Thread: What we have to do now

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

What we have to do now

Now that we have been officially confirmed as Premier League next season we have to make more strides off the field, mainly and perhaps only in our attendences. Hopefully the creation of a Club Promotion Officer will help this, and one would have to assume that our crowds will be his/her main issue to be dealt with. Also does anyone know if it will be someone from inside the club at the mo or someone brought in from the outside?

3,489 Posts
    Anyone could apply. A panel of three - two from UCD, one from the FAI - will decide on the successful candidate.

The FAI person is there to ensure we don't make a mess of the appointment.

Congrats on staying (and rightly so) in the new Premiership. Looking forward to doing battle again next season.

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    Congrats on staying (and rightly so) in the new Premiership. Looking forward to doing battle again next season.
    Well done to Bray too. Next step for us is to get revenge on your U21s.

812 Posts
    Anyone could apply. A panel of three - two from UCD, one from the FAI - will decide on the successful candidate.

The FAI person is there to ensure we don't make a mess of the appointment.
    What, like forgetting to appoint one, so we have to scramble for someone to fill in and wind up appointing someone 45 minutes late?
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Now that we have been officially confirmed as Premier League next season we have to make more strides off the field, mainly and perhaps only in our attendences. Hopefully the creation of a Club Promotion Officer will help this
    I see some people are still living in dreamland with regard to our attendances. Club Promotion Officer Smlub Smlomotion Smlofficer is all I have to say.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

82 Posts
    Congrats on staying up UCD totally deserved. Bad enough us not getting up but if you had of been religated it would have made a joke out of the whole league

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Colie View Post
    I see some people are still living in dreamland with regard to our attendances. Club Promotion Officer Smlub Smlomotion Smlofficer is all I have to say.
    I don't see why it isn't possible to increase our attendences. We have a large population base to attract supporters from and even though rugby is the main sport in our area with good marketing etc we can definitely increase our crowds.

Dmand

Now that the rugby shower will know where our new ground is maybe some of them might tag along for one or two games
    Any word on when this club promotion officer position will be advertised? Are any supporters club members interested in applying?

I seriously don't think you will be able to get more people coming to your games, football especially E.L. is all about tradition and following a team cause your father followed them or some kind of link, you can't put that into people. I know so many lads who say they support Pats or Rovers and they haven't been to a game in years. All you can get is moe student involved maybe get some cheer leaders that might get some more lads to the games

634 Posts
    I cannot fathom why UCD aren't better supported. Obviously your big draw would be the students, and during the summer a lot of the culchies are back home ploughing and whatnot, but surely during the academic year, there is plenty of people to pull in. Would playing home matches on a Thurs night help? I say this with the thinking that maybe a lot of your potential fans head home on a Fri evening?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    I cannot fathom why UCD aren't better supported. Obviously your big draw would be the students, and during the summer a lot of the culchies are back home ploughing and whatnot, but surely during the academic year, there is plenty of people to pull in. Would playing home matches on a Thurs night help? I say this with the thinking that maybe a lot of your potential fans head home on a Fri evening?
    Think it's all been tried. People don't know where the ground is and either don't care or already support a different eL club. All efforts to change any of that have failed. No, we're better off with the locals anyway - smaller turnover and no football competition. Rugby heartland or no, there are plenty of football fans in SE Dublin.

Never gonna chance

Jaysus lads, still dreaming. There's people going longer than me & they know it'll never change. The only possibility of gettin bigger crowds is saying free entry & even at that students are more concerned with drinking. As for the locals, even the ones that like footy, like the Premiership & don't even know what the LoI is. People who go to LoI games, play local footy & go to local footy matches support & love football full stop. It's about football. Everyone else likes the Premiership. The sooner you all realise that the sooner you could focus your energies on something that you have more chance of achieving like world peace.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

812 Posts
    It's about small changes Colie. No one expects 2,000 through the gates by 2010.

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    It's about small changes Colie. No one expects 2,000 through the gates by 2010.

You're right John I expect it by 2011
    UCDD have experimented with different kick off days and times. In my time watching UCD we have played home games on Thursday nights, Friday nights, Saturday late afternoons, Saturday nights and different kick off times on a Sunday. Thursday nights were not successful in terms of numbers.
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 22/12/2006 at 6:11 AM.