Longford Town
St Patrick's Athletic
Shamrock Rovers
Shelbourne
Sligo Rovers
UCD
See yee next year!!!!!!!!
Can't ****an wait!!
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
Congratulations on coming up with us.![]()
Now, continue your progress off the field by playing your home games next season on Saturday nights, to allow bigger away support, please.
NL 1st Division Champions 2006
NL Premier Division Champions 2010
NL Premier Division Champions 2011
Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi
Ten Years Not Out
Well done Galway....gutted tho as no more drunken nites in Fibbers/Foxes for me!
Some off the park figures posted on our forum. Not sure if these are correct
Galway 389 points
Dundalk scored 348
Drogheda 300
Waterford 295
Shels 278
Thats all that were posted not sure what anyone else got
Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
Bart: Let me come with you
Homer: Dont you have school!
Bart: Dont you have work!
Homer: Ah Touche!
Hey Mypost going by the craic we all had down here it shouldnt be too hard to take the Friday as hols and make a full weekend out of it!
"Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett
Thats a pity u stupid **** but the thing is we have our own playing pitch and stadium to play inOriginally Posted by KOH
eek:
Last edited by GalwayFrancis; 13/12/2006 at 12:10 PM.
Fair play to ye, looking forward already to the local derbies with Rovers again!
The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
Muhammad Ali
Roy Keane is still a pri*k!
Friday is a working day, and is therefore as hard to travel to as games played on any other working day during the week. Impossible too for kids to travel for Friday night games. You complained earlier in the year, that we didn't take many to Galway in October. When was it on? A Friday night.Originally Posted by Tir Oilean
Our game in Athlone the previous week, was on Saturday, and consequently we brought 3 times the amount that went to Galway.
You won't have problems maximising revenue, and generating atmosphere next season, when Cork, Derry, Pats, Sligo, and we head west. Unless they're on Friday night.As it's an FAI-controlled league, logic suggests that they alone will set the days and times of all games, and not leave it up to the clubs themselves, which is the right thing to do.
Last edited by mypost; 13/12/2006 at 12:12 AM.
Ten Years Not Out
Well, for us, if we move to saturday we drop our home attendance by a substantial amount that it wouldnt matter how many away supporters there is. For us to maximise our attendance the games will have to stay on friday nights, as everyone in both the city and county knows that is terryland night.
P.S. Sligo will be heading South![]()
Last edited by GalwayFrancis; 13/12/2006 at 12:13 PM.
this issue was discussed by the club and supporters trust on many occasions last year with the supporters being in favour of friday nights being the norm at terryland. the two biggest attendances in the first division last season were friday night matches at terryland with both away teams fans having travelled a long way and bringing a good support with them. with the number of dublin based teams in the new league next season there will surely be friday night football in dublin most weekends so the glaway travelling support will have to make as many sacrifices and chioces when it comes to travelling away next season. each away team and any fans wishing to travel to galway will only have to come to galway twice (unless a cup tie adds to that) wereas the galway unoted fans will have many more journays than that on friday evenings i would imagine. this is not me complaining as we are now in the premier league (or whatever they decide to call it) and there will be no more limerick or athlone trips. in dreamland, do you think anyone would care what day of the week we were ever to play a european away tie?
We will almost definitely be playing on Friday nights. Connacht rugby's attempts to muscle in on our night will not work.
I would advise any fans thinking about travelling to Galway next season to look at the fixture list when it comes out and try to arrange friday off work and come down to Galway for the weekend.
The city is always buzzing in the summer and the nightlife is as good as you'll get anywhere. For family people theres Connemara and the cliffs of moher to visit.I'm begining to sound like bord failte so ill shut up now, but Friday night neednt keep you away.
Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008
Right, where to start?
South-WestOriginally Posted by Terry
Originally Posted by nyhoop
Doesn't make it right.Originally Posted by scotsbeer
Why should fans have to waste their holiday allowance to travel to Friday night games? Kids can't get time off school either to travel. I'm hoping we only have to travel to Cork, Derry, and Galway once next year. It won't happen with them all, but with the 3-round series, we are not automatically forced to travel to every ground twice.
No other country in Europe, plays games on Thursday and Friday nights, because it's a sh!te time to play, where the fan is inconvenienced. The English gave up playing on Friday nights in the mid-80's*. If your fans can't be bothered to watch yous play at home to Cork, Derry, Shels, and us every forthnight next season, you have a problem. It's a considerable step up from playing at home to Cobh, Kilkenny, and Monaghan.
*= Top Division.
Ten Years Not Out
Why don't yee switch yere games to a Saturday so?Why?Cause we couldn't be arsed travelling on a Friday.![]()
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am