Page 12 of 18 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Thread: Official Premiership Thread

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Despise Dundalk, glad we'll never play them again.
    Why are Pats folding???

It's a disgrace that Dundalk who finished 2nd and won the play off don't get promoted and yet Galway who finished 3rd and weren't good enough on the pitch do.
    But that was this year it was over the last 4 years and we ve finished above them so we were better on the pitch too over the last 4 years and they think its shocking and go CRYING to the media well al i can say is FECK DUNDALK

If Dundalk had finished say third like Galway..who is better prepared to tackle the Premier? Galway.

Had Dundalk finished second with no playoff, who's better prepared to tackle the Premier? Galway.

A friendly 'playoff' that meant very little is all Dundalk have to cling to. I'm sure there's plenty in the thread here about what was the point of playing the 'playoff' when it had no impact...but now that Dundalk win it, suddenly it's their basis for promotion and expect to be promoted.

Nonsense. Dundalk are where they were going to be either way. Get over it.
    Last edited by dfx-; 11/12/2006 at 9:29 PM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sconn View Post
    and there also well organised off the pitch
    That wont save Galway next season, they might have to get a successful team, now theres a challenge all the marketing and facilities in the world wont achieve....

Although it might you never know what the F.A.I will do next

But that was this year it was over the last 4 years and we ve finished above them so we were better on the pitch too over the last 4 years and they think its shocking and go CRYING to the media well al i can say is FECK DUNDALK
    My point is that is shouldn't be based on previous seasons, the only season it should be based on is the 2006 one and in that, Dundalk finished higher, therefore should be promoted.

3,488 Posts
    Oh God, we're back on this roundabout again.

30 Posts
    Can anyone tell me how UCD and Bray outscored us in the off field criteria. I'd love to see a breakdown of the points. Unless our presentation team ****ed up royaly during the presentation or something is amiss here.

Our situation (on the pitch)
    League - 6th, 5th, 8th, 12th (Premier)

Cup Runners up in 2004

Off the pitch: New 1700 seater stand, new press facilities, toilets, offices, turnstiles, 2 all weather pitches, link up with WIT with the scholarship schemes. Link up with local junior and schoolboy leagues. These plans are not pie in the sky, they are written down on paper. The plans are on view in Waterford City Council offices.

Delaney told Club officials and fans including myself that we were safe. that would explain why the Managemnet Committee wrote this season off. However it seems that Galway and Bray made up ground on us for off pitch criteria. How is that and also Des Cahill stated on Radio 1 that we scored more points overall than Galway???

Dumbfounded.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post
    Delaney told Club officials and fans including myself that we were safe. that would explain why the Managemnet Committee wrote this season off.
    More fool you for believing him. It's been said here all season that pretty much everyone was told they were in.

How is that and also Des Cahill stated on Radio 1 that we scored more points overall than Galway???

Dumbfounded.

Sorry can anyone confirm the scoring for clubs or if this is true. I have heard this a few times now and cannot believe it. As someone not in favour of this process, if the above is true, we may as wlel throw our hats at it.

3,488 Posts
    Stated elsewhere that Newstalk reported Galway as coming 19 or so points ahead of Waterford.

82 Posts
    Your post is garbage, ORA.

Irish domestic football is broken, but that fact is irrelevant in this context. Nobody's saying things are perfect.

UEFA statutes ought to govern all aspects of football in Europe.

If you think football isn't about 22 men on a pitch, then you're as much a fan of football as the G14 directors, Galway fans and the Glazers.

The fact about UEFA Licencing is that a club who qualified on field for the Premier has to get a licence; if they get it, they are in. Dundalk won what we will call for the moment a promotion play-off, got a Premier Division licence and were not promoted. That's a fundamentally huge difference.

Not like you to post such rubbish.
    Your view is completely self-serving.

UCD's relative success in LoI football is based purely on the relevant inadequacy of every other club in the League to organise and run themselves in a professional manner.

Every other club has a large potential fanbase that has been tapped into at various times over the past few generations or so, except UCD.You have zero crowd growth potential and have admitted as such. Ergo you are in favour of everything that maintains the status quo, ie if clubs are continued to be run as a shambles, UCD profits as it is a well run university club with limited growth potential.

Doubling or trebling attendences in the League would inevitably force UCD down to 1st or U-21 division status as they have extremely limited marketability, so why am I not surprised you are, en masse, against it?

The phrase "turkeys voting for Christmas" is used a lot on here. Had UCD voted for the new league it would have been a clear example of that.

As for your corinthian spirit, jumpers for goalposts ethos, what a load of crap.

EL clubs are, by and large, multi-million euro businesses run by muppets. In any other business which had a wage bill of 20-50 euro a week would more than likely be run by someone with a business qualification, not a bunch of old lads in their spare time.

You can say what you want about UEFA's rules, fair play and the like but I can assure you UEFA will be fully behind the FAI's approach.

I seem to remember your preferred option of improving football was by dishing out equal amounts of cap ex and development money to all clubs. If ever there was a way to reward the laggard, thats it.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Your view is completely self-serving.
    I find that hard seeing as I didn't mention UCD once.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
    Doubling or trebling attendences in the League would inevitably force UCD down to 1st or U-21 division status as they have extremely limited marketability, so why am I not surprised you are, en masse, against it?
    Oh sweet Jesus. How on earth do we have so many stupid posts from stupid people here?!?!

I am against this because it's a complete violation of sporting principles. It is, in short, c0ck. How hard is that to understand? It didn't help that muppets like yourself seem to prefer that UCD not be in the league, but the simple, overriding points are -

(a) It's completely against everything sport stands for and
    (b) nobody - including you in your post - have actually said how this is good for the league. Why should something be accepted because Delaney says it's great or because you mention phrases like "doubling or trebling attendances" and "Irish football is broken"? Do you honestly listen to or believe yourself talking?!

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
    I seem to remember your preferred option of improving football was by dishing out equal amounts of cap ex and development money to all clubs. If ever there was a way to reward the laggard, thats it.
    Wrong, as usual. However, I was in favour of a more even distribution of prize money so as to maintain stable growth in the league, to reduce the possibility of one club running away with things every season as they got richer and richer and to prevent financial rollercoasters as clubs go financially all out and then some to win the title money to recoup what they spent aerning it in the first place. Which is quite different to what you posted.

I can't see what all the fuss is about really. Dundalk signed their death warrant when they voted for the qualifying criteria. They just had far too many points to make up off the field.

Waterford fans have some very legitimate questions to ask of their own board as well as of the FAI. They have a lot going for them off the pitch, was their presentation to the IAG that bad that they dropped 80 points to Galway?

Can anyone tell me how UCD and Bray outscored us in the off field criteria.
    I don't know, I'm actually as shocked as you are. When I heard that Bray and Galway are up I tought we were gone for sure.

My guess would be that writing this season off did yee no favours and yee did have some trouble staying in existance last season which may or may not have counted but it looks to me like UCD and Bray simply gave better presentations. It is completly messed up that a club can be relegated or promoted on the basis of their chairman's public speaking skills.

82 Posts
    It is potentially good for the League as it is a crude, but valid, attempt at picking out those clubs that will benefit most from an injection of money from the centre and improve the standing of the league in general hopefully resulting in a better product and all the benefits that come from that.

Money thrown about in a haphazard manner to all clubs will result in maintenance of the status quo.

Do you or don't you subscribe to the view that EL football is broken and if it is, how do you propose fixing it?

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    UCD's relative success in LoI football is based purely on the relevant inadequacy of every other club in the League to organise and run themselves in a professional manner.
    I largely agree with you on this point but the blame here is with the clubs which run themselved badly, not with UCD for being well run.

I don't agree with you here. UCD competes in the top division of pretty much every sport in the country (though the rugger team is doing its best to change that), we've even been thrown out of the hurling because we're too good at it.

If you believe UCD are going to be left behind at some point, then you only need wait for it to happen. It hasn't happened yet and I'm not holding my breath. The idea that UCD is trying to hold the league back to prevent our relegation is a bit of a conspiracy theory.

71 Posts
    Can anyone tell me how UCD and Bray outscored us in the off field criteria. I'd love to see a breakdown of the points. Unless our presentation team ****ed up royaly during the presentation or something is amiss here.

Our situation (on the pitch)
    League - 6th, 5th, 8th, 12th (Premier)

Cup Runners up in 2004

Off the pitch: New 1700 seater stand, new press facilities, toilets, offices, turnstiles, 2 all weather pitches, link up with WIT with the scholarship schemes. Link up with local junior and schoolboy leagues. These plans are not pie in the sky, they are written down on paper. The plans are on view in Waterford City Council offices.
    Honestly, what do you actually do significantly better than UCD? We've got just as concrete plans to bring the Belfield Bowl up to standard by April, we've got just as much other facilities, we have the scholarship programme for decades, we have schoolboy link up and we have a history of proper governance and sound financial management coupled with a decent off the field record this season particularly. As far as Bray are concerned I can't see how they fare much worse. The only criticism I had for Bray was about the Carlisle and that's being sorted.

UCD are not unmarketable. We're still newish to the league, we started off in the geographical shadow of Shamrock Rovers, we entered Irish senior football at a point when its support was actually collapsing. It's going to take some time for the club to cultivate and establish a fanbase. It's being slowly done working from grassroots football. The club lacks the man power to market itself at the moment but hopefully the Club Promotion Officer will help address this. There's no actual reason why the fanbase cannot be developed over time.

To suggest that UCD only enjoy any degree of success due to the mismanagement of other clubs and that the whole league is just waiting to race ahead and leave us behind is nonsense. The only clubs that are significantly ahead of us in this country seem to be spending high above income level apart from Derry. If all clubs were managed properly we'd be doing even better. We're that well run, how else do you think we scored so high off the field in spite of attendances and geography counting against us?

I have to say Waterford had the worst pitch in the league on the visits we made. The surface was awful.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth View Post
    I have to say Waterford had the worst pitch in the league on the visits we made. The surface was awful.
    Its been that for at least the last 3 years & no attempt at improving. The ground is also one of the worst in the league & thats saying a lot. Stand is far away from the pitch & if you unlucky enough be be outside will be lucky to see anything of the game. If you site on the last 5 seats on the side cannot see the goalmouth of the near penalty area. Stewarding is hopeless too on my last couple of visits with stand clearly over capacity by 200-300 people.

Off the pitch is more than just ground facilities though, involves planning for the good & bad, budgeting & basically good governence.

I think the FAI wanted to have a South East derby for when Wexford County enter the 1st division

BTW if you disapprove of the IAG priocess any chance could add link with your disapproving posts when this was announced 6 months ago?

Quote Originally Posted by chippie0001 View Post
    Sorry can anyone confirm the scoring for clubs or if this is true. I have heard this a few times now and cannot believe it. As someone not in favour of this process, if the above is true, we may as wlel throw our hats at it.
    I'd be shocked if that's true. He may have confused the on-the-field points with the final combined results of the on-the-field points and the off-the-field points.

Page 12 of 18 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast