Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Limerick 37

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    they're still about are they? even if city were stuck in the **** ploughing along in div1 and someone set up another club here, i wouldnt instantly be calling them "us".
    Jaysus pedantic, twas a slip of the tongue man

Limerick F.C will never be allowed play in the first division with Danny Drew at the helm and no one else wants the gig.........FACT as people around here are so fond of saying

What would you have football fans in Limerick do??

Do you suggest we take a break from league football ala Cork for a couple of years just to make sure Limerick F.C are well and truly killed off??
    Last edited by Lim till i die; 17/01/2007 at 1:24 PM.

they're still about are they? even if city were stuck in the **** ploughing along in div1 and someone set up another club here, i wouldnt instantly be calling them "us".
    No, you'd wait a couple of weeks before switching to the shiny premier team.

Get a life Gavin, its a figure of speech. And by the way, Limerick FC don't exist anymore. Unless there is such a thing as a football club that isn't part of any league. As for the avatar - jaysus wept.....
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

the truth of the matter is that Limerick FC are still Limerick's football club and if people got their acts together they wouldnt need to jump from club to club
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

the truth of the matter is that Limerick FC are still Limerick's football club
    How so??

Where do they play??

What league are they in??

Whats the squad like this season??

1,025 Posts
    How so??

Where do they play??

Dont be so quick to dance on their grave.

I think Gavin Zac has a point, as I for one, while I will support the new team as they will (presumably) be the Limerick representative, I do feel that the old team are "our" team, in a way Limerick 37 are not.

How so??
    Where do they play??
    they are homeless, like a few eircom league teams.
    the currently have not been awarded an eircom league license; but apparantly there is support in the city from the people and business to get one*, if things were done right that license would go to LFC rather than some piece of paper team.
    i have no idea what the squad is like but i bet its as good as the premier division champion's.

"til i die"

*this is the main difference between the deaths of Hibs/Celtic in cork and limerick here - the reason for the lay off with no club is that there wasnt people or business willing to support a club in cork at the time.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    As pro-Gaeilge as I am, that's a daft idea really !

you might have received a warmer reception had you spelt it properly. There's only one 'i' in Aonthaithe...
    If were going to turn this thread into spelling class....theres only one h in aontaithe
    I didnt like the idea of changing name at the time and i still dont like it but I dont think it was daft. Terryland park is the only LOI ground in the Gaeltacht. Most junior clubs in the Connemara Gaeltacht have Irish names (Mac Dara, Na Forbacha etc.)
    Galway United have a large following from the Gaeltacht and its not unusual to hear the referee being referred to as an amadán or worse. Galway United have always tried to promote the use of Irish. This should be applauded not sneered at and referred to as tokenism.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Dont be so quick to dance on their grave.

I think Gavin Zac has a point, as I for one, while I will support the new team as they will (presumably) be the Limerick representative, I do feel that the old team are "our" team, in a way Limerick 37 are not.
    Indeed

I said it to one of the lads just this morning if Limerick F.C. were by some miracle to make it into the league, it's them I'd follow not the new crowd

But..........

Anyone got any answers for my questions above??

Thought not.

Also the plan was (and AFAIK still is) to amalgamate Limerick F.C. into the new group but imho the problem is the FAI won't allow a club in the league where Danny Drew has a seat on the board

but apparantly there is support in the city from the people and business to get one*,

*this is the main difference between the deaths of Hibs/Celtic in cork and limerick here - the reason for the lay off with no club is that there wasnt people or business willing to support a club in cork at the time.
    Don't know what you are talking about and you've just proved it there mate

which part?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

which part?
    but apparantly there is support in the city from the people and business to get one
    That part

That part
    well Limerick 37 seem to be doing an alright job of it
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

1,025 Posts
    well Limerick 37 seem to be doing an alright job of it
    Because they are not Limerick FC, with D. Drew at the helm. There may be support in the city for a club, which Limerick 37 have tapped into, but there isn't much support for Limerick FC.

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    If were going to turn this thread into spelling class....theres only one h in aontaithe
    I didnt like the idea of changing name at the time and i still dont like it but I dont think it was daft. Terryland park is the only LOI ground in the Gaeltacht. Most junior clubs in the Connemara Gaeltacht have Irish names (Mac Dara, Na Forbacha etc.)
    Galway United have a large following from the Gaeltacht and its not unusual to hear the referee being referred to as an amadán or worse. Galway United have always tried to promote the use of Irish. This should be applauded not sneered at and referred to as tokenism.
    Apologies for the extra 'h' in Aontaithe...!

I'm sorry - but giving GUFC a name in Irish, when everyone would still refer to them as Galway United FC, would be tokenism. No better that the 'cupla focal' tokenism that governments, the GAA and the nation as a whole have repeatedly served-up to ease their conscience. Pointing that out is being realistic, not sneering.

I'd love to see a team 'as Gaeilge' in the league. But if the fans etc were just going to ignore it, what would be the point ? The Irish language has suffered with those sort of sops for far too long, and they do nothing to genuinely benefit the language's position within the country.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Because they are not Limerick FC, with D. Drew at the helm. There may be support in the city for a club, which Limerick 37 have tapped into, but there isn't much support for Limerick FC.
    so why isnt there a concerted effort to remove him? or to at least create some sort of compromise?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

so why isnt there a concerted effort to remove him? or to at least create some sort of compromise?
    Because he owns the company that owns the club. Easier to start afresh.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

1,025 Posts

you are right, but it is pretty obvious from his actions over the season that he is not one to compromise. When you are somebody like Malcolm X, that is a good thing, but for Danny Drew, not so much......

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    Because he owns the company that owns the club. Easier to start afresh.
    I would question loyalty when at the time of most trouble, people take the path of least resistance.

Sure, maybe he's impossible to work with. Buy him out - how much good can he get from owning a club without a league. The FAI are in the position of power here, and therefore so are people wanting to take control of the club. I really hope thats all that Limerick 37 ever amount to - the threat of viability that forced your owner to face reality.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Sure, maybe he's impossible to work with. Buy him out - how much good can he get from owning a club without a league. The FAI are in the position of power here, and therefore so are people wanting to take control of the club.
    Thats effectively whats happening.

Gavin, your really starting to get on people's wicks now - particularly calling into question the loyalty of fans of a club that has been struggling for well over a decade and has retained a very loyal, hard core support. It is easy to be so black and white from your vantage point at the Cross. Of course loyalty is not an issue with Cork supporters - amazing how success creates so much instant loyalty.

Limerick FC - Football entity owned by one man who has managed to alienate the support base, junior football, the national football federation and the freeholder of a potential football ground. He has no licence to enter his football team into the league, has little prospect of getting one and instead of appointing a coach with UEFA badges to manage the side he has decided to do himself.

Limerick 37 - Football entity made up of various stakeholders of Limerick football. Junior Football, schoolboy football, ladies football etc. They have a ground, are actively seeking a recognised manager, have promised to put a representive of the supporters club on the board, are seeking a licence in order to enter the league and have good prospects of getting one.

I know where my loyalties lie. If that makes me a jumping rat then I am one with a smile on my face. FFS there are millions of Irish people who support clubs in a foreign country and don't give a damn about Irish domestic football. Anyone questioning people's loyalty with regard to keeping a side involved in the League of Ireland from their city or region has some complex issues going on in their head.
    Business as usual

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast