Thread: Galway make it!

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Why don't yee switch yere games to a Saturday so?Why?Cause we couldn't be arsed travelling on a Friday.
    For one thing tolka is not our ground but hopefully in Tallaght it will be saturday.

Mypost get it through your head. Friday night is football night in Galway. End of. Mypost is also the only Rovers "fan" that complained about Terryland last season. Says it all.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    For one thing tolka is not our ground but hopefully in Tallaght it will be saturday.

Mypost get it through your head. Friday night is football night in Galway. End of. Mypost is also the only Rovers "fan" that complained about Terryland last season. Says it all.

True Nyhoop.

I was surpsied alright when he thought the stewarding and crowd control in Terryland was inadaquete.
    As you say Friday night=GUFC in Galway.That won't be changing to accomodate away fans.
    It's quite simple really Mypost.At most ye'll be outisde Dublin(does Drogheda and Bray really count as long away trips??) 6 times on a Friday.Probably not even.Surely when the fixtures are announced,you could arrange a day off wok to travel?
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Surely when the fixtures are announced,you could arrange a day off wok to travel?
    does he work in a chinese resturant?

ye are complaining about having to go to galway on a friday night but how many times will we have to travel away on fridays. the only 2 teams that play on saturdays, would actually be our easiest trips on a friday night. we'll have to travel to dublin nearly every second friday
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    I was surpsied alright when he thought the stewarding and crowd control in Terryland was inadaquete.
    The crowd control was poor, at least up in our corner on both occasions, unless you consider fans being removed from grounds, and sporadic pushing and shoving/stand-offs between fans and stewards at the makeshift barrier segregating fans, as adequate crowd control. However, it's not Galway United's fault, that the local cops have no idea how to control sets of football crowds in a professional manner.

Quote Originally Posted by conorh
    Why don't yee switch yere games to a Saturday so?
    Something to do with having to rent a ground from a rival club, restricts our options considerably in that area. Would prefer Saturday, as we would get more away fans in, and make more money, but there's not much we can do about it atm.

Friday night=GUFC in Galway.That won't be changing to accomodate away fans.
    Fair enough, prepare to lose up to 25% of gate receipts then from the rest of the league. We have a huge fan base, but we didn't take up our full allocation on our last visit. No prizes for guessing why. So it will be no surprise that our biggest long-haul travelling support will be at Longford and Sligo next season, and not Galway.
    Last edited by mypost; 14/12/2006 at 7:20 PM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Mypost your talking through you hoop!!!! No pun intended. If we were to change to Sat night we would lose a substantial number of our own supporters so to change it just because we "might" get more away support would be commercial suicide. Also remember not all clubs travels in the numbers that rovers do. As for crowd control the only comments from rovers lads after was that it was the best they'd seen and the garda in charge was actually personally thanked by some of yours fans after the game.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean
    If we were to change to Sat night we would lose a substantial number of our own supporters so to change it just because we "might" get more away support would be commercial suicide. Also remember not all clubs travels in the numbers that rovers do.
    Playing on Saturdays, without competition from rugby, and which caters for bigger attendances, is sound commercial sense. All clubs' fans in next year's league, bar UCD and Bray, will travel to Galway in large numbers if possible. You're not playing clubs next year whose away support is nil, and the quality of the opposition should be enough to keep the locals turning up every week, regardless of when it's played.

As for crowd control the only comments from rovers lads after was that it was the best they'd seen.
    I was at both games, saw all incidents, and overheard our fans comments at their treatment from the stewards there. If you were in or around our corner, you will know what went on. If not, you won't.

Ten Years Not Out

just wondering why some of your fans were contacting your club asking them to contact the guard that was stationed in front of ye and congratulate him on a good night work. you are the only person that seems to be complaining about it

IMO there is no competition between football and rugby in Galway. Each sport has its own type of supporter, most United fans wouldn't be seen dead at a Connacht rugby game and vice versa.
    the begining of the rugby season overlaps the end of the football season. This year connacht for some reason connacht 1st 9 games were played at home so they clashed with us a lot without affecting our attendances.
    Galway United have worked hard to promote friday night football and it works better than Saturday. Fridays are harder on travelling fans but it's a lot harder on us to travel to Dublin every 3-4 weeks on fridays, and you dont hear us moaning about it.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    it's a lot harder on us to travel to Dublin every 3-4 weeks on fridays, and you dont hear us moaning about it.
    Here Here Saigon mind you there's no talking to this guy
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GUISAUltra
    just wondering why some of your fans were contacting your club asking them to contact the guard that was stationed in front of ye and congratulate him on a good night work.
    So am I. Because they should have done a better job on both of our trips.

Quote Originally Posted by guisasaigon
    Fridays are harder on travelling fans but it's a lot harder on us to travel to Dublin every 3-4 weeks on fridays, and you dont hear us moaning about it.
    Well you should moan about it. Like on other weeknights, Friday football should be done away with, as it restricts attendances throughout the country. Come next July, we'll have the usual stooges on here whinging about poor attendances. Instead of blaming everyone else, they should look closer to home for the reason why.
    Last edited by mypost; 17/12/2006 at 1:51 AM.

Ten Years Not Out

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon
    Just because your drug dealer got kicked out

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    sorry about that, left my compuer logged on to foot.ie last night while drinking here with a few people someone else posted that rubbish

always blaming others,eh saigon, if thats your real name!
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

Quote Originally Posted by GalwayFrancis View Post
    always blaming others,eh saigon, if thats your real name!
    it was probably you GalwayFrancis, if thats your real name

Quote Originally Posted by GUISAUltra View Post
    just wondering why some of your fans were contacting your club asking them to contact the guard that was stationed in front of ye and congratulate him on a good night work. you are the only person that seems to be complaining about it
    As per usual. Ignore. Complain is all he can do.

See you in foxes on a friday next season.

it was probably you GalwayFrancis, if thats your real name
    come on saigon, we all know that galwayfrancis fell asleep after around 10 seconds in the last place we were in

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    As per usual. Ignore. Complain is all he can do.

See you in foxes on a friday next season.

We'll see ya there NY HOOP

Quote Originally Posted by GUISAUltra View Post
    come on saigon, we all know that galwayfrancis fell asleep after around 10 seconds in the last place we were in
    Oh yeah, that narrows it down. You were wide awake though!.............Hmmm!!!!!!!

well it wasn't me and there was only me you and trainee awake so i think ya have your answer there