Page 32 of 35 FirstFirst ... 223031323334 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo League Football 2007

Quote Originally Posted by Fireball View Post
    Email received this morning. It might affect some of ye here.

Change of Fixtures

Due to a shortage of referees on Sunday next 15th April 2007, the Premier Division fixtures are changed to Saturday 14th April with a 6.30pm kick-off.

The following are matches involved:

Ballinrobe Town v Castlebar Celtic 'B'
    Bangor Hibs v Manulla 'B'
    Fahy Rovers v Achill Rovers
    Straide & Foxford Utd. v Swinford
    Westport Utd. 'B' v Ballyglass

Sorry for any inconvenience.

Yours in Sport,

John Durkan,
    Secretary.
    indeed it does affect some of us.fair play to ya for postin that up!

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by gnasher View Post
    Lads, be serious about what you're saying. Do you think for a second that the papaers are interested in giving up their valuable space every week to reports from the lower divisions (where the ball stays in the air for most of the game) instead of what they feel has a better interest / following?
    Fair enough if you think the premiership columns and the writers are boring - don't read them. I feel that at least it's soccer coverage anyway - might not be local but at least it's the right sport. I'd hazard a guess that more people travel over the water every week to Prem/Champ games from Mayo than collectively attend all Mayo League fixtures - probably true. Look at the turnout for the recent OT match - rubbish. People would prefer to sit at home and watch their English / Spanish football rather than watch the Mayo League.

And by the way - it's not down to the established newspapers to promote soccer and the Mayo League - that is the responsibility of the Mayo AFL committee.
    Let's start with the statement that really P@*##D me off.

reports from the lower divisions (where the ball stays in the air for most of the game) instead of what they feel has a better interest / following?
    This shows that you really don't know what you are talking about when it comes to the 1st and 2nd divisions. Sure there is some long ball football but there are some teams that play some very attractive football, Bangor (when they were there last year), Charlestown, Urlaur, Partry, Moyvilla to name but a few. There is also the fact that the Mayo league is about all the teams not just the top echelon.

Fair enough if you think the premiership columns and the writers are boring - don't read them. I feel that at least it's soccer coverage anyway - might not be local but at least it's the right sport.
    This is about the coverage Mayo soccer gets and people wittering on about english league soccer is not beneficial to mayo soccer in any way. It's because of lack of media coverage that we don't get the following we deserve throughout the Mayo league. If the media portayed every week the ins and outs of the weekly fixtures and results then some of the people reading these articles would feel inclined to come out on a sunday and see what all the talk is about.

This is not just about clubs sending in reports it is also about the MAFL backing us up with some pressure on the media to increase their coverage.

Finally no one can tell me that the lower league teams all have a worse/smaller following than the higher league teams. I have been to both higher and lower league games and in most cases the crowds are of the same size.
    The Blue Moon is shining on the world tonight!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Ranger View Post
    [QUOTE
    And by the way - it's not down to the established newspapers to promote soccer and the Mayo League - that is the responsibility of the Mayo AFL committee.
    So who is the P.R.O for the Mayo FA?[/QUOTE]
    yours truly, Mr Tom Kelly sports Editor of The Connaught Telegraph. Does that have a ring to it!!

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Castlebar Celtic € 150,000.
    Knock/Kiltimagh € 70,000
    Manulla FC €100,000
    Partry Ath € 65,000
    Ballyheane FC € 60.000
    Ballina Town € 30.000
    Ballyglass FC € 20,000
    Charlestown FC € 7,000
    Westport Utd €10,000
    Claremorris FC € 60,000
    Conn Rangers € 30,000
    Snugboro FC € 30,000
    Swinford FC € 50,000

I see John Cartys Local areas worked out well :mad (K+K, Manulla, Claremorris) O ya and not to mention a vote seek from the County town?? You wouldnt Buy a Litre of Milk with what some of the other clubs got!!
    Well done to Castlebar Celtic and Manulla on getting between them 250,00 Euros with all due respect they properly deserved to get it. you quoted Ballyheane 60 euros think I herd 70 euros. I am surprised at the amount Westport got was it a gesture

With the demise of the Mayo/Fai website, any chance of clubs putting up a report of their games on here. For example on www.swinfordfc.ie I came across a good report (on a template) of their B fixture on their site, nothing for the A team fixture though. Maybe the Mayo league should hold a workshop for all club P.R.O's ( and it's own for that matter!!). I'm sure Tom Kelly, Padraig Burns, and the other scribes could also give their input on what info they see as important when giving reports.From Junior down to the under 8's in every club they all like to read about themselves,their achievements and performances on and off the field. A good PRO is the best recruitment officer for any club.The PR for the Mayo league and also the Youths and schoolboys League is a shambles at the moment and the sooner the league acts on this the better. The Internet is a powerful tool as everyone here knows, as is the local papers.The Mayo league and the Mayo Youths Leagues admin do not seem to realise this though.
    I think you should take this matter respectfully up at each of the Leagues you talk about. However I only think the bould Kenny Gannon will have some thing to say on this matter, AT leased he has his reports on the Mayo youths web site. it appears to all club secretary.Why don't you drop him a line on footballhead@mayoyouth.ie Iam sure he glad to help you in any way.

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    So who is the P.R.O for the Mayo FA?
    yours truly, Mr Tom Kelly sports Editor of The Connaught Telegraph. Does that have a ring to it!![/QUOTE]

You have got it wrong again Reno. T.K is neither the Sports Editor of the C.T. nor the PRO of the Mayo League.

Quote Originally Posted by Fair Play View Post
    yours truly, Mr Tom Kelly sports Editor of The Connaught Telegraph. Does that have a ring to it!!
    John Melvin is the Sports Editor on the Connaught Telegraph. Pat Quigley is the PRO of the Mayo AFL.
    Last edited by Thunderblaster; 08/04/2007 at 5:53 PM.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    You wouldnt Buy a Litre of Milk with what some of the other clubs got!!
    Surely that is a litre of milk purchased in Harare, Zimbabwe!!

Quote Originally Posted by Fair Play View Post
    You have got it wrong again Reno. T.K is neither the Sports Editor of the C.T. nor the PRO of the Mayo League.[/QUOTE]
    Well if I put him on a higher platform than he his well what can I say, only to say he writes enough on football so may be he is reporting to John Melvin, believe me he would have enough of clout what ever position he hold it must have only lately resigned from the M.l. P.R.O.

[QUOTE=Thunderblaster;662510]John Melvin is the Sports Editor on the Connaught Telegraph. Pat Quigley is the PRO of the Mayo AFL.[/QUOTE
    Where would you fined PRO column in the local news papers!!!

pressure on

did anyone see the report on westport united game in ct last week,its a bit early for the writer to be making excuses for the manager he has had enough players to pick from.i mean to say celtics u16 would have bet heatmerchants.then again the writer may be covering himself.better not say much more or ill get another mention in the paper

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by mamoore View Post
    i don't think i'm a meesiah -if your read the post properly -i said the club changed around when myself and others signed for them.
    also your right about not havin won much -i've only played soccer for 3yrs -and have a premier league medel to my name.I always played gaa b4 that - which i have won loads.this is a great site -lets keep it that why and talk about soccer not individuals.
    big change around,were you in moneen yesterday?(friendly v celtic c )sit back and take a good look at the game,its not that long since you (c/bar town) used to give their first team a good game,never mind a bunch of kids.good job J.B. was ref,nobody else seen the peno.heart go's out to scooby he has taken on a big job,but with a lot of effert and 1 or 2 more players who knows
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

Quote Originally Posted by short_frank View Post
    Let's start with the statement that really P@*##D me off.

This shows that you really don't know what you are talking about when it comes to the 1st and 2nd divisions. Sure there is some long ball football but there are some teams that play some very attractive football, Bangor (when they were there last year), Charlestown, Urlaur, Partry, Moyvilla to name but a few. There is also the fact that the Mayo league is about all the teams not just the top echelon.

This is about the coverage Mayo soccer gets and people wittering on about english league soccer is not beneficial to mayo soccer in any way. It's because of lack of media coverage that we don't get the following we deserve throughout the Mayo league. If the media portayed every week the ins and outs of the weekly fixtures and results then some of the people reading these articles would feel inclined to come out on a sunday and see what all the talk is about.

This is not just about clubs sending in reports it is also about the MAFL backing us up with some pressure on the media to increase their coverage.

Finally no one can tell me that the lower league teams all have a worse/smaller following than the higher league teams. I have been to both higher and lower league games and in most cases the crowds are of the same size.
    well put!!!
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

The recent posts about the media coverage got a mention on the Mayo News on the new column devoted to the local game. PB gave his own angle on it from a marketing perspective on newspapers and what the general readership wants to read. The column also suggested for a more proactive marketing approach in public relations by the governing body.

Quote Originally Posted by gunner1 View Post
    big change around,were you in moneen yesterday?(friendly v celtic c )sit back and take a good look at the game,its not that long since you (c/bar town) used to give their first team a good game,never mind a bunch of kids.good job J.B. was ref,nobody else seen the peno.heart go's out to scooby he has taken on a big job,but with a lot of effert and 1 or 2 more players who knows

used to give the first team a game?
    "we played them once in the mayo cup they beat us 3-1".
    mayo cup semi final game against Celtic A vs friendly game against Celtic C, i hope you can see the difference

this was a FRIENDLY, we had 24 players up at the match, 22 got a game and their was 1 very good player missing, so best 11 was never on pitch at ANY one time.

and as for bunch of kids, celtic c are in the same division "2A,2B" as town, and from what i seen celtic c will do a good job in their side of the division, this is the standard of this leauge, this was a good run out "training" for both teams

JB, he is not a ref

ya big job for scooby, but its a game at the end of the day.

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    The recent posts about the media coverage got a mention on the Mayo News on the new column devoted to the local game. PB gave his own angle on it from a marketing perspective on newspapers and what the general readership wants to read. The column also suggested for a more proactive marketing approach in public relations by the governing body.
    He must have read my rant

46 Posts
    He must have read my rant

There have been no shortage of them about here to be honest.

Suspensions

Heard the a certain Mr. Ryan is back in training with Celtic and looking to play Westport at the weekend after a unsucessful trip to Athlone. Is he not still suspended from all Mayo League games

Quote Originally Posted by leftwing View Post
    Heard the a certain Mr. Ryan is back in training with Celtic and looking to play Westport at the weekend after a unsucessful trip to Athlone. Is he not still suspended from all Mayo League games
    Bloody hell Ya as far as i know he is. Id say he is delighted with being back at Celtic. At least now he can smoke and drink Cider to his hearts content ... Thatright stevo ??

Quote Originally Posted by MayoToffee View Post
    used to give the first team a game?
    "we played them once in the mayo cup they beat us 3-1".
    mayo cup semi final game against Celtic A vs friendly game against Celtic C, i hope you can see the difference

this was a FRIENDLY, we had 24 players up at the match, 22 got a game and their was 1 very good player missing, so best 11 was never on pitch at ANY one time.

and as for bunch of kids, celtic c are in the same division "2A,2B" as town, and from what i seen celtic c will do a good job in their side of the division, this is the standard of this leauge, this was a good run out "training" for both teams

JB, he is not a ref

ya big job for scooby, but its a game at the end of the day.
    "same oul Town, Always Losing"

Page 32 of 35 FirstFirst ... 223031323334 ... LastLast