Thread: Club Meeting to discuss the direction of the Club

Quote Originally Posted by Guts&Glory View Post
    Your missing my point SligoBrewer, the club are excluding the Trust and Dublin supporters clubs as well as the regular Saturday night fan by not allowing them speak at the meeting and/or another forum for all fans to put their ideas forward.

We shouldn't have to organsie ourselves any higher a degree than a Trust and supporters club for the Club to allow us a say in OUR club.
    If you are a regular at the showgrounds you are most likely a season ticket holder! Well maybe not but you can see where the board is coming from!
    Season ticket holder are allowed in!

Quote Originally Posted by Guts&Glory View Post
    Your missing my point SligoBrewer, the club are excluding the Trust and Dublin supporters clubs as well as the regular Saturday night fan by not allowing them speak at the meeting and/or another forum for all fans to put their ideas forward.

We shouldn't have to organsie ourselves any higher a degree than a Trust and supporters club for the Club to allow us a say in OUR club.
    That’s their number one problem; they always try to restrict everything, it’s a closed shop, there is feck all feedback to or input from supporters. See my first 1st suggestion yesterday.
    Rather than whinging about it, put it as a “Question suggestion” and if someone who is going gets the opportunity they may ask it for you???

Quote Originally Posted by Bravo View Post
    That’s their number one problem; they always try to restrict everything, it’s a closed shop, there is feck all feedback to or input from supporters. See my first 1st suggestion yesterday.
    Rather than whinging about it, put it as a “Question suggestion” and if someone who is going gets the opportunity they may ask it for you???

Bravo and Midgit you are missing the point there shouldnt be a need to ask someone to ask a question on our behalf all supporters should have the right to get access to this meeting or a forum open meeting.

I have been supporting Rovers 30 years, my brother 40 my granda played for the club when they were founded and supported them all his life as did my dad and we have never once bought a season ticket but go along to the games every Saturday (and Sunday back in the days) more money to the club.

If we have an average attendance of 1,200-1,500 I would estimate no more than 300-350 at the very most have season tickets. Therefore this meeting is exlcuding all the other fans.

We were there selling poxy tasting soup in the old shed shop whilst dodging the rain pouring in through the holes in the roof.

We were there in the good times and we were there when there was less than 50 people at the games when David Pugh was in charge and it would have been easieer raising the Titanic than raising funds for the club due to lack of interest in the local community - so dont insult me by claiming to be whinging.

I will tell you how they look after season tickets holders they force a mate of mines 75 year old Dad (both season ticket holders) into the Shed end for the Derry game when the sunshiners come along because they couldnt keep two seats for him and his - as they had promised to do. Is that looking after season ticket holders/fans ?

All you have to do is stick an A4 page to a seat with a name on it for a game or for big games number all tickets for the main stand giving season tickets holders first option on same and we would not be encountering such shoddy Club to Customer relationships - theres an idea for them!!

I have also been involved in supporters clubs in Sligo and Dublin as well as selling Lotto tickets since they were first launched over the years and never once had the club asked for input but just financial donations. Whenever we suggested something the club disregarded it but happily took our financial donations.

At the Dublin supporters meeting last year Sean and committe members were there and not one suggestion put forward on the open questions session that night went any further with the Club reps.

One person at the meeting suggested focusing on selling all the player sponsors to get some basic and easy to sell money into the club " oh ya we did that" then you look at the programme and see the unsold player sponsors still went unsold.

Simple as this lads as Bravo himself said the Club are always excluding fans and if they are looking for input and ideas for moving forward there should be an open forum at least in addition if not at the scheduled meeting.

What harm is there in that ?

After all it will always been the supporters who have baile dthe club out over the years.

Having got all that off my chest I'm of to the suggestions page regarding the seats in the stand.

My Friend, I do see your point & appreciate 100% where your coming from, I think we ALL agree the whole of Sligo SHOULD be allowed attend but they CANT & its a disgrace. But as it stands there’s not a lot we can do, Correct? You’ll have to get over it!!

1,550 Posts
    But as it stands there’s not a lot we can do, Correct? You’ll have to get over it!!
    Could just buy a share.... if everyone is allowed to attend everything why bother buying a share in the first place?

151 Posts
    The three problems about running a successful football club are money, money and money, Forget about everything else and focus on this. If this isn't got right there'll be seats for everyone's Granny and Granda in the stand. So my suggestion is - look at the worst gate receipts year in the last five seasons, adjust the figure to take account of premier league prices and subtract that fugure from your budget for full professional season. That will give you the amount you need to raise away from the turnstiles. If you can raise it, fine and dandy but if you can't then don't attempt it. You can argue that the gate receipts will be heavier for a successful team and I say, good, that's a bonus and you are going to need it to sustain success. Oh, and by the way Drogheda should be backed at 4/1 with Boyle for the League and when they win it, they will probably have top revert to part time.
    Maybe a daft question but why is it so important that the League should be full time professional - it's not as if Steve Staunton gives a toss about it.

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    Maybe a daft question but why is it so important that the League should be full time professional - it's not as if Steve Staunton gives a toss about it.
    Maybe to help raise standards in the league?

has any1 else heard the rumour that club has come into a NICE bit of money? also heard new jersey and new players next week
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

What's the story with the 400 club? How much does it cost? Is it weekly/monthly what?

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    has any1 else heard the rumour that club has come into a NICE bit of money? also heard new jersey and new players next week
    i have heard that as well but ... i doubt it.

What's the story with the 400 club? How much does it cost? Is it weekly/monthly what?

€20/month
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    €20/month
    and what's the advantages[apart from the obvious-supporting the club etc.] of it? Can't find anything on website bout it.

151 Posts
    Cheers for that, Rouge Trader. I shall relieve them of a considerable amount of their ill gotten gains.

"All you have to do is stick an A4 page to a seat with a name on it for a game or for big games number all tickets for the main stand giving season tickets holders first option on same and we would not be encountering such shoddy Club to Customer relationships - theres an idea for them!! "

I would say lack of manpower has a lot to do with this.At the end of the day people need to do their bit so maybe new volunteers for jobs like this are needed.The workload at the club must be vast compared to a junior or youth club and that can be busy.

I don't think anyone thinks anything is going to be changed tonight, This seems to be more a meeting of minds that anything. This could lead to an EGM. I am glad to see the club being proactive and hopefully something good will come out of this meeting.

Quote Originally Posted by Sideline View Post
    "All you have to do is stick an A4 page to a seat with a name on it for a game or for big games number all tickets for the main stand giving season tickets holders first option on same and we would not be encountering such shoddy Club to Customer relationships - theres an idea for them!! "

I would say lack of manpower has a lot to do with this.At the end of the day people need to do their bit so maybe new volunteers for jobs like this are needed.The workload at the club must be vast compared to a junior or youth club and that can be busy.
    Agreed sticking A4 pages can be cumbersome however 1) that was on the basis that the club didnt want to number match tickets to seats and (2) There would really only be a need for it on big match days.

I am just putting forward ideas , you will note that I also said all you have to do is number the match tickets, even just for big games and correlate that with the seats in the stand.

Pats use a very simple process of each season ticket holder getting a seat assigned to them in the main stand with a sticker on the back of the seat saying for e.g. SEASON TICKET HOLDER - GUTS AND GLORY, that way they can sit there every game (or move around on the quiter crowd days) but they are guaranteed that it will be there for them on the big match days.

We dont have to look to far for solutions/ideas to solve our own niggly problems.