Page 9 of 18 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Official Premiership Thread

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    I am sick of reading straw-clutching ill-informed verbiage like this.

Red herring 1) This has nothing to do with Fair Play. THE LEAGUE WAS DISBANDED AND APPLICATIONS WERE SOUGHT BASED ON DEFINED CRITERIA.

Red herring 2) UEFA are bigging up licensing in a major way and have a new version of UEFA licensing (moving the bar even higher) that will apply to Irish clubs in Europe next season and to all Premier clubs the season after. OFF-FIELD STUFF MATTERS.

The naive assumptions being made on here about football being solely about 22 players on a pitch with a ball would carry more weight if the League (ie the clubs) hadn't stumbled from one shambles to another over the past 30 years in almost terminal decline

Irish domestic football is broken, and badly broken at that. By all means discuss if the FAI's actions were the right way to fix it, but if you can't even see the problems, quite frankly you need your head examined.
    Your post is garbage, ORA.

Irish domestic football is broken, but that fact is irrelevant in this context. Nobody's saying things are perfect.

UEFA statutes ought to govern all aspects of football in Europe.

If you think football isn't about 22 men on a pitch, then you're as much a fan of football as the G14 directors, Galway fans and the Glazers.

The fact about UEFA Licencing is that a club who qualified on field for the Premier has to get a licence; if they get it, they are in. Dundalk won what we will call for the moment a promotion play-off, got a Premier Division licence and were not promoted. That's a fundamentally huge difference.

Not like you to post such rubbish.

71 Posts
    For all those who continually repeat the mantra that the clubs ratified the process, those clubs that felt they had the most to lose by this process felt intimidated into voting for it. I've heard this from a number of sources from a number of clubs. If you held a gun to my head my vote would mean far less than if I voted of my own volition.

If you think football isn't about 22 men on a pitch, then you're as much a fan of football as the G14 directors, Galway fans and the Glazers.
    Sure as long as you've a pitch every second week and a ball you're grand, isn't that right stu.
    By your logic, if Rovers, say, had 50m euro of debts, still nowhere to play, but a squad of players, they'd be entitled to play in the league next season.

UEFA statutes ought to govern all aspects of football in Europe.

The fact about UEFA Licencing is that a club who qualified on field for the Premier has to get a licence; if they get it, they are in. Dundalk won what we will call for the moment a promotion play-off, got a Premier Division licence and were not promoted. That's a fundamentally huge difference.

Great Post

When Dundalk go bitching to the media they will confirm all the worst aspects of eL football to outsiders looking in. I did not hear Dundalk moan earlier in the season when they were in the bottom half of the table. Strange how they only started making noises when thought might actually win promotion on the pitch.

IMO many 1st division sides voted in favour of this process as they thought have better chance of promotion off the pitch than on it. The FAi clearly want the most viable 12 teams in the Premier & aside from possible exception removing UCD (UCD financially viable & good on pitch record) & Bray (not sure what Bray bring as cannot have been high for on or off pitch crieria) they have achieved that.

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    You're right. You are light years behind us in how to run a matchday i.e. making sure the visiting supporters can exit safely, cameramen arent attacked etc etc.

Enjoy yet another year in the graveyard. You wont be missed.

Dont put 'our' ground down so quickly, way rovers are goin they'll be renting off us soon enough, hows that appeal going by the GAA

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Because of you lot bleating on about your club's marketability? Because of your emphasis on off the pitch results rather than on the pitch results? Because of you lot gloating over being promoted despite being able to get the job done on the pitch?

Did I answer all of your previous questions to your satisfaction? Care to respond to why I don't consider Conor H a proper supporter? Or to why your assertion that Derry had to go to an IAG meeting so it means that there was a possibility that they were in danger?
    Don't ever question me as a proper supporter.I may act the clown on this board alot(generally cause i like winding people up) but outside of this i work my balls off for my club and GUST.....as do many.The fact that Dundalk aren't there is a sad day for Irish football.A club with a proud history,solid fanbase and in general a great tradition.
    As i said i'm delighted my club are up but i totally understand ye're resentment and anger.
    I hope Dundalk fans don't develop a hatred towards us.It was the FAI who put us up and i also have great time for any set of fans who travel in their hundereds for 4 hours on a Friday evening.I hope our away support can aspire to that monumental feat.
    Best of luck in 2007.

I'd like to assure all fans visting Terryland next year ye'll thouroughly enjoy it.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    When Dundalk go bitching to the media they will confirm all the worst aspects of eL football to outsiders looking in. I did not hear Dundalk moan earlier in the season when they were in the bottom half of the table. Strange how they only started making noises when thought might actually win promotion on the pitch.
    Do you honestly think when a non-EL fan hears that Dundalk are 'bitching' about not being promoted after winning a promotion playoff and then being replaced by a team behind them in the league is what they think will mean the Eircom League is garbage? You can say it wasn't a promotion play-off all you want but the fact is is that a lot of Irish media covered it as such, and as my non-EL supporting brother asked 'why would they have a playoff if it didn't mean anything?'

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    IMO many 1st division sides voted in favour of this process as they thought have better chance of promotion off the pitch than on it.
    Most 1st Division teams knew they hadn't a hope of going up (really I think only Galway, Rovers and Dundalk thought they had), so would have been more worried about the concequences of going against their new governing body on their first act ,than whether or not they were going up. Really can you imagine if Limerick had gone against them? Right now there would be no chance of us getting a license on appeal off of them. Can you imagine if, say, Kilkenny caused a stink about it and then finished bottom of the 1st Divsion next year? They'd be pushed out of the league faster than you could say 'anyone got Wexford's number'
    Last edited by jebus; 11/12/2006 at 5:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Don't ever question me as a proper supporter.I may act the clown on this board alot(generally cause i like winding people up) but outside of this i work my balls off for my club and GUST
    I think I have been questioning your support of football in general Conor, as I have been of a lot of Galway fans, not of your support for your sham of a club that pretends to be a football team.

Love the way you reverse back to being a sympathetic fan of Eircom League football when all you and your fellow Galway FC supporters have been doing on this board today and in the past few weeks/months is harping on about your off the field achievements and how you deserve to be in the Premier, and winding up people on an already touchy subject. I'll state it again, do something on the pitch before you start thumping your chest about your club

Bray are run very well off the pitch actually, and the club took a step backwards on the pitch, by letting the likes of Zayed and Charles go to take 2 steps forward off the pitch ie new toilets, new stand, new dug-outs & new dressing rooms <on the way>. Not many clubs put as much effort in off the pitch i wouldnt say, and that was probably our saving grace. As well as having a better 5 year record on the pitch than most clubs.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    That has got absolutely zero to do with what was in the UEFA document. It is on their website somewhere but I can't find it at the moment.
    http://www.uefa.com/uefa/Keytopics/k...Id=406848.html

See number 2.

123 Posts
    if limerick only appealed at the weekend does that not mean there appeal cannot be heard as it is out of time (manual says five working days from notifiction,only a question
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

poor dundalk, only kne suprise...if any...galway! dundalk will feel hard done by as will waterford seeing as they've been in the premier for a while now but there grounds no good, terryland is decent, dont know what the difference in crowds are either! well dont to all who made it anyway!

I'd just like to say well done to Galway United. Don't mind the begrudgers. everyone signed up for this and everyone knew what was required.

Well done lads. I look forward to a good lash in the City of the Tribes next season. At last we'll be travelling to an away match on a different Road more than once a year! !

If football were only about 22 men on a field, why are the majority of a team who will embark on a Champions League adventure as the flagbearers of Irish football all jumping ship? Off the field infrastructure matters. Players getting paid matters. Living within your means matters. Having a plan in place to raise capital to compete within the Premiership matters.
    Fair enough, Galway didn't do enough on the pitch last year but we weren't very far off. I believed that another year in Division 1 and winning it would have done us the world of good. Now we have to improve very quickly but i think we can. We have a very good young manager who will be tested at the highest level sooner than he thought.
    I am proud to be a Galway Utd supporter and it is a proud day for our club.

Quote Originally Posted by Hooperatzi View Post
    waterford took delaney at his word that they were safe and essentially threw the season the fools.
    See my previous post and don't make yourself look stupid by posting about something you haven't got a clue about
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hooperatzi View Post
    i have no sympathy for your joke of a club. looks like the 'creative' accounting wasnt creative enough.....
    Like getting 2,000,000 euros written off? Its people like you and NYHOOP that make me really hope the GAA get their way.

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    if limerick only appealed at the weekend does that not mean there appeal cannot be heard as it is out of time (manual says five working days from notifiction,only a question
    I thought this on Saturday morning but I think (not sure) we were given a reprieve while the final details were being ironed out. Again not too sure if any of that is true, just what I heard on the grapevine

I think I have been questioning your support of football in general Conor, as I have been of a lot of Galway fans, not of your support for your sham of a club that pretends to be a football team.
    It's at times like this that the pain of going through all the messages posted here becomes so real.

You can say it wasn't a promotion play-off all you want but the fact is is that a lot of Irish media covered it as such, and as my non-EL supporting brother asked 'why would they have a playoff if it didn't mean anything?'
    The media regularily report cup games as league games & get incorrect scores so I would listen to them too much.

The playoff was to decide the official ranking for the 2006 season which was worth 20% of the total points for the IAG.

I don't understand why a limerick fan is backing Dundalk. Aside from winning 1 playoff this season Dundalk have been poor on the pitch for last 5 years & even on the pitch are only good financially due to recent sugar daddy acquisition.

Page 9 of 18 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast