Thread: Different words-Same Meaning

An Australian I know had to ask me the meaning of this "Irish" word:

Bould(sp?)-Bold

Magicme, "so I did" isn't just a Monaghan thing, it extends up to Belfast and all so it does.

It took me a long while after moving down here to get used to the idea that bacon is something people eat with cabbage whereas rashers are what they fry with sausages and eggs.

Considering most people who wear them can't actually do so, calling those items of footwear runners is just daft. Trainers at least preserves the fiction that you're only building up to a full-blown actual run.

A cupboard is still a cupboard though, airing or otherwise.

"See you?" as a threatening remark is one that simply has no southern equivalent. The only way to explain it is that it's normally followed by "You're dead."
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub View Post
    Magicme, "so I did" isn't just a Monaghan thing, it extends up to Belfast and all so it does.
    Belfast(and Northeners in general) also say "See" as in "See what I was on about there" even though you can't see anything. Also say "wee" a lot, "theirs a good wee man" "hold on a wee minute".

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub View Post
    It took me a long while after moving down here to get used to the idea that bacon is something people eat with cabbage whereas rashers are what they fry with sausages and eggs.
    Bacon is something you have with cabbage and something you fry with sausages & eggs but the cut of bacon that you fry is called a rasher. Nothing to get your knickers in a knot over.

Your right wee Sligoman, us nordies do use wee alot you see.

I another thing that bugs me is particularly prevelent with my lil sis and my sons...."You know Dylan, he did...." course I feckin know Dylan, didnt I squeeze him outta me??? AGGGH.

Also another thing that doesnt really make sense is starting sentences with "Well" as in "Well missus, you going out tonite?"

115 Posts
    I think mate was intended as the English substitute (the Irish way of saying it is first - gone to do the messages).

I'm only after having my dinner is one you wouldn't hear in England. And obviously the Irish words - slibhín, amadán and the likes.
    That's even worse then! I never knew friend was a purely Irish word, ya truly do learn something new every day.

That's a good one though Stu, even without the 'having' part. I'm only after me tea is a very common expression down this way.
    There's a dictionary of Waterford slang out just recently down here, has a few choice words and phrases in it, most I suspect are common to most of the country, but some examples:

Shellackybooky - Snail
    Lacksy Daisy - Lackadaisical
    Blaa - Soul food
    Yer go - A good hiding
    Ya cuncha - You not very likeable person, you
    and so on...
    more bass

3,487 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    That's even worse then! I never knew friend was a purely Irish word, ya truly do learn something new every day.
    Actually, now that you say it, I think you're right, not me. "Me mate" is the Irish-ism, but in England they use "mate" a lot too, just in a different way ("Ai maite!" Or is that Australia?). I think.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    omg- wrecks my head

"Of a Friday"

3,487 Posts
    I go playing football of a Sunday.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    "I do be"
    I do be doing this, I do be doing that.
    There used to be a saying when I was a young buck
    "does be and do be is a sign of a boobie"

Also, don't know if it's just a Midlands/West dialect,

saying "pounding" for "pain/hurts"
    saying "me" for "my"

as in ... me head is pounding - my head hurts
    Last edited by Ash; 11/01/2007 at 6:02 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    Thats nearly as bad as people who finish their sentences with "you know". Drives me mad
    Well tbh it's quite often "ya know like" here in Galway!
    Sorry!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    In fact, 'getting off with' is uniquely Irish, isn't it?
    Nah Remember lister in Red Dwarf using it in classic one liner about him drinking a yard of curry sauce to impress a bird and when rimmer asks him if he got off with her he says the only thing i got off was the Jacks about 3 hours later. Classic toilet humour literarly
    then again Liverpool is the 33rd county of Ireland so maybee it was passed down by the immigrants

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    in fairness.
    there's another one; or, 'in all fairness'

and another i just heard; 'Weary' meaning 'wary'
    Last edited by sonofstan; 14/01/2007 at 1:21 PM.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.