Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Maxi Jailed

Maxi was interviewed in the Dundalk Argus and his original intention was to stage a rooftop protest at the FAI so he rented an industrial ladder and brought it with him , but then changed his mind. The petrol was Plan B.

Quote Originally Posted by iceman View Post
    Maxi was interviewed in the Dundalk Argus and his original intention was to stage a rooftop protest at the FAI so he rented an industrial ladder and brought it with him , but then changed his mind. The petrol was Plan B.

you couldn't make this stuff up!

Brilliant

399 Posts
    the interview was priceless, he took the 'credit' for bringing together two gangs in two separate massive housing estates in the town 'for the common cause'

i`m sure it did his court case wonders !

Also re merrion sq. he was quoted as saying something like.

'when i got to the fai i realised the building was too high so i went through the front door instead'

jesus christ.

Four months for being a fruitcake for just one day is a bit much. Considering what others get away with . . . surely the probation act would've sufficed? Had Maxi been from Monkstown or an irate rugger fan with good connections he would've got a softer ride.
    Pardon me for being class-conscious but I feel his greatest impediment was not being a Nigel or a Simon and being a fat working-class ******* from Dundalk. The middle/upper-class continually get away with murder.

1,552 Posts
    4 months does seem somewhat harsh, but from the snippets we see here it sounds like he did himself very few favours in court. Also, we don't know if he had any previous convictions, which might explain the harsh sentence.

I'm sure that his previous had a lot to do with the 4month sentence. I honestly think that he deserves what he gets. Next step is Dundalk Fc to ban him for life which i dont think they have done yet , which in my view is a disgrace.
    " Fail to prepare , then prepare to fail."

Quote Originally Posted by dundalksarge View Post
    Next step is Dundalk Fc to ban him for life which i dont think they have done yet , which in my view is a disgrace.
    Thats hardly going to happen considering Gill said in todays Sun that he was staggered at the sentence and said it was a disgraceful decision to jail Maxi. Gill was backed up by the Dundalk Supporters Club chairman who claims the decision was harsh.

He should be given a Community Service Order and made to do it at Galway.....that would be a real punishment!

82 Posts
    I think he deserved his four months in jail. I know some people might believe it was a harmless stunt but he still put himself and other people at risk by doing it.

Maxi is a farce

123 Posts
    althought i think 4 months is a bit harsh dundalk fc should have taken the lead and banned him from oriel
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

He was probably jailed as well for the stretch he put on Garda resources that day.
    They had to find John Gill and drive him in from Portlaoise and look at all the Guards, fire and ambulance services at the scene.

Community service in Dundalk would have been sufficient.
    Last edited by BohsFans; 13/01/2007 at 2:09 PM.

He has two names and a previous conviction for drink driving !

its a disgrace that he hasnt

been banned by the club.they are basically saying that they dont condem a person threatening to set a building on fire and thus do criminal damage-poor authority shown again by dundalk but then thats what cost them getting low off the field points and not being promoted in the first place so we shouldnt be surprised.

Totallly agree Eamo , Dundalk FC should be leading by example on this one and they are not. Maybe they have a bit to go before they deserve a Premier Division spot.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    been banned by the club.they are basically saying that they dont condem a person threatening to set a building on fire and thus do criminal damage-poor authority shown again by dundalk but then thats what cost them getting low off the field points and not being promoted in the first place so we shouldnt be surprised.
    We are in the middle of employing new managment staff such as general manager so maybe that is why nothing has been done yet. What are you on about low off the field points???? We got the 7th highest! it was our on the field points for the past few seasons that let us down. Its idiots like you that really makes me hope Galway come crashing straight back down.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robbiesdrogs View Post
    so whats the split within dundalk fans i mean do most think hes a dope or most think hes a hero
    Most fans over the age of 12 think he is a dope. You only have to check out some of the polls on our forum to see this. Unfortunately there are some young or unintelligent fans that might see this clown as a hero.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BleusAvantTout
    He should be given a Community Service Order and made to do it at Galway.....that would be a real punishment!
    Touché

Personally, I feel 4 months for such a stunt is very soft. 4 years would have been more appropriate, as he would have been made an example of. He'll probably be out come the start of the season.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

FAO Louth4sam,

ye were the ones complaining of not getting a higher off the fields point total thats what i meant.as for idiots,im not the one who thinks louth can win sam. .

Seems to me that the judge took the view that the club could'nt be ars€d taking action against Maxi , so he decided to teach him a lesson.

Quote Originally Posted by charliesboots View Post
    4 months seems harsh - what number District Court was it in?
    Limerick 37.....

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast