Page 28 of 35 FirstFirst ... 182627282930 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo League Football 2007

Quote Originally Posted by the grape vine View Post
    wasn't at the game ,but some strange inclusion's in the squad, but they are winning so we cant really knock them
    have to admit that i agree with that comment and i wasnt at the game either (apologies!!) heard about the match from a very 'reliable' source and he reckoned that our captain was very poor altogether.dont shoot the messenger please!(ballina town )will hopefully be at the next one and im delighted that they won and fair play to them.just hope mick duffy will still be round come the next game.hes some prospect

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    have to admit that i agree with that comment and i wasnt at the game either (apologies!!) heard about the match from a very 'reliable' source and he reckoned that our captain was very poor altogether.dont shoot the messenger please!(ballina town )will hopefully be at the next one and im delighted that they won and fair play to them.just hope mick duffy will still be round come the next game.hes some prospect
    Im sure Ballina Town will know if mick Duffy is availible for the Next Match!!! I believe they are very close

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Im sure Ballina Town will know if mick Duffy is availible for the Next Match!!! I believe they are very close
    where is he rumoured to be going?? would you like to see him with glynn in Galway pixie??? i rekon he'd make a better impression than Glynn has, since he's played Super league for a number of seasons where as Glynn was untried in it.... what ya rekon? why dont ya do bit of scouting give tony.C a bell...!!!

I agree with Cloggs. Glenhest are not half as one-dimensional as you make them out to be. Some handy footballers, as well as old stalwarts like Mc Greevey and Gillespie who always do a job for them. Their new additions, including a centre-half (Mark Staunton) and two lads from Glenisland (a keeper and the aforementioned Glynn, who plays primarily in midfield I think) have strengthened their side considerably. Coady was the player of the division in the premier last season and Stephen Ryder is a young left winger going places. Real pace, can beat players and cross well. I fancy them to stay up. Then again, I fancied them to get relegated from the premier division last season, so my opinion is fairly dodgy!

Westport
    Ballina
    Erris
    Castlebar Celtic
    Manulla
    Crossmolina
    Glenhest
    Ballyheane
    Claremorris
    Snugboro
    Last edited by FahyForever; 28/03/2007 at 4:12 PM.

In agreement 'Fahy Forever'. Gillespie is having a great run with Mayo in the Oscar Traynor,he seems to be in form.McGreevey had great season last year,as did Paul Coady. I would be surprised if they go down. Then again this weekend will answer a few questions

Westport
    Ballina
    Castlebar Celtic
    Erris
    Manulla
    Crossmolina
    Glenhest
    Ballyheane
    Snugboro
    Claremorris

Foot.ie! And so it begins!

Ballina for the title with snugboro and crossmollina dropping.
    Ballyglass and Swinford for promotion from the premier and ballinrobe and fahy to go down.
    Moyvilla and charlestown for promotion from the first with ballyheane b and mulranney to go down.
    Knock/Kiltimagh and castlebar town to go up from the respective second divisions.
    The Blue Moon is shining on the world tonight!!!!

MIck Duffy

Quote Originally Posted by robben 11 View Post
    where is he rumoured to be going?? would you like to see him with glynn in Galway pixie??? i rekon he'd make a better impression than Glynn has, since he's played Super league for a number of seasons where as Glynn was untried in it.... what ya rekon? why dont ya do bit of scouting give tony.C a bell...!!!
    He aint going anywhere as far as im aware. He has been offered LImerick 37 and Rovers but he is a trainee teacher and cant leave his job or he'll fcuk it up or somthing> No hes deffinatley staying put.Ballina Town Might Know More

IS every Body Blind??? Oh LORD Ive just Said that that Crossmolina have to Play all their games away and on top of that 4 of their main players have said they will put GAA first.....OH WOW and still nobody has tipped them to Go down........I think there is a serious case of Bandwagon jumping on this forum. Everybodys going for Boro and Claremorris to go down and Westport to Win.... If i recall last year everybody said Boro and Crossmolina to go down
    and westport to Win.... How wrong ye where.

Crossmolina vs Westport game on Sunday has been changed to Milebush pk for a 2.30pm kick off

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    Glenhest winning last seasons Premier League could come very close to a "battling" team
    good point,however now lets see how they will do in the super league bottom 3???
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

Cool

IS every Body Blind??? Oh LORD Ive just Said that that Crossmolina have to Play all their games away and on top of that 4 of their main players have said they will put GAA first.....OH WOW and still nobody has tipped them to Go down........I think there is a serious case of Bandwagon jumping on this forum. Everybodys going for Boro and Claremorris to go down and Westport to Win.... If i recall last year everybody said Boro and Crossmolina to go down
    and westport to Win.... How wrong ye where.
    can someone explain why crossmolina are allowed to play in mayo league without a pitch.maybe someone from fathy can tell us. also is this fair on the other teams(clubs) having to play on astre turf.pixie,ihere big alan english has signed for the boro(BLAST FROM THE PAST)

Quote Originally Posted by gunner1 View Post
    can someone explain why crossmolina are allowed to play in mayo league without a pitch.maybe someone from fathy can tell us. also is this fair on the other teams(clubs) having to play on astre turf.pixie,ihere big alan english has signed for the boro(BLAST FROM THE PAST)
    i think that its actually a lot tougher to play on the astro turf than on grass so it would appear that FAHY (not fathy!!) would seeminly have an unfair advantage.however having played for the club since it was reformed a few years ago i would have to say that we would love to be playing on grass every week instead of playing on the astro-which is not to say that we are ungrateful to the mayo league for the use of it,quite the opposite in fact.as i said before your legs are often ruined after just the one tackle on that surface.if you had seen any of our preseason stuff (most of which we played at milebush)u definitely wouldn't be saying that fahy were at an advantage by playing there !!

i see that the county papers had very little or nothing to say about the start of the new premier division this week-why doesnt that surprise me

Cool

i see that the county papers had very little or nothing to say about the start of the new premier division this week-why doesnt that surprise me
    is there life outside the super league?????

Cool

i think that its actually a lot tougher to play on the astro turf than on grass so it would appear that FAHY (not fathy!!) would seeminly have an unfair advantage.however having played for the club since it was reformed a few years ago i would have to say that we would love to be playing on grass every week instead of playing on the astro-which is not to say that we are ungrateful to the mayo league for the use of it,quite the opposite in fact.as i said before your legs are often ruined after just the one tackle on that surface.if you had seen any of our preseason stuff (most of which we played at milebush)u definitely wouldn't be saying that fahy were at an advantage by playing there !!
    we all know that the cost of land is expencive;but if your club or any club want to have a long history you must develope your own ground,with that comes youths and ladies.

the main problem that we face, and have done since we rejoined the league is that regardless of price nobody in the local area is willing to sell a bit of land to us.we thought that we had something in the pipeline recently but were quoted a rediculous price!
    as for life existing outside of the super league-you're right!how daft was i thinking that there was any sort of football being played outside of the superleague!!in all fairness some sort of coverage needs to given to us 'lesser folk'!

Ya Alan Is with us.nice Lad and a good head on his Shoulders but struggling to get fit. Hopefully will get fit with a few B games. And sure like yourself he smokes like a train

Media

Brian Gillespie made a good effort in the Connaught but as far as other leagues where concerned there was nothing. The MAyo News was an Absoloute disgrace
    and their coverage last year was also Crap. As far as the western was concerned i didnt even bother look at it as i dont think they realise soccer was invented..... If it was Bloody GAA theyed all cover what colour Jocks ever Half back Buffer in every club was wearing

Hear Hear

totally agreed.W.P=joke of a paper

Cool

Brian Gillespie made a good effort in the Connaught but as far as other leagues where concerned there was nothing. The MAyo News was an Absoloute disgrace
    and their coverage last year was also Crap. As far as the western was concerned i didnt even bother look at it as i dont think they realise soccer was invented..... If it was Bloody GAA theyed all cover what colour Jocks ever Half back Buffer in every club was wearing
    Brian's a nice lad,and a good writer.but ton kelly is the top man in the c.t.for soccer,he's also a mayo league com. member,like i said is there life outside the super leagueas for the other 2 mn & wp,well need i say more.a waste of good paper

Page 28 of 35 FirstFirst ... 182627282930 ... LastLast