Page 10 of 35 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo League Football 2007

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Wallace and Duffy are back. Fintan Ruddy has been up and we've had 4 other keepers up at training also. Aaron Curry has resigned and we've got a few players back from the US and signed from other clubs like Ballyvary, Town, but not many of them will push into the A side. We're in a better shape this season than we have been for the last two and without Collins and Murphy(who were fantastic players) we look to have a more balanced side and players are relishing the challenge. Can't wait for the season to start. Ballisodare on Sunday should be an indication of where we are.
    I still cant see you staying up even if you play your four keepers. You still need three or four A team players and by your reply you have not mentioned any new quality signings. I know you have a good manager and a good team spirit but if you a relying on the players from last year I cannot see the Boro staying up. As far as my limited knowledge can see you have a problem at center-back due to lack of pace, centre-midfield and up front are other problem areas. I know you have good full backs and wide players but outside that I would not be a confident as you. I do not understand how you are in better shape without Collins, Flynn & Murphy. What quality players are replacing them. By the way is that young O'Brien still playing. I was always impressed by him good player.

646 Posts
    Fair response. No matter who replaces Kieran Murphy(probably Padraic Conway) will add more pace to the centre back area, so that argument is void. We only had Johan for 5/6 games last year and when we did we were missing Flynn. This season David Roughneen will move into the centre midfield. He is twice the footballer of the other two lads. Eamonn Conway will go left. Declan Shaw alongside rocker is playing really well. Up front, Aaron Curry scored 20 goals in 14 games to get us promoted 2 years ago so he should be a major force next season. His younger brother Sean is joining also. Paul McDonagh from Ballyvary looks a very capable player anywhere down the centre of the pitch, so can cover all 3 "problem areas". Young O'Brien has college committments in Dublin so won't feature much for the A team. I can see why we'd be one of the favourites to go down, but I'm sure we'll surprise a few people. I can't see much improvement for the likes of Manulla, Ballyheane, Crossmolina and I think we'll have more than enough to beat these sides comfortably. The Super League is nowhere near the standard it should be. Too many players that simply aren't good enough playing for teams. A little hard work goes a long way.

sorry ,but i think i would have to agree with "closing time" ,in losing collin's,fylnn & murphy(i agree not the speedy of player's) you are losing player's with huge expericene that come end of season time and things are tight at the bottom i dont think the younger player's you talk about will be as valuable to you as the older head's, and that is thing the two of the teams you quoted"manulla & ballyheane " have..

I agree with you that the standard in the Mayo SL is below par and Ballyheane & Crossmolina will be teams at the bottom end of the table and yes the boro are capable of beating these teams. As far as Manualla is concerned I think they will be very strong next year and will cause all the so called top teams alot of problems this season they even might be considered a top team after the 2007 season. With regard to the players you mentioned above they are all good players but I feel not good enough together for the SL but time will tell. As for your statement about young Rock come. I saw him player 5 to six times last year and while he always was one on the Boro's best players but no world beater. He will with time develop to a good player. Maybe center of the park will suit him Best of luck on Sunday.

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    I still cant see you staying up even if you play your four keepers. You still need three or four A team players and by your reply you have not mentioned any new quality signings. I know you have a good manager and a good team spirit but if you a relying on the players from last year I cannot see the Boro staying up. As far as my limited knowledge can see you have a problem at center-back due to lack of pace, centre-midfield and up front are other problem areas. I know you have good full backs and wide players but outside that I would not be a confident as you. I do not understand how you are in better shape without Collins, Flynn & Murphy. What quality players are replacing them. By the way is that young O'Brien still playing. I was always impressed by him good player.
    Its not so long ago that a large section of hoops thought Collins was past his sell by date and Flynn was overrated. Did they come good as soon as they pulled on the green and white . And Nobody in Celtic really gave a toss when Murphy "had" to Go. Make yer mind up kido

We don't seem to mention Erris United too often on this site but we can take a bow to Eric Reilly for his recent award. Eric has played, coached underage, sat on committees and fundraised for the Belmullet based club. Anymore tributes for him?
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

I heard on the grapevine that there was supposed to be an informal meeting in Milebush last night amongst clubs. Don't know what it was about though if it went ahead.

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    We don't seem to mention Erris United too often on this site but we can take a bow to Eric Reilly for his recent award. Eric has played, coached underage, sat on committees and fundraised for the Belmullet based club. Anymore tributes for him?
    fair play to you thunder!i wholeheartedly agree!and a nicer fella on the pitch you couldn'd meet!

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Its not so long ago that a large section of hoops thought Collins was past his sell by date and Flynn was overrated. Did they come good as soon as they pulled on the green and white . And Nobody in Celtic really gave a toss when Murphy "had" to Go. Make yer mind up kido
    I can only sppeak for myself and I never said that DF was overrated. I think he his is a excellent signing for Celtic. I never heard any Celtic supporter saying otherwise. As JC I was surprised that he did sign for Celtic and taught that he wouldnt bring anything extra to the team (time will tell). As far as past his sell by date I would agree that his best days are behind him but still has a good 60 minutes in him. As for the club not giving a toss about KM leaving the club no one forced that move and he would be welcomed back anytime he wants to return.

Well said Congrats to him and his club.

with kieran murphy signing for ballyheane it will add a bit of bite to the team. also i hear theron cogill has been promoted to captain. wot do ye reckon of that. why was jc sent off for celtic yesterday?

Quote Originally Posted by the dude View Post
    with kieran murphy signing for ballyheane it will add a bit of bite to the team. also i hear theron cogill has been promoted to captain. wot do ye reckon of that. why was jc sent off for celtic yesterday?
    If KM plays at centre-back it will cause alot of problems for Ballyheane due to his lack of pace (time catchs up on everyone). He will be a good manager but not a good player-manager. Yes JC was sent off and was the reason Celtic did not win the game. After seeing the town I cannot see them coming close to winning the SL. Two full backs very slow and one Centre-half also slow but played well. They have the best player in the SL with Duffy up front great player should be picked up by a Eircom league club. They need three or four player to have any chance. They played a long ball game through out the game which Celtic followed after JC was sent off. A good report on the Mayl League web site.

Thumbs up Celts and town

Well done to Ballina Yesterday. Didnt see the game. Heard Celtic have no excuses though> Was there many at it.??

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Well done to Ballina Yesterday. Didnt see the game. Heard Celtic have no excuses though> Was there many at it.??
    If they took all the chances they created in the first half, game would be over. Played some good football for a change and tore the Town defence apart compared to the direct route of Town who hit the excellent Duffy as quickly as possible. Nothing wrong with the style when you have someone with that quality up front. The sending off changed the game but you wouldnt know that Celtic were down to 10 men for 60 minutes. Read the report on the Mayo web site fair report. Good crowd taking into account what was on. What happened to the Boro not a great start for the new management. Had they a full team?

46 Posts
    Was initially, but that is the confirmed date as posted by Harpsbear.
    Will you be present TB.

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    If they took all the chances they created in the first half, game would be over. Played some good football for a change and tore the Town defence apart compared to the direct route of Town who hit the excellent Duffy as quickly as possible. Nothing wrong with the style when you have someone with that quality up front. The sending off changed the game but you wouldnt know that Celtic were down to 10 men for 60 minutes. Read the report on the Mayo web site fair report. Good crowd taking into account what was on. What happened to the Boro not a great start for the new management. Had they a full team?
    Didnt have the management there yesterday. Ya a small squad. Pitch was seriously Bad and we couldnt play our usual game. In fairness to the lads they havent played football in 3 months and the fitness wasnt there. Ballisodare are a really nice bunch of lads and the game was very clean but i cant see tham going any futher

Quote Originally Posted by Harpsbear View Post
    Will you be present TB.
    Not 100% certain. Could be lying in my grave by then!!

46 Posts
    Not 100% certain. Could be lying in my grave by then!!
    I'll send you a pm if I'm going.I know its mid week and I'm down the night before anyhow for college so I cant see myself been down two nights running.

It's Monday night and it's Renovater night. The man who has the skill to rewrite the Oxford Dictionary will surely be giving us the gospel on the events over the weekend according to God and Football. Brace yourselves tight for the tongue lashing that may be dished out. Renovater, you're in!!

Things must have been peaceful for the Renovater not to be giving the gospel. or the post scared him off!!

Page 10 of 35 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast