Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Shels could lose European place

3,488 Posts

More on Shels

The Mail and IoS both running stories today that Shels may well not get their UEFA Licence and therefore not be allowed into Europe. Derry would be in the CL and Pat's in the UEFA.

I'd be kind of sceptical as this would mean licencing would be being applied properly, which is a rather massive break from tradition.

It's at times like this that I look back to Shels fans slating UCD earlier in the season for living within our means and equating that with a lack of ambition and break my sh!te laughing.

The way things have been turning out, we must be all hoping this will happen for the co-efficiency points anyway!!!!

On another point, is it just me or has the number shels supporters posting here gone down at an unreal rate in the past week alone ?

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    The way things have been turning out, we must be all hoping this will happen for the co-efficiency points anyway!!!!
    Definitely for the points anyway.

On another point, is it just me or has the number shels supporters posting here gone down at an unreal rate in the past week alone ?
    Dont rub their noses in it, it can be seen as trolling.

realy hope this happens.

i think every1 would be delighted if shels didn't get into europe. forking out money to go out to albanian & get hammered isn't gonna help shels cause
    Last edited by Red4Eva; 07/01/2007 at 8:27 PM.
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

they are replaced by the cup runners up
    saint pats if they fail the license

"restorative justice" in action?

I don't really post that much here anymore, and I havent really in quite a while. I do reply to the odd thread. The thing is I post on forums of clubs when I have some questions or wanna chat about something relating to their club, but no matter what a Shelbourne fan says on here now, it will get an automatic number of posts about how delighted everyone is the club I support is going down. Personally I can do without being stereotyped as your Footie impression of a Shels fan (ie head in the sand, delights in boosting about overspending, etc etc), which is not the real reflection of a true shels fan at all, but then again very few shels fans I would rate as having a valid opinion post here.

Shels are quite clearly in a very bad state, but I would be surprised if there are not a number of other clubs following behind us on that. I do not agree with overspending to achieve your target if overspending means freefalling if you fail to achieve them. I firmly believe Eircom League clubs should be run as proper businesses and some have awoken to that fact, others, still haven't. I am not an apologist for the club I support. I am not blind to the events and the spending that has occurred. I would like to ask a few people on here what EXACTLY you can do about it as a normal waged individual, especially when one man owns 99% of the business, and your opinion is about just that ,an opinion.

I for one, like alot of other club fans and even the clubs I dislike for whatever reasons, I would never want to see another club go out of business, cos there are always decent fans who maybe have family traditions in clubs, or great memories and I for one would think that is reason enough to never want to see a club die. Ollie Byrne is not Shelbourne FC. He owns it and runs it now, but Shelbourne FC is the fans, the history, etc etc. If I had the money I'd try rescue it, but unfortunately I don't and no one I know does.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth View Post
    I don't really post that much here anymore, and I havent really in quite a while. I do reply to the odd thread. The thing is I post on forums of clubs when I have some questions or wanna chat about something relating to their club, but no matter what a Shelbourne fan says on here now, it will get an automatic number of posts about how delighted everyone is the club I support is going down. Personally I can do without being stereotyped as your Footie impression of a Shels fan (ie head in the sand, delights in boosting about overspending, etc etc), which is not the real reflection of a true shels fan at all, but then again very few shels fans I would rate as having a valid opinion post here.

Shels are quite clearly in a very bad state, but I would be surprised if there are not a number of other clubs following behind us on that. I do not agree with overspending to achieve your target if overspending means freefalling if you fail to achieve them. I firmly believe Eircom League clubs should be run as proper businesses and some have awoken to that fact, others, still haven't. I am not an apologist for the club I support. I am not blind to the events and the spending that has occurred. I would like to ask a few people on here what EXACTLY you can do about it as a normal waged individual, especially when one man owns 99% of the business, and your opinion is about just that ,an opinion.

I for one, like alot of other club fans and even the clubs I dislike for whatever reasons, I would never want to see another club go out of business, cos there are always decent fans who maybe have family traditions in clubs, or great memories and I for one would think that is reason enough to never want to see a club die. Ollie Byrne is not Shelbourne FC. He owns it and runs it now, but Shelbourne FC is the fans, the history, etc etc. If I had the money I'd try rescue it, but unfortunately I don't and no one I know does.
    So what exactly are you trying to say???

I was just pointing out that Shels fans are not blind to the happenings in Tolka Park as would appear to be the general opinion on Foot.ie and that it is never nice to see a club as old as Shels to go down.

71 Posts
    I've seen it happen in Slovenia where 6th or 7th place got into the UEFA or Inter Toto as a few clubs failed the UEFA licencing.

I don't really post that much here anymore, and I havent really in quite a while. I do reply to the odd thread. The thing is I post on forums of clubs when I have some questions or wanna chat about something relating to their club, but no matter what a Shelbourne fan says on here now, it will get an automatic number of posts about how delighted everyone is the club I support is going down.
    Can you do me a favour and report those posts?

82 Posts
    The Mail and IoS both running stories today that Shels may well not get their UEFA Licence and therefore not be allowed into Europe. Derry would be in the CL and Pat's in the UEFA.

I'd be kind of sceptical as this would mean licencing would be being applied properly, which is a rather massive break from tradition.

It's at times like this that I look back to Shels fans slating UCD earlier in the season for living within our means and equating that with a lack of ambition and break my sh!te laughing.
    Some of us predicted this months ago.

They only reason I would have confidence that this exercise will be thorough and correctly assessed is that UEFA look very closely over the national association's shoulder in the awarding of these licenses. Basically there isn't as much fudge room.

And Gareth, whilst I feel you make a valid point, even as a Shels supporter you must be able to understand the immense schadenfreude at Ollie's current predicament that is currently being displayed by a lot of posters (and domestic football fans in general), myself included.

I'd love to be adult about the whole thing but I have long thought Irish football will be better without Ollie involved in it and given his behaviour over the past decade in respect of his dealings with many other clubs, I think you'll find that many people feel he's getting what he deserves.

If Shels deserve saving they will be saved, in some fashion or other.

I was just pointing out that Shels fans are not blind to the happenings in Tolka Park as would appear to be the general opinion on Foot.ie and that it is never nice to see a club as old as Shels to go down.
    Gareth it's easy to say now that Shels fans are not blind to the happenings at Tolka Park when they are in the newspapers and on the telly every day. The point I and a lot of other posters here have is that for years we have asked Shels posters who delighted in rubbing our noses in the fact that three of our players jumped ship to Shels two years ago or that you pipped Cork to the title last year or Derry to the title this year. Remember "Small club, small minds"?

While it was pretty obvious that the balance between your wage bill against your prize money, gate reciepts, commercial income etc. never looked likely to meet, in defence of our noses being rubbed in it by Shels fans (remember J€AŁOU$?) we warned the vast majority of your support that it will all come back and bite you in the bum. The response to this was that Ollie knows what he's doing; Ollie has worked wonders for this club; Ollies life is Shelbourne: Ollie this; Ollie that - Heads In The Sand.

Now that it has come to bite you in the bum you come and say that Shels fans are perfectly knowledgable to the situation at Tolka. Pity Gareth that they never listened to those of us who knew what was going on two years ago and decided to ignore it for the sake of a few good parties.
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

Charles, firstly the time we signed the Bohs trio from ye, most of the lads I sat with who would not be computer savvy all agreed that the action was foolhardy and we could have done without them and the stupid press that followed. Hawkins, Ryan and Crowe have all done well for us, after slow starts, but at the time, and the manner of teh signings was something most non-internet warriors that I know thought silly.

Secondly, foot.ie posters and soccer fans in general don't react well to other club fans preaching to them. I have seen perfectly sensible people who know plenty of the workings in shels post insanely on here just to not have to listen to a Bohs fan or a UCD fan tell them about their own club.

Thirdly I have never once been under an illusions about the levels of spending and the trouble it will bring, but when one man owns most of the club and is not noted for listening to many people re advice, it was not exactly something any of us could really do about it. Numerous people have mentioned this at meetings etc etc but it fell on deaf ears. I would say that you should not take teh general opinion people have based on forum postings which are generally in reply to opposition fans.

Charles, I spend a lot of time doing Shels things and I would love nothing more than to be able to help save Shels, but there is very little I or many shels fans can do about it, as it stands or stood 2 years ago. One man has teh power to change it, and that is and has been the way for years. Can you suggest exactly what one lad or a group of lads on average wage can do to save a club owned by someone not willing to sell up?
    Last edited by Gareth; 07/01/2007 at 11:26 PM.

Can you suggest exactly what one lad or a group of lads on average wage can do to save a club owned by someone not willing to sell up?
    A trust ??

To be fair you are right though. There aint alot you can do in that situation.

