Thread: Danny Drew blocking new clubs application to League

57 Posts

Danny Drew blocking new clubs application to League

Just Heard on Newstalk that Danny Drew has succeeded in getting an injunction against the FAI in giving out any more licenses (i.e. Wexford Youths & Limerick 37) until Limerick's (the original one) case is heard. I can see this one dragging on...

Kom Igen, FCK...

1,550 Posts
    Could potentially delay the start of the new D1 season. Ultimately it's likely to prove futile as the FAI have the whole 'It's a whole new league' thing to fall back on.

Still, it could get messy.

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Just Heard on Newstalk that Danny Drew has succeeded in getting an injunction
    Obviously another saint only interested in the good of the club...
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

47 Posts
    can someone please provide the uninitiated with a brief biog of this chap and why he's so reviled?

Apparently the injunction is only 'til Monday.

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Just Heard on Newstalk that Danny Drew has succeeded in getting an injunction against the FAI in giving out any more licenses (i.e. Wexford Youths & Limerick 37) until Limerick's (the original one) case is heard. I can see this one dragging on...

Copying my post word for word. Chris, I'm surprised at you.

Just because Danny Drew can't get his act together he is trying to hold everyone else back. Limerick 37 seems to have much better chance of success than any Danny Drew effort.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Just because Danny Drew can't get his act together he is trying to hold everyone else back. Limerick 37 seems to have much better chance of success than any Danny Drew effort.
    yeah but the question is why

Quote Originally Posted by Burnsie View Post
    can someone please provide the uninitiated with a brief biog of this chap and why he's so reviled?
    Danny Drew brief biog;

Aged early 30's...arived as the great hope, promised the sun, moon and stars...delivered none of it. Looks, acts, and sounds like Daft Dave from the Right Price Tiles ads. Developed an almost Hitler like persona once club chairman, and treated fans, players, management like they were pieces of excrement. Referred to supporters as scumbags at one home game, and nearly caused a riot. Sacked a manager without having one in place so he could give himself the buzz of managing a real football team...owes certain players an absolute fortune in unpaid wages, or paid wages that bounced...constantly used to run around the ground at home games, barking at poor foreign national stewards and looked and dressed like a homeless vagrant instead of being a club chairman...do you want me to continue??

And of course is now trying to block football in Limerick from having a team.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    yeah but the question is why
    Limerick 37 seems to have the support of the entire football community in Limerick which means it will find a home easier & be able to draw down grants too as that ground likely to be used by non-league & schoolboys so makes more financial sense.

Limerick 37 is definitely a much better option than Danny Drew will ever provide. As has already been said he hasn't exactly got on too well with a lot of people and I can't see how Limerick FC will be able to compete next season anyway should he be successful. He promised so much when he took over the club 2 years ago but look at the mess he has left the club in now. It's just as bad if not worse than when he took over. Limerick 37 has much more potential to succeed and I would be surprised if the FAI don't win their case on Monday. Then again with the FAI you never know.
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Its not the just the start of the First Division he will delay if he gets his hearing granted on monday lads. AFAIK the injunction stops all clubs signing up to the new FAI league until this mess is cleared up, including Limerick 37.

Good to see that Danny has lost none of his charm, even when lying in his football grave

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Luke O'Riordan View Post
    Apparently the injunction is only 'til Monday.

Copying my post word for word. Chris, I'm surprised at you.
    You put it oh so much more better than i ever could

Note I even replicated the smiley...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Danny Drew likes seeing his name in the papers I feel. He's determined though I'll give him that.

Come on Limerick37!

But this is a new league and clubs are invited to take part. How does he have any case? By the same token a club like Tralee Dynamoes could sue for not being invited to take part. I wouldn't be too worried lads.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

His case is how did Limerick Fc not get a license and a club like Shelbourne did.

Wow, that's actually a pretty strong case

But that's irrelevant. Even if Limerick FC did get a license the FAI do not have to invite them to be part of their new league. Those are two separate issues.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    But that's irrelevant. Even if Limerick FC did get a license the FAI do not have to invite them to be part of their new league. Those are two separate issues.
    Could he not argue that not having a licence would have affected his chances of an invite.

He could site the precedent of the ugly girl and the houseparty

They weren't marked by the IAG because hey didn't achieve the license. All he has to prove is that his license application was treated differently thatn others (i.e. Shels) and he has a case.

I'm not saying that its in the best interests of anybody BYW