Sligo Rovers
    UCD

See yee next year!!!!!!!!
    Can't ****an wait!!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

176 Posts
    Congratulations on coming up with us.

Now, continue your progress off the field by playing your home games next season on Saturday nights, to allow bigger away support, please.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Well done Galway....gutted tho as no more drunken nites in Fibbers/Foxes for me!

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Now, continue your progress off the field by playing your home games next season on Saturday nights, to allow bigger away support, please.
    I think they care about their own support more.

82 Posts
    Some off the park figures posted on our forum. Not sure if these are correct

Galway 389 points

Dundalk scored 348

Drogheda 300

Waterford 295

Shels 278

Thats all that were posted not sure what anyone else got

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Congratulations on coming up with us.

thanks for the congrats.

the issue of what day we'll be playing on next season is to be discussed today at a board meeting but i really cant see us changing to saturdays, it is too hard to create an atmosphere in terryland on a saturday evening.
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Hey Mypost going by the craic we all had down here it shouldnt be too hard to take the Friday as hols and make a full weekend out of it!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post

Galway 389 points
    Does anybody know if GUFC will be releasing the breakdown of where they got this total from, so we can see where we still need to improve, or do they even know the breakdown themselves?

Quote Originally Posted by GUISAUltra View Post
    thanks for the congrats.

the issue of what day we'll be playing on next season is to be discussed today at a board meeting but i really cant see us changing to saturdays, it is too hard to create an atmosphere in terryland on a saturday evening.
    Dont see how. But anyway friday night seems to be the night in Terryland so stick with it. At least there'll be no stupid thursday night footbal in the top league. But best of all no more trips to absolute pits like limerick, dundalk and monaghan

Quote Originally Posted by KOH
    At least there'll be no stupid thursday night footbal in the top league. But best of all no more trips to absolute pits like limerick, dundalk and monaghan

Thats a pity u stupid **** but the thing is we have our own playing pitch and stadium to play in eek:
    Last edited by GalwayFrancis; 13/12/2006 at 12:10 PM.

Fair play to ye, looking forward already to the local derbies with Rovers again!
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean
    Hey Mypost going by the craic we all had down here it shouldnt be too hard to take the Friday as hols and make a full weekend out of it!
    Friday is a working day, and is therefore as hard to travel to as games played on any other working day during the week. Impossible too for kids to travel for Friday night games. You complained earlier in the year, that we didn't take many to Galway in October. When was it on? A Friday night. Our game in Athlone the previous week, was on Saturday, and consequently we brought 3 times the amount that went to Galway.

You won't have problems maximising revenue, and generating atmosphere next season, when Cork, Derry, Pats, Sligo, and we head west. Unless they're on Friday night. As it's an FAI-controlled league, logic suggests that they alone will set the days and times of all games, and not leave it up to the clubs themselves, which is the right thing to do.
    Last edited by mypost; 13/12/2006 at 12:12 AM.

Ten Years Not Out

Well, for us, if we move to saturday we drop our home attendance by a substantial amount that it wouldnt matter how many away supporters there is. For us to maximise our attendance the games will have to stay on friday nights, as everyone in both the city and county knows that is terryland night.

P.S. Sligo will be heading South

Quote Originally Posted by KOH
    At least there'll be no stupid thursday night footbal in the top league. But best of all no more trips to absolute pits like limerick, dundalk and monaghan

Quote Originally Posted by UP THE TOWN View Post
    Thats a pity u stupid **** but the thing is we have our own playing pitch and stadium to play in eek:
    Stupid would be not reading the FAI proposals and then whinging when you dont make it. Enjoy the first division and here's hoping that you stay there indefinitely.

Mypost what would you know about working?

Last edited by GalwayFrancis; 13/12/2006 at 12:13 PM.

friday night footy

this issue was discussed by the club and supporters trust on many occasions last year with the supporters being in favour of friday nights being the norm at terryland. the two biggest attendances in the first division last season were friday night matches at terryland with both away teams fans having travelled a long way and bringing a good support with them. with the number of dublin based teams in the new league next season there will surely be friday night football in dublin most weekends so the glaway travelling support will have to make as many sacrifices and chioces when it comes to travelling away next season. each away team and any fans wishing to travel to galway will only have to come to galway twice (unless a cup tie adds to that) wereas the galway unoted fans will have many more journays than that on friday evenings i would imagine. this is not me complaining as we are now in the premier league (or whatever they decide to call it) and there will be no more limerick or athlone trips. in dreamland, do you think anyone would care what day of the week we were ever to play a european away tie?

Quote Originally Posted by scotsbeer View Post
    do you think anyone would care what day of the week we were ever to play a european away tie?

Yip, Europe here we come. Have to make a journey to Derry this year !! Only kidding city fans by the way !

We will almost definitely be playing on Friday nights. Connacht rugby's attempts to muscle in on our night will not work.
    I would advise any fans thinking about travelling to Galway next season to look at the fixture list when it comes out and try to arrange friday off work and come down to Galway for the weekend.
    The city is always buzzing in the summer and the nightlife is as good as you'll get anywhere. For family people theres Connemara and the cliffs of moher to visit.I'm begining to sound like bord failte so ill shut up now, but Friday night neednt keep you away.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

176 Posts
    Right, where to start?

Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    P.S. Sligo will be heading South...
    South-West

Quote Originally Posted by nyhoop
    Mypost what would you know about working?

Quote Originally Posted by scotsbeer
    with the number of dublin based teams in the new league next season there will surely be friday night football in dublin most weekends so the glaway travelling support will have to make as many sacrifices and chioces when it comes to travelling away next season
    Doesn't make it right.

Why should fans have to waste their holiday allowance to travel to Friday night games? Kids can't get time off school either to travel. I'm hoping we only have to travel to Cork, Derry, and Galway once next year. It won't happen with them all, but with the 3-round series, we are not automatically forced to travel to every ground twice.

No other country in Europe, plays games on Thursday and Friday nights, because it's a sh!te time to play, where the fan is inconvenienced. The English gave up playing on Friday nights in the mid-80's*. If your fans can't be bothered to watch yous play at home to Cork, Derry, Shels, and us every forthnight next season, you have a problem. It's a considerable step up from playing at home to Cobh, Kilkenny, and Monaghan.

*= Top Division.

Ten Years Not Out

Why don't yee switch yere games to a Saturday so?Why?Cause we couldn't be arsed travelling on a Friday.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am