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Can you do me a favour and report those posts?
    No real need to. None of those posts went OTT (I'm particularly interested in this field ). I despise Shelbourne. Thats not trolling, its just football rivalry. I hope they die and I'm not apologising for it.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I despise Shelbourne. Thats not trolling, its just football rivalry. I hope they die and I'm not apologising for it.
    So do I. Top post.
    Theres a prize for bringing the most fans you know

I spend a lot of time doing Shels things and I would
    love nothing more than to be able to help save Shels, but there is very little I or many shels fans can do about it, as it stands or stood 2 years ago. One man has teh power to change it, and that is and has been the way for years. Can you suggest exactly what one lad or a group of lads on average wage can do to save a club owned by someone not willing to sell up?
    Well you eluded to the answer earlier when you said that Ollie Byrne isn't Shels - it's the fans, history etc etc.

Ollie's investment in Shels is worth zero without the fans. You are the ones with ther power here.

So what can you do ? A number of things :

- A delegation from the supporters clubs could meet with Ollie and offer him honourable ways out of his involvement with the club- e.g. selling to a Trust (see 'Supporters Direct' or Sligo fans for advise), expanding the Board to reduce his influence etc
    - You could walk away and set-up your own club, AFC Shelbourne, just like AFC Wimbledon, AFC Telford, Clydebank FC, FC Salzburg and FC United of Manchester. You're not exactly short on role models here, and there's a spare slot in the EL available at the moment (2 if your existing club goes belly-up).

The fact that you sit there scratching your head thinking there's nothing you can do says it all really. Whilst Rovers fans often get pilloried, at least they had the gumption to get off their arses and do something to take-back their own club.

I don't post here that much because it was starting to depress me, though occasionally I bite at what I perceive as unfair remarks.
    I am one of those people who you consider to have had their head in the sand. Way back in the nineties, fans were predicting our imminent demise because of our overspending. Certainly every year this century, back on the old JW board as well, fans of other clubs have been making dire predictions of our imminent collapse. However, every year we survived, got a great deal of success and obviously the merchants of doom were wrong.
    This year gone appeared to have been going the same way. I ignored all the postings as frankly it was becoming rather tedious. Problems with the tax man? Ollie sorted it. I have no idea how the club is run - I always assumed we had a great bunch of directors who were pretty sharp on the fundraising side of things.
    It now appears the "I told you so" fans have finally been proved right. And while I can understand how successful clubs always seem to attract hatred, it is somewhat sad to see the glee at our possible extinction. Way back to the KRAM days, I have always thought that though I don't like Rovers as a club, at least their fans are League of Ireland supporters and deserve our support. Better a Rovers fan than a United fan.
    Our club has played a huge part in the revival of Irish football, whether you like it or not. The current triumphalism on this board, though understandable, is quite depressing.
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Well you eluded to the answer earlier when you said that Ollie Byrne isn't Shels - it's the fans, history etc etc.

Ollie's investment in Shels is worth zero without the fans. You are the ones with ther power here.

So what can you do ? A number of things :

- A delegation from the supporters clubs could meet with Ollie and offer him honourable ways out of his involvement with the club- e.g. selling to a Trust (see 'Supporters Direct' or Sligo fans for advise), expanding the Board to reduce his influence etc
    - You could walk away and set-up your own club, AFC Shelbourne, just like AFC Wimbledon, AFC Telford, Clydebank FC, FC Salzburg and FC United of Manchester. You're not exactly short on role models here, and there's a spare slot in the EL available at the moment (2 if your existing club goes belly-up).

The fact that you sit there scratching your head thinking there's nothing you can do says it all really. Whilst Rovers fans often get pilloried, at least they had the gumption to get off their arses and do something to take-back their own club.
    Sorry DCFCSteve, but I think your missing the biggest point of all, Ollie Byrne doesn't want to sell and all the fans I know do not have the money to take over the club. The SSDG was set up and I thought if that was a huge success then maybe the money could be found to lure Ollie out but in reality it wasn't. So then your back to the situation of getting fans to say they will boycott games, well erm...our crowds are tiny, and its not had any effect on Ollie's wish to sell. The major point is Ollie owns 99%. There is NOTHING that can be done by a small bunch of fans who don't have the funds to take it over. I don't want to set up a new football club because I once again dont have the people/money/influence to do so. You all talk about these things as though I just need to press option A, B, C or D on my keypad and all will happen. Rovers have a huge support, and a kind of support that when you ask the average Dub who doesn't know much about irish soccer they will say they support Rovers. We don't have that. So when you say I don't have the gumption, I have to say I have talked to people about the options, I have tried in vain to think of solutions and it always boils down to two things.

1) If the majority owner in a company doesn't want to sell, he can run it to the ground and there is nothing much you can do if that is his wish.
    2) I don't have the cash or the group of people who would have the cash and time to take over the football club.

As for Dodge's comments, he doesn't deserve a reply.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast