i think its funny how the FAI sent the letters out tuesday, and expected them to be back in by monday, forgetting that around 3000 fans went to foockin san marino to support the team, and mightnt even be back the friday...what a shower of clowns
Exactly its not the most accessible place in the world. Various walking routes to it and closer to the ground they branch off different ways depending on which stand you're going to. Grand if you know from GAA matches but hardly mind boggling if you're not a GAA supporter as a lot of football and rugby fans aren't. A bit of a nightmare for away fans to be honest (a new phenonemen for Croker !)
For those who haven't got a clue, best to have a read of this.
http://www.fai.ie/pdf/Croke_Park_Guide.pdf
As all the approaches are colour coded people really shouldn't have a problem finding their way.
I don't know about you but I don't go to games I don't like. Sunday was the first time there'd been an event in Croke Park I was interested in so it was the first time I went there, simple as that. I'm sure there are plenty of GAA fans who have never been to Lansdowne Road.
Soko, i am with ye 110% on this. at least know the bloody area, i mean i wasnt in landsdowne till i moved to dublin but i still figured out how to get there fairly handy. there is only one road you cant walk down through on the way to any stand....its like asking me if i knew somewhere in roscommon town and then had to go and ask directionsPeople didn't even know the Canal from the Cusack. Have they not even watched a game on tv? While many hold a grudge against the GAA or just don't like the sport, I still can't see why someone would never have been there before![]()
ye can see the bloody stadium from phibsborough, nevermind drumcondra!!![]()
I will admit though if ye werent sure of the difference between the cusack and the hogan, cos on d'tele ye wouldnt be able differentiate which is which.
Directions: Go to the Northside and look for the big stadium-shaped thing. If it's smaller than Lansdowne, you're at Dalymount or Tolka, keep walking.
SIGNATURESCOPE
Jerry the Saint, quality. POTMDirections: Go to the Northside and look for the big stadium-shaped thing. If it's smaller than Lansdowne, you're at Dalymount or Tolka, keep walking.![]()
thats quality, I am in stiches. what about the ruggers though? they wouldnt k now either of those two "stadia"
Don't you mean the Davin Stand !!!!!![]()
The FAI are calling Hill 16 the Northern Terrace and for how long was the Cusack called the "New Stand" on the ground. Maybe picking a name and sticking to it would be more helpfull than ridiculing people that have never had a reason to go to Croke Park.
Yes you can see the stadium from the Dart line even but a hell of a lot easier to get to LR from LR station than Croker from Clontarf Road or Connolly. Fact is it IS a lot less accessible for most, watching on TV isn't going to tell you anything about the terraced streets around it and its not as easy to go from one stand to another if you do take the wrong way - you tend to have to go out and back around.
I don't see why its so unbelievable that a non-GAA head wouldn't have been there or watch a match on TV (taking copious notes of which stand is which). We don't all become mad Dublin supporters for a few weeks every Summer. If everybody printed off the FAI website map I'm sure there'd be no problem sure, maybe they'll send a colour copy out with the tickets![]()
Are you serious? On d'tele you can always tell which is which. Several giveaways:
- If you are watchin d'tele and The Hill is on your left, the camera is in the Hogan and you are looking directly across at the Cusack
- If you are watchin d'tele and The Hill is on your right, the camera is in the Cusack and you are looking directly across at the Hogan
- If you are watchin d'tele and the Davin (formerly known as the Canal End) is on your left, the camera is in the Cusack and you are looking directly across at the Hogan
- If you are watchin d'tele and the Davin (formerly known as the Canal End) is on your right, the camera is in the Hogan and you are looking directly across at the Cusack
- If you are watchin d'tele and you see Mary McAleese emerging from the stand, you know it is the Hogan
- If you are watchin d'tele and you see Bertie sitting with a big grin on him you know he is sitting in the Hogan
Any more clues required??? Jees, you country boys!!!!![]()
Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.
Well they took the money off the auld CC last night.
And it startsI think anybody on here knows which is which, I've lived on Clonliffe Road for God's sake and have been to many a match there often as a neutral (like for something non-alcoholic to do for a change on Paddy's Day). Just trying to appreciate point of view of those that have nothing to do with the sport thats all.
It is quite funny most country lads up have a particular side they approach the ground from (regardless of what stand they're in) usually dictated by whether they came via Connolly, Clontarf Road, Drumconda station, M50, Phibsborough whatever. Biggest factor has to be d'pub though. Always been prone to Quinns, McGrath's and the Big Tree myself. Probably cos I lived in the area, went to DCU, mates from Maynooth come in on the train that side as do people driving from Wexford. If came in by train into Connolly would end up drinking on Amiens Street (literally) and walking up though and when living in Clontarf obv came from that direction. I reckon Patrick McGrath's will be our pre-match pub, a nice spot. Paddy Cullen's was always the LR one and the one time we went to Jury's for spares was about the worse pints I've ever had so stick to what you know![]()
Last edited by WexDec; 16/02/2007 at 2:24 PM.
what did ye study dec/ in dcu?
thanks superhoop, what side do the apprentice boys band vacate? will they be at the matches in march annoying everyone?
Computer Apps. Very weird being in Quinns on matchdays after being used to it Thursday nights !![]()
In fairness, if a dub doesnt know how to get to the appropriate stand come march 24th, hang ur head in shame...
wexdec thats what i did, when did ye finish?
good point citizenerased
I think there will be plenty of D4ers that won't. Always found the northside/southside thing hilarious but in some cases the ignorance in knowledge of the other side astounding. This should be a case in point and I would imagine plenty of only half tongue in cheek comments about "first time on the northside since wnt to blah as kid"....which usually ignores the northside of town.