Thread: Trouble in the Shed

Originally posted by shedite
    This obviously has to be sorted out but I don't agree with this public idea. Anything brought up at the fans forum will be picked up by Prenderville and he'll have a field day.
    Fair point but I don´t see any other way of doing anything about it. The club has been warned time and time again about this problem and we´ve seen no action.

Have to say after what happened in the shed, and what happened to Colm in particular, i won't be going back in a hurry. It was a feckin disgrace. The stewards were an absolute joke, they were getting stuck on colm for no feckin reason. And the Gardai were worse. "Turn around and watch the game" was their attitude, as opposed to actually doing something.

Lennox was very accomodating after the game it has to be said. He brought brought meself, James and Shedite into his office for about ten minutes. He wants the problem eradicated as much as we do, but whether or not anything will be done is anyone's guess. We suggested having a Garda and steward presence along the back wall of the shed, where they could see everything and kick out those responsible for throwing coins, bottles, fighting etc. A good idea in principle, but then again, whether or not it'll be done is another story.

And why are the stewards being paid to watch the game? Why don't they do their job and watch the feckin crowd?
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Originally posted by Ruairi
    Lennox was very accomodating after the game it has to be said. He brought brought meself, James and Shedite into his office for about ten minutes. He wants the problem eradicated as much as we do, but whether or not anything will be done is anyone's guess. We suggested having a Garda and steward presence along the back wall of the shed, where they could see everything and kick out those responsible for throwing coins, bottles, fighting etc. A good idea in principle, but then again, whether or not it'll be done is another story.
    As far as I can see, now is a time for action not words

i will always view the match from the shed, but my 2 buddies who i watched the match with have steadfastly told me they will never watch the game with me from the shed anymore.....

thats the way alot of support will go if this **** carries on....

I think all the real sheddies should go to the St Annes end for the next game and make some kind of protest- maybe a banner saying "we want OUR shed back" or something

Jeez didn't travel down for the game but sounds like the shed was a war zone last saturday.

I suggest maybe the stewards enforce an access area down the middle if the shed. Because theres no clear 'steps' in the shed i'd say its hard enough to wade in to extract trouble makers. If there was a gap down the middle of the shed with some stewards positioned along it mayb make trouble makers think twice?

From the descriptions above seems like genuine fans tried to act & were let down badly by the stewards & the club?

Sounds like the club need to act decisively on their previous threats of banning people as this isn't a problem that will be stopped at one game.

btw only Guards in the Dublin City section are required to wear those number thingie on their shoulders.

Why they not required outside dublin city i think is a whole other discussion....

Originally posted by pete
    From the descriptions above seems like genuine fans tried to act & were let down badly by the stewards & the club?
    Thats a first...........NOT

It Never Rains...

Blimey this is a depressing thread!
    If any of you knew my vision for the future "Shed" I'm sure you'd work you backsides off to build it.

I haven't stood in the shed for over 5 years.
    I don't have any tales of abuse or assault, I simply left to get a better view of the game.
    I move around the pitch throughout the game so I hear the different levels of support from the different areas.
    It's not uncommon to hear abuse being shouted from the stand so I'm not going condemn any particular area for "heat of the moment" comments.
    What is apparent though is that the Shed houses the greater number of underage drinkers.
    This is something which is glaringly obvious at many games and there is no excuse for the security staff not noticing it or being seen to deal with it.
    While the game is in progress many of the club members present will be involved in one way or another and may not notice what is happening around the ground.
    Therefore I think that the supporters club should "debrief" the witnesses and compile a short report on what they saw, how unprotected they felt and present it to the Club outlining what they think could be done immediately to nip this in the bud.
    The club has achieved a lot off the pitch in the last season and Brian Lennox will not let that all be ruined by a handful of delinquents.
    On an additional note the Gardaí could be accused of inciting the crowd, which is extremely irresponsible especially since the club has to pay to have them there.
    If I were the people involved I wouldn't fail to highlight this.
    Be intelligent and constructive and your club will share your concerns. With cohesive condemnation and prompt action this can be resolved before it escalates.

Is James the new Donal McIntyre?
    (Just wanted to finish on a lighter note)

Couldnt have put it better myself Paeder!

Originally posted by pete
    You bettter believe it ..... I didn't the stewards were that bad, but it seems they dont actually give a toss !!

Originally posted by Peadar
    If I were the people involved I wouldn't fail to highlight this.
    Be intelligent and constructive and your club will share your concerns. With cohesive condemnation and prompt action this can be resolved before it escalates.
    Well said ..... a rational approach needs to be adopted, and it will not be that hard to resolve, and might change attitudes at the same time.

THE SHED

I agree with you knocktheshad on that one. It was a total disgrace what happend in the shed last friday night.Ithink that if there was any other fans from other clubs at the match they are laughing at what happend and what they saw last friday night at the cross i my self was appold at what happend and you wood not see that happin in the corner cos it wood not be the right thing to do there cos they wood be stop strat away plus i cant wate tell they knock the shed.

I was in the shed when the scum started all their crap on sat nite. Fair play to the real city fans for calling the stewards who in turn disgraced the club as much as the scum who were throwing the bottles and coins. The actions of the stewards and guardi were inexcusable. Pathetic is the more apropriate word to describe their actions.

The scum who threw the bottles/coins are not city fans and not regular shed enders. They come for a "laugh" and a mess around. Somewhere they can be drunk without having to hide from the guards in alleys and fields. Its easy to hide in a crowd.

I will continue to stand in the shed as I personnally don't like sitting down at matches. This may change if these scum are continued to be left into the ground. U15/U16 should have to be accompanied by an adult in my opinion if they want to be left into the ground. This will at least deter some of these little scumbags from going to the matches.

I also want to keep standing in the shed as I don't want the actions of a few little scumbags to cause every decent city supporter who frequent the shed to have to go and watch the game from another part of the ground. A shed full of real city supporters can still generate a brilliant atmosphere at the ground and that in my opinion is worth fighting for. We shouldnt give into the mindless few. Its time real city supporters claimed back our shed. To all the real city supporters, Point out and shame anyone who you see acting in a way that brings shame to our great club.

Jesus, sounds like it's getting really out of hand. The stewards' inaction doesn't surprise me much on past experience.

You need to get the club to sort that out ASAP or it'll just get worse.

Depressing reading alright.

Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
    A shed full of real city supporters can still generate a brilliant atmosphere at the ground and that in my opinion is worth fighting for. We shouldnt give into the mindless few. Its time real city supporters claimed back our shed. To all the real city supporters, Point out and shame anyone who you see acting in a way that brings shame to our great club.
    Hear hear! get the little ****s out of the Shed and make it the best support in the league once more.

Peadar, some very good points in there, I found myself agreeing with you a worrying number of times

Re: bye bye shed

Originally posted by knocktheshed
    bye bye shed
    no longer can you disgrace us other cork city supporters wit your hooligan antics
    i hear there having auditions for the sequel to I.D.
    the shed boys and the murphy out boys wit be perfect for it....
    long live the corner boys
    You are a bit of a muppet Id say knocktheshed. What do the Murphy OUT boys have to do with anything in this thread. For once this is a chat regarding something else within the club which needs addressing as soon as possible.

Re: It Never Rains...

Originally posted by Peadar
    Is James the new Donal McIntyre?
    No.
    some good points there though peadar bar that!
    life is random

Re: Re: It Never Rains...

Originally posted by James

No.
    some good points there though peadar bar that!
    so you were the guy getting shoved around the place by the cops?

the cops haven't a clue
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!

Yeah, I have tom agree with the tone of this thread. What happened was a disgrace. I had some fella squaring up to me after I told him to stop throwing coins and guess what one of the stewards said to me "Your problem, f**k off bud". Fantastic! Just inspires confidence doesn't it? Bunch of goddamn cowboys, only in it for the money.
    Still though, I think special mention should go to Colm and the lads for showing such self-restraint under the most testing of circumstances. And a REALLY big 'thank you' to James for having the prescence of mind to catch on camera the shoddy job done by both stewards and Gardaí on the night.

Murphy Out Now!!!