Everyone is welcome to this meeting even supporters of other SENIOR clubs (ye wont be asked to join the Lsc but an entry fee has to be charged)proof of membership of other clubs would be welcome. As the licence applicants will be public by this time i think it would be an oppertunity for the applicants to attend and just give their selling points. They can field questions should they choose but there's no pressure on that one. The main thing is to get some funds in to go with the funds we already have sitting in the bank for the last two years and to show whoever is coming in that a supporters club which is properly run and orginised is 100% behind them. We'll be doing a local media blitz and yes Noel Mooney is as a limerick man more then welcome but his position as an FAI employee might proove dificult as they are adjudicating on who gets the licence so maybe not a good idea for him to attend in his current capacity.
Yes the meeting is still going ahead and we hope that someone from Soccer Limerick will be there to have a chat and see the level of support the club may have. The Limerick post, Limerick Indapendent, Limerick Leader (advert) and Live 95 have all been notified of the meeting. (Should they open their e mails that is)
Phone calls from a few people here to the various local media might help them realise how important this meeting is.
And how important football is.
As someone from a working class background who did not grow up in Limerick, I have to admit to a complete lack of understanding of rugby and its appeal. I have tried hard on a number of occasions, at the request of various individuals, but I still don't get it.
Nevertheless, I don't think it's begrudgery to think that the air time given by Live95FM yesterday morning to the speculation on where Munster are going to play their next home game in the European Cup was OTT. I reckon -- after you take out ads, news and death notices -- it was about an hour of actual talk time. The purpose of this exercise seemed to be to pressurise the GAA into giving them the Gaelic Grounds to play their big matches until the redeveloped Thomond Park is finished.
Even though certain facts emerged during the programme, nothing could knock this huge empty wagon off its track. Facts like, the GAA not having been asked yet for the use of the Gaelic Grounds. Given this, I wouldn't be surprised if the GAA, in reaction to all this bullying, got all defensive and ruled out the idea.
Obviously this was the most important current affairs issue of the day in Limerick!
(Sorry for going on about this so much: I just had to get it off my chest!)
Some media phone numbers:
Limerick Leader Sports Desk: 214512
Limerick Post: 413322
Limerick Independent: 404900
Live95FM On Air: 461995
Live95FM Main Desk: 461900
RLO (if back on air?): 314959
INN: 01-6629563
(INN do syndicated radio news around the country, including on Live95FM after the news team go home for dinner)
My suggestion was not aimed at you, gael353.
It would make a bigger impression on them if they got phone calls from a number of different people. It would just prove to them that it's not a one-man-band.
Add to the list the on-air text number for Live95FM: 085-1719595
It's probably best to text them during their current affairs programme "Limerick Today", which goes out Mon-Fri 09:00-11:00, demanding better coverage of senior soccer and proper debate on the issues around Limerick FC losing its licence and the recent applications process for the new licence.
Sorry lads,but is this meeting open to all,is it a members meet or a.g.m.
"It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair
Tomorrow (Friday). Garda Club 7:30
Open to ALL
Membership Fees will be taken from anyone wishing to join
Only Members Will Be Allowed Vote
good to have our munster derby back, look forward to meeting with ye!
COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007
http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979
Lads, How can a person join the supporters club if they are not going to be at the meeting. I have business in Athlone over the weekend.
I will be supporting all your functions etc and will be attending matches as long as they don't clash with the Athlone ones seeing as I am living down here plus it will save me the drive up to Athlone when yourselves and the Town are playing :-)
If we're playing in the league this year im sure you could pick up a form from any sc commitee member at a game.