Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Overrated Players

43 Posts
    I'd say this deserves some sort of poll?

As a Derry fan I nominate Deery, now that I can't nominate Forde.

An the award goes to most overrated player in the Eircom League :

Hawkins, wins by a nose!
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

National league players are possibly the most under-rated, under-appreciated group of footballers on the planet. If, within that, a few of them are over-hyped, then that's no harm in my view.
    Joxer didn't do too much in Bohs' black season of 2006, and was easily frustrated in most games. But I can still remember the sensation he created on his debut and in a few games since and believe he genuinely has bucketloads of talent. If we can keep him this season, it'll be interesting to see how he develops.

Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie View Post
    Byrne is worse than useless.......... - 3 leagues, top socrer for 4 seasons on the spin - are you sure you have the right sport?
    Ronnie
    Don't pervert the point I was making. The man clearly has quality. What I'm saying is that he is very ineffective when he's down on confidence. Furthermore, he misses a lot of chances.

Hawkins was immense for Shels last season. Jason Byrne may have a poor finishing percentage, but obviously he gets into the right positions an awful lot of the time.
    Neale Fenn, Stephen Ward, both Bakers, Liam Kearney, Jamie Harris, Dean Delaney, David Forde...
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

How are the Bakers over rated - who has rated them in the last couple of seasons? Now back in the day they were great but just washed up old souls now!
    Who Cares?!

overrated players that played for us..

davy byrne
    andy myler
    alan reynolds

Those three players were excellent earlier in their careers, perhaps those three lads had gone off the boil by the time they hit your radar.

harpal singh and a controversial one......conor o'grady

over rated

Lads, settle down, i'd love to see a few of you lot strutting your stuff for a few years.

We arent footballers and dont pretend to be , I hate when people use that argument , oh i'd like to see you do better , well I wont be able to do better of course thats why i dont try but you should be allowed to pass comment on those that do try and that should be up to a certain standard.

The over-rated Jason Byrne fter scoring on his Cardiff debut off the bench!
    Fair play to the lad.

it was an open goal in fairness

Quote Originally Posted by JW. View Post
    Jason Byrne was one of the most over-rated. His scoring per chance average is moderate. He gets a sh!tload of chances and scores some of them.
    You obviously dont have a clue he is a class act!!

whenever he was in the showgies last season he never looked special tbh

I'm telling ye, the Championship is not that good.No league with 24 teams can be full of quality, there are muck players in every team.Jason scoring did not surprise me.

Quote Originally Posted by adamcarr View Post
    Owen Heary, Ollie Cahill,, Fabio O'Brien and David Forde was the most over rated keeper Ive ever come across, he was pure muck.
    For christs sake, are you for fcuking real or on a wum or something!!

Heary - best right back in the league bar none

Cahill - player of the season by many shels fans last season after winning the league

Fabio - just getting better each season - last season he was absolutely fantastic

Forde - I think he's a great keeper!!

As for zayed - I thought he was fantastic at bray but soley judging on his form with us last season I can see why some people would say he was over rated. However, with full time training and having a bit of time to settle in big things are expected from him next season from us and touch wood he'll deliver!

I'd agree with the baker brothers being overrated!! Also reckon kearney and joxer are overrated! (and was behan ever even rated - useless fat f***)

Someone mentioned andy myler - probably one of the most underrated players to play in the Eircom League in recent years - was absolutely amazing for us!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer View Post
    singh and mansaram are over rated
    disagree!harps is excellent when running at people and a brilliant crosser of the ball.flash has the potential to be the best striker in the country.he's still only 22,watch him go this season.it kills me that it won't be in a rovers shirt but i expect a masive season from him.

Over rated as sportsmen; ALL GAA PLAYERS.

Most over rated player in the LOI has to be Hawkins, regularly caught out of position. I'd have Behan down as under rated, very effective with the right partner
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post

Those three players were excellent earlier in their careers, perhaps those three lads had gone off the boil by the time they hit your radar.
    very true. we got two of these players at the end of their careers ie myler and byrne.

Barry Ferguson without doubt
    we are going up

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast