Thread: Joseph Lapira

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ofjames View Post
    here here to what carloz said

"Its not so long ago their chairman was caught on camera singing anti-catholic songs and they were bringing out orange kits.

lets not forget that before we get all unbiased on the subject!"

Livehead ur a retard
    I personally don't care if he plays for Rangers or not. He's not Irish anyway and he's cr*p so who cares? He probably thinks Dublin is the capital of Massachusetts.

And for all the usual members of the PC everything is fab brigade out there Rangers as a club hate you and everything you stand for. They would ethnically cleanse you, your entire family and all your friends (if you have any) given half a chance.
    Last edited by youngirish; 23/07/2007 at 6:43 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    So? Is the lad even Catholic
    Not one mention of Shelbournes match against Rangers in 1998 been moved to Tranmere because of Rangers fans yet numerous mentions of Love Ulster parades.

No mention of Rangers anti Catholic signing policy and sectarian vice chairman. No mention of Rangers keeper wearing a black armband in memory of a loyalist murderer. No mention of tricolours been burned in Ibrox in the eighties. No mention of Irish players like Roy keane and John O Shea been booed in Ibrox because they were Irish...

But the Celtic fans. They are real mean.

I for one couldn't give a toss who Lapira plays for because as far I'm concerned, he isn't an international class player who will never make it. But to see some people in here spout their anti Celtic views while ignoring the fact that Rangers FC actually have an anti Irish agenda is laughable.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

"And for all the usual members of the PC everything is fab brigade out there Rangers as a club hate you and everything you stand for. They would ethnically cleanse you, your entire family and all your friends (if you have any) given half a chance." by young irish

that is simply the most ridiculous statement i have ever heard. i wont even ask what your reasoning is behind it

As for tornado's points,

celtic have had broadly the same problems with sectarianism amongst their support as rangers have. hence the continuing initiatives by both clubs and the scottish executive to root it out. the argument that celtic fans dont engage in violence with rangers fans, dont/have never burned union jacks, dont sing rebel and sectarian songs doesnt cut the ice im afraid. Both pretty much as bad as each other.

Also, rangers put a halt to that signing policy long ago, and have since had a catholic captain in Lorenzo Amorouso and a catholic manager in Paul le Guen. They obviously no longer have an anti-irish policy either if they've offered an irish international a trial. Alan maybury was on trial with them before he signed terms at leeds as well.

As for the booing, irish fans have booed players from holland, denmark etc who played for rangers, even though they were very unlikely to know any of the political history. So i dont see how we can claim any moral highground on that issue

That vice chairman got the sack as soon as the video came out, he's a moron.

Andy Goram was a schitzophrenic. Who gives a crap what he did?

71 Posts
    I prefer the spurious story linking him with a move to UCD to play in our U-21 team. He'd have a better chance of winning the league too.

85 Posts
    Bound to happen at some stage... Good luck to him!!

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    I personally don't care if he plays for Rangers or not. He's not Irish anyway and he's cr*p so who cares? He probably thinks Dublin is the capital of Massachusetts.

And for all the usual members of the PC everything is fab brigade out there Rangers as a club hate you and everything you stand for. They would ethnically cleanse you, your entire family and all your friends (if you have any) given half a chance.
    I can't decide if you're really intelligent, and on the wind up or just plain stupid.

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    I will feckin love it if he signs for Rangers ...long overdue that one of ours signed for them just to annoy the knuckle-dragger element in our support who'll boo one of their own to express their own uber-gaelism.

I'm sure it'll go down a treat all over Glasgow too. Best of luck Joe -you durty soap-dodger-hun-c***!!
    The general consensus amongst Celtic fans is they'd love it to happen.

I noticed this post on a Celtic forum though:
    He's absolutely Garbage. I know a few lads who have played with and against him and they've all given the same report
    Of course 99.99% of the time you would just ignore a post like that but the guy who posted it definitely does know members of the Ireland squad. This is the same guy.

3,501 Posts
    This is the evening times report on it: http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/...565835.0.0.php

Quote Originally Posted by ollie View Post
    Haha
    "That is UCSB's 419th foul of the season. 57 yellow cards and 10 ejections"

You gota love the yanks
    lol just watched it there...why do they have to be the only country to change the analysis of the game ''a physical side''.... ''statistics''...(they love there stats!)

''and just like that its 1 to zero''.....? wtf its one-nil not zero

looks its only a team and who here would say they'd rather stay in america then play for a big club??... if i had a choice for rangers or some mickry mouse club id join its a stepping stone!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    The general consensus amongst Celtic fans is they'd love it to happen.
    I noticed this post on a Celtic forum though:
    "He's absolutely Garbage. I know a few lads who have played with and against him and they've all given the same report"
    Sounds like youngirish

What would you expect on a celtic board,
    best wishes Joe, hope you make it.

In general.
    The US u20 squad looked very good at the WC, trashed Poland 6-1 and beat Brazil handy enough. There's even a few college boys on the squad. Time to have a revision about the crap US soccer kids.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    In general.
    The US u20 squad looked very good at the WC, trashed Poland 6-1 and beat Brazil handy enough. There's even a few college boys on the squad. Time to have a revision about the crap US soccer kids.
    There's nothing particularly surprising about students making the underage international teams. UCDD would typically have a few players at that level as well.

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ofjames View Post
    here here to what carloz said

"Its not so long ago their chairman was caught on camera singing anti-catholic songs and they were bringing out orange kits.

lets not forget that before we get all unbiased on the subject!"

Livehead ur a retard
    Lets not get personal, why's that?

with regard to the orange shirt, other teams have indeed worn Orange shirts, yet they weren't banned, which Rangers kit was, so i stand by my argument.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Have to say that isnt my experience at all. Do you actually know any Rangers fans? Because your description is like it comes from some "bizarro world" Punch magazine. The majority support Rangers cause they are their hometown club. If only some of the rabid Irish nationalists on this forum would do the same.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    Lets not get personal, why's that?

with regard to the orange shirt, other teams have indeed worn Orange shirts, yet they weren't banned, which Rangers kit was, so i stand by my argument.
    A certain national team wore an orange kit too in Skopje in 1997.

[B]
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish[/B
    ]

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    I can't decide if you're really intelligent, and on the wind up or just plain stupid.
    I think it's fairly obvious. He's an idiot. The negative comments regarding this young Irishman's possible move to Rangers here are an embarrassment and quite sickening really. Exactly the same stance which biggotted sections of Northern Ireland's 'supporters' took when Lennon signed for Celtic. Best of luck to Lapira.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Sounds like youngirish

What would you expect on a celtic board,
    best wishes Joe, hope you make it.

In general.
    Sounds more like Stephen Hunt to me considering he knew the team for one of the previous games before it was announced. Yous are all traitors to the cause btw particularly you new guy with the previous post just before mine who's name I can't be bothered to look up as I'm typing this.

Would you stop with the rubbish and get on topic.

http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/...is_studies.php

JOSEPH LAPIRA today revealed he couldn't sign for Rangers until January - even if Walter Smith wants to hand him his first pro deal.

The 20-year-old Irish-American striker, US College Player of the Year last season, arrived yesterday at Murray Park for a week's training.

He promptly injured his calf and was back today for treatment.
    advertisement

Lapira, capped by Republic of Ireland boss Steve Staunton last May against Ecuador as an amateur, will finish a business management degree at Notre Dame before concentrating on his football career.

He said: "I was offered the chance to train with Rangers and jumped at it. I hurt my calf, so I'm not sure how much they will be able to assess me.

"It doesn't matter too much, though, because I was always going to go back home until the end of the year to finish my studies.

"There is no point going this far and not finishing my studies. In saying that, I would like to play in Europe and it was great yesterday.

"I was maybe going to go to Aberdeen, but I am delighted to come to Rangers and see what happens. I have an EU passport through dual nationality, so I might as well use that to get me into European football."

Smith says Lapira has come here highly recommended, and it's likely an arrangement will be made for him to return early in the New Year.

Smith said: "The lad picked up an injury yesterday, and there will be no quick decision. You have to remember he is still an amateur, but we would like to have a longer look at him."

"He promptly injured his calf and was back today for treatment."

20 quid says he fails the rangers medical , signs for celtic , puts on 3 stone , scores in every old firm game and becomes the new john hartson .

Best of luck to him , about time an irish ( a citizen of Ireland , i mean) fella played for rangers.

and i will deffo boo him every kick of the ball in a blue jersey!!
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    The majority support Rangers cause they are their hometown club.
    Can you back that up? They have many fans in Northern Ireland, North America and Australia as well as fans from all over Scotland of whom they are not their local club.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Can you back that up? They have many fans in Northern Ireland, North America and Australia as well as fans from all over Scotland of whom they are not their local club.
    typical student read about everything - experienced nothing...

Page 14 of 17 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 ... LastLast