Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: LFC Gone?

LFC Gone?

A DAY of chaos at FAI headquarters ended with a double plea by leading club officials: "Don't let senior soccer in Limerick die."

Amid all the furore over a Dundalk fan's dramatic protest at Merrion Square, the news that Limerick had been given the red card went almost unnoticed.

taken from the irish independent website

http://www.unison.ie/irish_independe...issue_id=14998
    Last edited by dahamsta; 15/12/2006 at 6:13 PM. Reason: Don't quote full articles!!!

"Drew admitted that Limerick owed €3,800 in unpaid fines, that managerial accounts had not been sent in on time, that their youth development programme was "not up to scratch" and that they had no physio signed for next year."
    -The reality of how our club has been run has in the end robbed us of our club.
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

It's a Sad day for Limerick Football. Mismanagement and Ego Driven fools have killed our club.

If we cant even get our appeal in order what is the point in goning on ?
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

surely it would be no problem raising such a minute amount of cash, and there must be one physio willing to offer there services for free somewhere in limerick if just for a short time till a full time one can be found? dont know about the rest?

noel mooney has got a new job and john delaney said he was an ex player,when did he hang up the glooves?

when he signed for Limerick!!

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    surely it would be no problem raising such a minute amount of cash, and there must be one physio willing to offer there services for free somewhere in limerick if just for a short time till a full time one can be found? dont know about the rest?
    I hear you - but if it was just that it would be handy. The problems are much more fundamental that that.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Can we as supporters organise a time and venue to meet, invite Drew, and see whats what?

Waste of time. He has shown nothing but contempt towards supporters in the past, and that certainly won't change now.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Waste of time. He has shown nothing but contempt towards supporters in the past, and that certainly won't change now.
    Grand, forget about him altogether. go ahead with the meeting, invite politicans, LDMC and any interested parties at all and get our club back

lads

get together NOW and as terry said start doing something.3,800 isnt that much,get on the local radio,newspapers etc and get publicity for yer cause,seriously lads.and as said already if drew wont listen then maybe he might if there was a big meeting.
    btw,i think ye will find that galway is the 3rd biggest city in the country now,has been population wise for last 2 census .and size wise too.

634 Posts

Crazy

I can never undertsand the Limerick situation, baring in mind that I'm not privy to all the comings and goings.
    Its mad! They have the most competitive Junior League in the country, in the 3rd biggest city in the country, yet the team has never (while I've been somewhat interested in the league) been competitive, save for a decent run in the League cup a few eyars ago.
    Would I be right in thinking the two major issues are
    1) the ground
    2) investment.

Surely there is something the supporters can do about both issues? Obviously the Munster Rugby will take away much needed support, but surely it would be handy enough to get a supporters trust of say, 1000 people, giving €10 a week each. Mightn't seem like much but surely €10,000 a week would be better than nothing?

And as for a ground there are a few available for rent surely.
    A curious outsider!
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Whatever about this proposed meeting in January and the petition etc, all of which I support, surely to God at this stage it's vital that Drew has nothing to do with our future, should we have one.

48 Posts
    I can't see Limerick getting reinstated through the courts. They signed a contract with the League(/FAI) and as Drew openly admits, failed to fulfill their side of the deal. They didn't get their house in order and missed out on the appeal. It is sad to see them go. It is obviously down to mismaganement, one man should never be allowed to have total control over a club.

Unfortunately this is the evolution of the eircom League. The clubs are those that are being (mis)managed by one or two stupid people, they are the ones that will hit the wall. More than likely Limerick. Shelbourne are on a steady slope. It's a pitty you fell due to one idiots ego-driven regime.

What a disaster. I never thought at the start of the season that both Dublin City and Limerick would no longer be in the eircom League by the end of the year. There is no doubt that a fresh start must be made in terms of club ownership whether or not it involves DD. Right now it seems obvious that we would be better without him but I don't know what the logistics would be to remove him as owner. It's clear that the club must be saved one way or another as I feel that if it isn't at this stage then it could be a long time before Limerick will have a senior football team again.
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

you`re wrong there eamo1,
    limericks population is 94000,(52000 in antiquated city limits)
    galways population is 67000 all told - the above been the reason for the
    myth,
    anyway very sad day for limerick fc,cant see a way back
    best of luck to galway for the new season......

The main problem with Limerick senior football is basically mismanagement. The club doesn’t have and has never had any structure. The football club should not be run by one or two people. It’s been like this since Pat Grace, through Joe Young and Michael O’Sullivan, now Drew. What kind of football club doesn’t have a board? Doesn’t have any links to its local football community? Doesn’t have any links to its fans? Has no democratic structure where officers are elected to their positions? Has no democratic structure where issues are put to the floor, discussed and sound decisions made on the back of this? The club is a joke and we do not deserve a license.

For the club to move forward the following HAS to happen:

• A board has to be set up. Links to the various grassroot leagues have to be established. We have 2 junior (LDMC & Desmond) and 3 schoolboy (LDSL, Desmond and Limerick County) leagues in the county. The chairman, or one elected member, of each of these leagues should each have a place on the board. That’s 5 places. The Supporters Club chairman should also sit on the board. As should the Limerick FC chairman, secretary and any other senior Limerick FC officer, in addition to any investors/shareholders in the club. You could also have someone from City Hall on the board. You could also have people from Ladies football and schools/colleges football on the board. The chairman would of course have the casting vote/final say on anything.
    • Creating a board like this will forge links to all football in Limerick and most importantly it will be football people, as well as business people, who will have a say in the clubs running. Currently we have no links to anyone, which is why we have no fans, poor gates and no presence within the Limerick sporting public/media/community in general. This HAS to change. Enough is enough.
    • If a structure like this were to be put in place and adhered to, a club charter/treaty/constitution would have to be drawn up. This charter would have to outline the rules of the club, how officers are elected, what power the board has, what votes people have, disciplinary action etc. Any well run club has this and it copper-fastens what people can and cannot do. And it prevents any one individual in the club, whether they ‘own’ it or not, making willy-nilly decisions by themselves. EVERY issue should be discussed by the board.
    • The club would have to appoint qualified people to important positions. For example the clubs public relations is a joke. It’s a media circus. Look at the website….never updated. Another example is marketing. The sponsorship around the ground is pathetic. The programme is poor. Limerick FC is not in the public domain.

That’s basically what needs to be done for the club to get its act together both internally and in the wider community in Limerick. Unless this happens, we’re ****ing against the wind. Drew has to realise this, maybe he will now that we’re in dire straits. It’s a sad state of affairs but if Limerick are to survive action has to start now, as the ball is already rolling on the new league…

The gesture by Kilkenny City while generous on one level might not work unless some form of transport to and from Kilkenny was organised by the club to get supporters to the "home" games hosted there. It's do-able but will require a lot of organisation. It may prove a stop gap measure until a suitable venue can be found in Limerick itself.

Sick to the teeth of this ****!

I took this from the petition just to show the type os ****e that exists.

"No not in its present form, the FAI were right not to grant a licence. Among other farcical practices, Limerick FC use a trailer and garden seats as the directors box. Also on several occasions this season away fans have been attacked by locals without any corrective action from Limerick FC. Of course the FAI were not going to grant a licence to such an amateur badly run club."

When as you say people were attacked they were attacked by locals not limerick fc fans ie its an external matter and is as such a prob of local government and local police force. Limerick Fc did make ovitures to the local bodies concerning this but what the **** else did you expect them to do? invent their own private police force and court system. Its a football club for **** sake! That trailer was used as a press box not a directors box and with the positive press coverage we've always recieved id say that it was too good for them.

Nearly everyone here on this fourm are slating DD,while i must admit he is a bit of a headcase and his decisions this season were sometimes baffling to say the least,i do feel a bit sorry for him,at the end of the day he pumped his own money(over 200k im told) into the club when no one wanted to know about the club,at the end of the day he put his money where his mouth was,what we are looking now is another DD with a bag of cash to waste,i don"T think we will have any luck.
    Fail to prepare,prepare to fail--R.keane.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast