Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Limerick37 manager

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    Did someone forget to take their tablets? I think he was just critcising McGee's managerial record. Fair enough it seemed too.
    Well I obviously did

Did you not see the way I stood up to the "BIG TWO"??

Physco, I am

We've seen that coaching badges do not a manager make.
    Agreed, but unfortunately coaching badges are a requirement of the job as per licence agreement....

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Agreed, but unfortunately coaching badges are a requirement of the job as per licence agreement....
    I understood that you needed a coach with coaching badges - but does that mean you need a manager with coaching badges too.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I understood that you needed a coach with coaching badges - but does that mean you need a manager with coaching badges too.
    Yes the requirements are that managers need to have the qualifications
    "When faced with total negativity, a smile is a weapon of mass destruction"

57 Posts
    One story on Ski - John Herrick took over as manager in Galway circa late 80's. Ski was still playing. First teamtalk was Herrick's (for those of you that remember him from the 70's as a player) usual kick everything up in the air and if you can't get the man get the ball.

He turns to ski "I want you tracking back, if the centre half moves forward you tackle him" "Boss I haven't gone into a tackle since 1972 and I'm not starting now".

Thanks to GSpain for adding a much needed touch of humour to the proceedings. Anyone who knew Ski as a player will know that he was being being very honest with his new boss. Anyone who knows him as a manager will know the posts from Galway were also pretty accurate.

But hey best of luck to Limerick. I'd be delighted to see a Treaty side in the Prem & pushing for honours it would be a shorter trip to away games (new Ennis bypass n all) and would inject a bit of mid 80s rivalry back into the proceedings.

The contributions of Green&White and LTID are just uncalled for. References to our General manager, who just happens to be quite ill at the moment, and our manager are in bad taste.

Somehow I feel a lot safer in the company of someone who did his time for a crime committed outside this jurisdiction than in the company of some of those roaming freely around your beloved City.

No offence intended. Good Luck to Limerick on the soccer front.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post

The contributions of Green&White and LTID are just uncalled for. References to our General manager, who just happens to be quite ill at the moment, and our manager are in bad taste.

Somehow I feel a lot safer in the company of someone who did his time for a crime committed outside this jurisdiction than in the company of some of those roaming freely around your beloved City.

No offence intended. Good Luck to Limerick on the soccer front.
    Love how you claim offence at Green&White and LTID's comments and then throw a sly, uncalled for dig at Limerick City

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post

But hey best of luck to Limerick. I'd be delighted to see a Treaty side in the Prem & pushing for honours it would be a shorter trip to away games (new Ennis bypass n all) and would inject a bit of mid 80s rivalry back into the proceedings.
    Oh and if you line both our club's history up against each other you'll see that we're rivals with your no mark club in geography alone

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by greenandwhite View Post
    He may or may not be our new manager but whats your problem? dont see any limerick fans posting crap about your CEO and his criminal record why not let the group down here do their best and let whoever gets the job get on with it. I am sick and tired of gob****es knocking every thing so P**s off and if you have nothing positive to say then say nothing

Ray O Halloran has not got yhe qualifications needed nor do a lot of other people unless we want NOC back!!!!!
    Are you replying to my post are are you talking to yourself? You don't seem to have anything positive to say so why don't you practice what you preach. I realise that one or two Galway United fans have posted vulgar comments on the Limerick forum but don't paint us all with the same brush.
    Last edited by Paddyfield; 01/02/2007 at 9:17 PM.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

37 Posts
    You didn't see us whinging when you hired a criminal to promote your "club", both in the on and off the field sense as it turned out

What your basically saying is Paul McGee has way more experience of this managerial lark then Tony Cousins did when he got your managers job??? He did alright too, almost got you promoted in the end
    Which criminal are you referring to? If it's Leeson, then I agree, I didn't see you whinging at his appointment. but you are whinging now! You're a little late. He's been there two years.

I don't know how you came to the conclusion that I am saying "...Paul McGee has more experience of this managerial lark than Tony Cousins did when he got the managers job...", But now that you have mentioned it, Cousins came to Galway United after being assistant to Doolin at Drogheda and U21 manager at Shamrock Rovers. McGee had no experience. In the meantime, he has publically declared an interest in managerial jobs at Sligo, Harps, Waterford, Athlone and even Galway United again but he failed. Sure maybe Limerick 37 will give him a job even though he hasn't managed a team over the age of 12 since 1989.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

I met Paul MaGee tonight and i would like to welcome him to the Limerick Soccer fold. Designs of kits and new crest look class and well done to all involved. Back room teams and other stuff will all be put together in the comming weeks. Pre season training to start or re start this week.

Paul McGee can't be any worse than Noel O'Connor, so I'm not complaining. Should he turn out to be worse, I will of course start to complain

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    I met Paul MaGee tonight and i would like to welcome him to the Limerick Soccer fold. Designs of kits and new crest look class and well done to all involved. Back room teams and other stuff will all be put together in the comming weeks. Pre season training to start or re start this week.
    well done seems limerick soccer is on the up all ye need now is a pitch,decent players,and money and ye are up and ready

57 Posts
    With any new manager he has to be given a chance. He has played football at the highest level. It also depends on what type of squad we will have next season. I imagine it will be a building phase. Frankly I'm relieved we still have a team in the league.

When will work take place on Jackman Park, I think it has great potential, any more news of player transfers? I know there is more important issues to address but I take a new website will? be formed
    Last edited by magpies; 02/02/2007 at 12:04 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by the hoops View Post
    well done seems limerick soccer is on the up all ye need now is a pitch,decent players,and money and ye are up and ready

Well we have the pitch and players and more to come. i cant comment on money as its not my area to do so

Quote Originally Posted by the hoops View Post
    well done seems limerick soccer is on the up all ye need now is a pitch
    The mind boggles at what goes through the average Rovers fan mind at any given time, it really does
    Last edited by jebus; 02/02/2007 at 1:51 PM.

Jaysus lads, I'm starting to get optimistic and excited about next season. That is not a good sign!
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

[QUOTE=gael353;615458] Designs of kits and new crest look class and well done to all involved. QUOTE]

any pics? best of luck to all involved, heres hoping it gets off the ground and running..
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    Sounds great.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast