Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Indo story on new league

I admit it is tough on Dundalk mcgonigle, but the noises from Oriel were that, privately, they knew all season that they were not in a good situation vis-a-vis the criteria.

Quote Originally Posted by JW. View Post
    I admit it is tough on Dundalk mcgonigle, but the noises from Oriel were that, privately, they knew all season that they were not in a good situation vis-a-vis the criteria.

This season had begun before the criteria were decided upon, and clubs were in the dark half way through the season about the criteria for inclusion in the Premier Division

I seem to remember a few managers getting fined for criticising the FAI/league for the lack of clarity over the new league

Clubs didnt know all season long what the criteria was. Thats the biggest reason why this whole thing was a farce.

I can't say I read the paper every day. If newspaper readers have no problem with opinion being presented as news, there is no future for journalism as we know it.
    If readers can't distinguish between the two, they shouldn't be reading them at all.

So what do you propose for those with less intellectual ability Dodge?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    If readers can't distinguish between the two, they shouldn't be reading them at all.
    I actually think the article is reasonable enough. It seems to me to highlight the lack of transparency rather than Dundalk should be promoted, but does have a few digs that are clearly backing Dundalk's case.

Opinion is fine if the readers know the potential bias - I doubt the wider public, including those that didn't frequent the old eL mb, know that he is/was a big Dundalk fan.

Even if the on field criteria had gone back an extra year Dundalk wouldn't have made it. They won the cup and they got relegated in the missing year. That wouldn't have made up 54 points on Galway.

123 Posts
    So what do you propose for those with less intellectual ability Dodge?
    Read foot.ie posts

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    I doubt the wider public, including those that didn't frequent the old eL mb, know that he is/was a big Dundalk fan.
    This is one of my gripes Macy.
    What's the story with Longford, by the way? Will you have a player next season?

Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    Read foot.ie posts
    Touché

What's the story with Longford, by the way? Will you have a player next season?
    Yellow packs from Poland seems to be the plan. We appear to be finally getting realism in the playing budget, well actually started last season too but more out of contract now. Good news for the club but were it'll leave us on the pitch we'll have to wait and see. My hope is for the supporters expectations to match the realism of the budget.

Yes I'm sure you will have a wonderful tale of marketability, financial stability and off the field triumph, but they'll still say "but you came third"
    do you really believe that!

denmark won euro 92 having only got there after yugoslavia were thrown out... when the champions league started people said that it wasn't the same if you won it and weren't champions of your own league the previous year.... the world moves on

the dust will settle the hoop-a-la will die down and when next season rolls around people will not really worry how GUFC got to premier division and similarly people (excluding yourselves) won't really care that dundalk and waterford are in 1st division. life will go on and other than those teams directly affected (GUFC, DFC, WUFC) no-one will give a toss - despite all the talk you will find that no-one other than yourselves will support any stand that ye may take esp. not UCD or BWFC!!!

It always amazes me how Longford have done so well given their hugely limited potential. I sincerely hope things don't go badly wrong next season.

wait till jabus gets onto this thread, he'll only destroy you again and again and again..

81 Posts
    Very poor piece by McDonnell - following up his nonsense about John Courtenay last week - I had high hopes for this young man but he's lost in bitterness and college newspaper amateurism. Mind you, he's only as deluded and bitter as his club's idiot manager.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Typical eL clubs & supporters!

To all the people who think this is a farce - why were you not complaining when the whole process was initiated??? Surely it makes sense to complain before you enter a process instead of when you don't like the result.

There was no promotion/relegation playoff!!!
    All clubs voted in favour of this!

I agree that the FAI should announce the final scores broken down into categories otherwise will just see bits & pieces leaked by clubs to suit their own purposes.

I presume the bigger Premier division clubs didn't make a massive effort on the off the field presentations because they knew would be in the new League almost solely based on the on the field criteria so Dundalk bettering some off the field means nothing as decision based on overall aggregatre score from 1000 points!

1,554 Posts
    I was complaining from the start Pete, and demanding transparency as well, as were several other people too.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    To all the people who think this is a farce - why were you not complaining when the whole process was initiated??? Surely it makes sense to complain before you enter a process instead of when you don't like the result.
    WTF!?!?! Are you new here?

Dundalk never had a chance so nobody's surprised they didn't make it. Doesn't mean we can't say they don't deserve to be there.

Waterford/Galway was the only minor schock, and even then not to many
    Last edited by Dodge; 12/12/2006 at 11:30 AM.

the article was poor

in my opinion too.he makes valid points about transparency but i was also expecting a feature or something on galway utd and the hard work the board put in over the last 3 years.but thats good because now people wont know just how good niall and nick are and wont try take them from us. .but it looks like from the coverage that utd just fluked their way in,theres just no mention of all the hard work done leadng up to yesterdays date and thats what hurts.the hard work got them in,not any fluke.
    and utd got screwed a few seasons ago ina playoff final and i thought that could have cost us our place.if we got up we would have probably come straight back down but we would have had more on the field points.as it turned out we finished ahead of dundalk both on and off the pitch and thats fair-because dundalk only finished ahead of us once over the past 4 seasons,so thats part of the transparency of why we got in ahead of dundalk.
    yesterday was utds day in the sun but its clouded over by moaners and sore losers.

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die View Post
    Dundalk won the promotion/relegation playoff but arent promoted. It is a farce.
    They knew the play-off could turn out to be meaningless before they even played it.

All clubs knew what was going on a long time ago.

It is therefore not a farce. The only farcical behaviour is to be told a situation (a new league chosen largely on off-the-pitch merit), and then bury your head in the sand and complain when that situation doesn't work in your favour - preferring to instead claim that a different situation (the play-off result) should apply, when you knew all along it was unlikely to have any impact.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    Unless there is proper transparency and all results are released by the FAI this whole thing is a joke. It's bad enough to assess all the criteria mostly on the basis of a feckin one hour presentation, but to then do it without transparency makes it far, far worse. Naturally in that circumstance there'll be suspicions of a lack of fair play, let us say.
    Firstly the points that each club received have been issued publicly. Secondly the presentation only made up 10% or less.
    No it was based on 4 years (cheers Kildare), if it was 5 years Dundalk would prob be in the premier now.
    Have you seen how many points you were behind Galway?

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast