Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: A Meeting Now

Exclamation

Following on Fridays positive meeting, in which a small number as expected attended. A supporters club meeting will be called in the next 2/3weeks to elect a new committee, new fanzine committee, finance committee and a general information/discussion about the future? of our club. Membership will be taken at the door and non members will not be permitted to voice their opinions, in fact they just cant come in. Membership will be as follows. €20 adult membership, €10 student/OAP with card and a family of two adults and two or more named under 12s will be €25.
    Last edited by gael353; 01/01/2007 at 9:41 PM.

why not try and get pike rovers field surely they will help ye out again at least limerick will have a field

Quote Originally Posted by the only 1 View Post
    why not try and get pike rovers field surely they will help ye out again at least limerick will have a field

Sharing a ground or being facilitated by a junior club is not a good idea. Who benifets? rent? shop? bar? other sales (lotto) all go to the junior club while the senior club gets to use the pitch and thats it. You would be unable to pull down grants and would probably fail your licance before you've even applied. While certain clubs like pike have been very good to limerick, this would not be a way forward IMO

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    Sharing a ground or being facilitated by a junior club is not a good idea. Who benifets? rent? shop? bar? other sales (lotto) all go to the junior club while the senior club gets to use the pitch and thats it. You would be unable to pull down grants and would probably fail your licance before you've even applied. While certain clubs like pike have been very good to limerick, this would not be a way forward IMO
    Hear that the FAI have 3 groups interested in looking for a licence for Limerick, where are these people thinking of playing then?

Quote Originally Posted by greenandwhite View Post
    Hear that the FAI have 3 groups interested in looking for a licence for Limerick, where are these people thinking of playing then?
    The FAI (well John Delaney) have said that they expect to sort out the final details of arranging the lease on Hogan Park in the next few weeks and that any group, consortium etc. from Limerick who attain a license will use Hogan Park as their home with the FAI developing it into a regional sports centre.
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Quote Originally Posted by Kerry Blue View Post
    The FAI (well John Delaney) have said that they expect to sort out the final details of arranging the lease on Hogan Park in the next few weeks and that any group, consortium etc. from Limerick who attain a license will use Hogan Park as their home with the FAI developing it into a regional sports centre.
    its funny but the previous licence holders failed on the state of hogan park yet the FAI is saying that hogan park is aok to use for the new licence holder. I dont think hogan park will be available as the fai are no where near getting that lease and i can see "us" playing somewhere else next season if we are playing at all. Fingers crossed

Are any of these consortiums looking to meet with the supporters?

Quote Originally Posted by Needtoknow View Post
    Are any of these consortiums looking to meet with the supporters?
    Not that we know of (yet), but its important to let everyone know we havent gone away to die under a rock like so many people wished we would!

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    its funny but the previous licence holders failed on the state of hogan park yet the FAI is saying that hogan park is aok to use for the new licence holder. I dont think hogan park will be available as the fai are no where near getting that lease and i can see "us" playing somewhere else next season if we are playing at all. Fingers crossed
    There was more to it than the stadium.

I thought that too but according to John Delaney Limerick FC didn't fail to get a license because of the state of Hogan Park. He said this was a 'smoke screen' to cover over the financial reasons behind the club's failure in getting the license. He said this before Christmas so like yourself I can't see things been sorted out with the priest and the ground any time soon. And now that the FAI have said that the deadline for license applications from interested parties is January 15th, it's difficult to see any venue that would meet the necessary requirements for the license. Would Jackman Park meet them?
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Following on from last Friday's meeting we need to call a proper Supporter's Club meeting for next week or the week after lads to build on what we discussed there. If we could get a date/venue sorted for late next week or the week after we can put a notice in the Limerick Leader and next week's Limerick Post to try and get as many out as possible

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    There was more to it than the stadium.

Well having read the actual documents into why limerick failed i can promise you that it was hogan park and hogan park alone, which is the reason stated as why Limerick failed. Now of course we know differant but for JD to come out and say its because of DD, would not be very clever.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Following on from last Friday's meeting we need to call a proper Supporter's Club meeting for next week or the week after lads to build on what we discussed there. If we could get a date/venue sorted for late next week or the week after we can put a notice in the Limerick Leader and next week's Limerick Post to try and get as many out as possible
    We should get it announced on Live95 & West Limerick radio as well.
    Last edited by Needtoknow; 04/01/2007 at 7:14 AM.

Exclamation

On advice/general chat with a fellow blues brother I’ve revised the membership for season 2007. Because the “family” membership can be perceived as being too broad, three newish sections will instead come into place. Adult member €20, Student/OAP/Teens €10, under 12/Kids €5. During the season it is hoped to run buses to most away matches. As a member you will be entitled (on a first come basis) to a seat to any away game for €10 return. Other deals will come into play once a club is formed, discounts etc.
    A supporters club is all about enjoyment of sport, but also to raise funds for that sport/team. From bringing one more person to a game/meeting/event etc, selling lotto tickets and putting up match and other activity posters in their own areas of work/habitation where possible and most importantly helping out on match day in some form or capacity. I hope to have a venue confirmed for the Supporters club meeting by this weekend. I’m looking at Friday the 19th of January with a kick off at 7:30.
    Let’s hope this is the first of many Limerick “FC, UTD, AFC, City events this year.

Fair play to all for getting this organised. A Friday night is a good idea so that exiles can also attend more easily.

Can I ask a potentially awkward question - not being smart. Are we talking about a SC for whatever senior club emerges for the forthcoming season? Since we don't have an actual club in the league right now what would the SC support? I don't mean this to be a reason not to meet etc but a clarification that if "DD's club" is not in the league and say, for example, Soccer Limerick's is that the SC will support whatever senior team emerges to represent the city next season.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    Fair play to all for getting this organised. A Friday night is a good idea so that exiles can also attend more easily.

Can I ask a potentially awkward question - not being smart. Are we talking about a SC for whatever senior club emerges for the forthcoming season? Since we don't have an actual club in the league right now what would the SC support? I don't mean this to be a reason not to meet etc but a clarification that if "DD's club" is not in the league and say, for example, Soccer Limerick's is that the SC will support whatever senior team emerges to represent the city next season.
    From what went on at the last informal meeting I took it as we would support the Limerick team in the Eircom League, whether LFC fall under Soccer Limerick's umbrella next year or not. We can bring it up at this meeting any road, although I think the hot topic of the night will be whether or not the SC will work independent of LFC or not. I'm in favour of Gael's idea that we work with the club this time around, giving the lion's share of our money to the club at the end of the year, but all this is for the night anyway.

Gael if you don't get the venue sorted than let me know and I can ask around for another venue

Friday the 19th of Jan in the Garda Club Sexton Street. Kick off 7:30. All welcome, membership fees apply at door.

E20 notes at the door? thought the icon was bad count me in!

Fair play to ye for making the effort lads. Hopefully your effort will come to fruition.

Friday the 19th of Jan in the Garda Club Sexton Street. Kick off 7:30. All welcome, membership fees apply at door.
    Just wondering, are ye inviting anyone to attend this? Noel Mooney would definitely be a great invite for ye. How are ye advertising the meeting? Is a just a posteer campaign or is it through the papers and radio aswell.

12 days to go now !!

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast