Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Premier Players for Galway United

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    btw,did anyone hear tony o donoghue on rte news tonight???he was reporting live from citywest and appeared to be not to pleased with the decisions today and started moaning.this was pi** poor reporting by him,giving his own opinion when all hes meant to do is report what happened and leave it at that,very dissappointing.
    Is he a Dundalk/Waterford fan?

yes,thats

the logical assumption that can be made,he didnt even try hide his dislike of it.anyway dont want this thread to go further off topic so will leave it now.
    i reckon we have around 12 players who could do it in premier league,so we need 6 probably,but those 6 will have to be first team signings not squad players.

what would you expect from rte boys. little does he know that the on the field results were from the last 5 years not the last season. anyway thanks to dunkalk for beating waterford in the so called playoff. if they lost against waterford gufc would be going 2 the plastic pitch again. so on behalf of all gufc supporters can i say thank you very much dundalk fc and john gill you looked so cool on rte today. he he he he he he.

I said it after the playoffs finished that dundalk might have just got us up by beating waterford, and I turned out to be right !!!

back on topic, Surely Tony will be raiding Drogheda for some players too, anyone know whos out of contract up there?

The sligo lads are saying that Conor O'Grady is on his way down to us as well ! would be another great signing.

We would need to bring in at least 7-8 players including two goalkeepers.

I was trying my best to get some info on thursday's signing of a few people last night but all were remaining tight lipped. Barry Ryan's name seems to be going around but nobody can confirm it. He is from Ennis he recently got engaged and his fiancee lives and works in Ennis. It's all speculation but Galway would be a short trip for him.
    just to touch on the Tony o Donogue situation, I saw the report last night and thought he was way out of order. What trophies Dundalk and Waterford won in the 50's 60's 70's and 80's had no bearing on the decision. It's no wonder we have idiots coming on here that dont understand the process when we have bias reporters spouting rubbish like that on the national station.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Like some of the media reporting, T O'Donoghue's thing was completely biased. He's a Cork fan as far as I know and a good League Of Ireland man, but could he not report the facts?

O'Donoghue was a disgrace. He lets his personal feelings get ahead of his duty to report the story.

Getting back in topic though I think you'll see a few players coming down from the East coast given Cousins' connections.
    I'd like to see Utd adopt a policy similar to Longford in recent years when they snapped up some young players who came back from England

thats a good idea
    more water!

75 Posts
    The club will be insisting on any signings being based in Galway or nearby.The idea is to install a full time set up working with the players employers.

but not full time - right
    more water!

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JW. View Post
    I'd love Fordey to come back if he doesn't get a crosschannel thing. For certain, we need a goalkeeper.
    No idea otherwise of who we'll be announcing but someone obviously knows.
    Ye can have Robbie Forde back if ye want

LOL Ash

IMO its too soon to go full time and employers may not be too keen on the idea (as well as the players, they would be putting their careers on the line.) Dont want to go down the route of Shels et al.....Cork have changed back. On the other hand whatever the board decides I know it wont be spontaneous it will well thought out and every eventuality will be worked out and I will support it 110%
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Am, I read elsewhere on Foot.ie that Cork remain full-time, but anyway, can we sign Alan Cawley from Waterford please Santa? He's a grand set piece taker, and I'd better have his name right...

who will ye get rid of?? o'brien, disco & foley will be a waste of money in the prem and sounds like raf is comin back home. our playin budget at start of last was €12000(bout €650k/year). if yers is €1m yer board is very ambitious for next year. should have a few full time players if yer spending that much.

alan cawley already signed for bray, must have known somethin bout new league.
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

dont think id get rid of foley - can do a job in midfield - keep him in the squad - plenty of other dead wood there yet ahead of him
    more water!

Foley , RAf and o Brien all had v good season for us would not like to lose any of them. Probably o Brien's best season i have seen him play for us.

A close relative of Rafs is going around telling people in Sligo that he will be playing for them next season.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast