos that would be no hassle. But i support Limerick 37/Senior soccer as its fun and a challange for it to be a success. But with more ppl like me being involved in some way, it will be a success.
Last edited by gael353; 11/02/2007 at 5:20 PM.
i'd like to see wall and mcgarry given a chance myself,mcgarry could be a fine player if he applied himself properly