Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: No Licence, No Club, No Future.

Angry No Licence, No Club, No Future.

The Billy Liar character we have as a Chairman has yet again been spoofing us wth tales of how " I'm going to wind everything up on December 1st unless I get a lease for Hogan Park".

Today is December 4th....The club has been refused a licence. It has been refused it on a couple of key criteria. A). No Home, B). No qualified management with UEFA Licences. We are as far away from both these criteria as ever. Nobody wants to work for Daft Dave, and nobody wants to give him a long term lease to a ground either, apart from it seems, the local Nazi group, the LDMC. So it appears that we're going to line the coffers of the LDMC by paying for their development work and have nothing to show for it, and have to resort to someone desperate for a job that has UEFA badges, i.e Mike Kerley.

In my opinion, the club is now sadly finished. It has no future with Drew in charge, yet, sadly it is totally reliant upon him at the moment. Bad case of 'catch 22'. What I would like Daft Dave to answer now if he is reading this under any of his many guises is:

Where are the Polish investors?

Where is the lease he promised??

Where is the 'local investor' he was talking to?

What players has he secured for next season, given that a lot of contracts have expired??

Answers please, and not on the back of your cornflake box Danny........

Sound man. Thanks for the update - I never knew the club was in trouble. Fancy that.

I agree - lets get rid of DD and get in the next fella, there. Whats that? There is no next fella? So we'll just give up now will we? Grand so.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    Sound man. Thanks for the update - I never knew the club was in trouble. Fancy that.

I agree - lets get rid of DD and get in the next fella, there. Whats that? There is no next fella? So we'll just give up now will we? Grand so.
    In a prevous thread, I called you sanctimonious. I regretted it afterward, and thought to my self that I should not be so critical and judgemental.

How wrong I was.

You are the most sanctimonious, conceited, uppity know it all on this site by a mile.

Where in my post did I refer to Danny Drew leaving? I merely said that we seem to be stuck with him and that is not good. That, by the way is a personal opinion. What I think...NOBODY ELSE BUT ME !! I merely asked questions that I would like answered, and I believe others to want answers to as well.

Shove your sarcasm and uppity asttitude please, and save it for someone who might think you are God almighty !!

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post

This is probably the most sanctimonius thing I have ever had the displeasure of reading

Mr. Wizard, what do you suggest??

Perhaps he has Harry Potter type powers and can 'magic' us a ground and some decent players out of somewhere??

Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard View Post

Today is December 4th....The club has been refused a licence. It has been refused it on a couple of key criteria. A). No Home, B). No qualified management with UEFA Licences. ........
    FYI Neither of these were reasons for the licence being refused

Q1. I'd imagine they're in Poland somewhere

Q2. It's in a drawer round the priests house

Q3. Living locally

Q4. The majority of the squad were on two year deals which still have a year left to run, if the club folds they will of course become free agents

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Perhaps he has Harry Potter type powers and can 'magic' us a ground and some decent players out of somewhere??
    It's a long shot but definitely worth looking into

FYI Neither of these were reasons for the licence being refused

Q1. I'd imagine they're in Poland somewhere

Q2. It's in a drawer round the priests house

Q3. Living locally

Q4. The majority of the squad were on two year deals which still have a year left to run, if the club folds they will of course become free agents
    Well, what were the criteria they failed on? Not having a home base does constitute failure in the licencing criteria, as does not having Qualified Coaches?

Not too many of the squad were on two year deals. A lot were on two year deals from two seasons ago, making a lot of them out of contract.

Your answers to the other questions, funny as they were , still don't provide answers. They are good questions given current circumstances.

It's a long shot but definitely worth looking into
    If we can't get Harry...then Sabrina or that really cute one out of that 60's show Bewitched would do nicely. Barbara Eden I think her name was...

Well, what were the criteria they failed on? Not having a home base does constitute failure in the licencing criteria, as does not having Qualified Coaches?

Not too many of the squad were on two year deals. A lot were on two year deals from two seasons ago, making a lot of them out of contract.
    Not going into details on here, remember you can get a licence using a ground you propose to play in ala Athlone last year

Tommy Legend, Chuka, Finny, Paddy Purcell, Carthy, a raft of 21's players, spring to mind off the top of my head

Not going into details on here, remember you can get a licence using a ground you propose to play in ala Athlone last year

Tommy Legend, Chuka, Finny, Paddy Purcell, Carthy, a raft of 21's players, spring to mind off the top of my head
    Athlone were granted that licence because they had proof of a site purchased for development, and also proof that development was well on the way. We have nothing of the sort.

Carthy's deal is up. He was on a 2 year deal, signed two seasons ago. I don't think too many of the under 21's were signed on two year deals. That doesn't leave us with too many to pick from, and theres no manager to recruit. Somethings gotta happen fast.

Have to say I find it a bit strange that people are having a go at a poster that is clearly frustrated that we are refused a licence after everything else that has occured this season and last.
    Under the present ownership we are a complete joke of a club.
    The supporters have every reason to expect better than that.
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

Joe Soap. Lim till I Die. More prime examples of the "All talk-no action" tosh that has the club in its current predicament. You talk a good game, but obviously can't play it. Drew has probably got ye all wound up and excited with his 'plans'. Get real lads...there won't be a club there next season.

that really cute one out of that 60's show Bewitched would do nicely. Barbara Eden I think her name was...
    Decades before my time Joe

Carthy's deal is up. He was on a 2 year deal, signed two seasons ago. I don't think too many of the under 21's were signed on two year deals. That doesn't leave us with too many to pick from, and theres no manager to recruit. Somethings gotta happen fast.
    I stand corrected.

I think the main thrust of my point was that a licence isn't hard to come by in this league and we will get one on appeal if we want one

Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard View Post
    Joe Soap. Lim till I Die. More prime examples of the "All talk-no action" tosh that has the club in its current predicament. You talk a good game, but obviously can't play it. Drew has probably got ye all wound up and excited with his 'plans'. Get real lads...there won't be a club there next season.
    I'm sick of this "All talk- no action" phrase people are dishing out like it's meant to be some sort of slur

I've said it on the Galway forum and I'll say it here - What would you have me do?? Become a 20 goal a season striker?? Invest money I don't have??

Try harder Mr. Wizard

Decades before my time Joe

She was one cute genie/witch though

I seem to have upset someone.

I don't like using sarcasm but sometimes that is all a post deserves because it doesn't contribute to anything and is directed purely at stirring things. Poor Wizard, I apologise for offence but I thought a poster that has used this board to call someone "Walter Mitty, Billy Liar, Daft Dave", "a pillock", "a tool of the highest order", "a greedy, spiteful arsehole", "a snivelling little worm" etc etc could take a bit of slagging but it seems not.

I don't know who you are Wizard but you have been posting on here since NOC got the chop and have been pushing for him and denigrating everything else at the club. Apart from your first post you have been hyper-critical of DD without suggesting any alternative and yet at the same time slagging off others for being all talk. I don't get it.

I am not going to engage in talking about you but instead deal with the arguments you raise. You didn't refer in your post to DD leaving but I think it is clear from your posts that that is what you want. As for answers to your questions - do you really think DD is going to come on here or anywhere else and talk about who is buying or isn't buying the club? Did the West Ham board discuss their takeover with fans? Did the Chelsea board discuss Abramovich with fans beforehand? Does any club anywher ein teh world discuss with fans negotiations with potential investors? I think not - so why should LFC be any different? In fact if he did provide details to fans here it would remarkable business naiveity and lack of judgement.

As for the lease - you know where it is. We all know where it is. JY won't sign the bloody thing. Why won't he? In your view because he hates DD. You may be right but then why not sign it to the FAI? Maybe he hates them too. But I don't understand how DD can be criticised for not delivering the lease (as he promised) when JY won't sign it. I am the only one who thinks that JY should not be allowed hold the club to ransom to get rid of a guy he doesn't like? In that context - we need a ground next season - we can't rely on JY so what are our alternatives. I don't want to go back to the Jacks but there is no alternative.

So, after all that. Whats your point?
    Last edited by LFC in Exile; 04/12/2006 at 1:57 PM.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

If we can't get Harry...then Sabrina or that really cute one out of that 60's show Bewitched would do nicely. Barbara Eden I think her name was...

Jesus she's well past her prime at this stage, still that show gave me some awfully good times as a 13 year old , although now that I think about it she was probably in her late 50s when I was 13

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Jesus she's well past her prime at this stage, still that show gave me some awfully good times as a 13 year old , although now that I think about it she was probably in her late 50s when I was 13
    Apologies..Barbara Eden was in "I dream of Jeannie". The one out of Bewitched, Samantha, was an actress called Elizabeth Montgomery...equally hot for a 13 year old

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast