Page 5 of 33 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Football in Shannon

it would depend onwhich they thought wa shigher or who had the better team.
    clare prem league v 1a in limerick
    newtown/Olympic v shannon town
    who has the better setup also
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    i would say you have more chance of picking up these players as ye are playing in limerick anyway .. cannot see to many wanting to play in clare league
    that old chestnut..clare league has improved its facilities greatly over the past few years. Most of the premier teams try to play good football now, the days of kicking a team off the park are long gone. Limerick Premier is still ahead in terms of more quality teams but the better teams in clare are catching up. One thing thats for certain is that Clare Premier is a better standard than 1a in Limerick.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

Quote Originally Posted by papa-j View Post
    that old chestnut..clare league has improved its facilities greatly over the past few years. Most of the premier teams try to play good football now, the days of kicking a team off the park are long gone. Limerick Premier is still ahead in terms of more quality teams but the better teams in clare are catching up. One thing thats for certain is that Clare Premier is a better standard than 1a in Limerick.
    youre probally right on better standard than 1a... but for lads playing in limerick they might not think like this ... after all limerick is the best league in ireland ( ha ha )

" football is a simple game "

dont fool yourself mate the football in limerick is very physical its just that in my opinion in clares premier you could be playing against gaa lads who arent at all interested in soccer and just play to keep themselves fit. futhermore half of them couldnt time a tackle to save theyre lives which can make playing against these sides dangerous.

Quote Originally Posted by parkfan View Post
    dont fool yourself mate the football in limerick is very physical its just that in my opinion in clares premier you could be playing against gaa lads who arent at all interested in soccer and just play to keep themselves fit. futhermore half of them couldnt time a tackle to save theyre lives which can make playing against these sides dangerous.
    i played with players & against players for 10 years.. and some of them could not time a tackle .. so it is not always the gaa lads...
    it is the nasty sh*t who knows how to tackle that does most of the damage

Quote Originally Posted by parkfan View Post

listen "mate" I've played enough football in both leagues to know the story. Yes the limerick premier (not 1a) is very physical and you have to be fairly "streetwise". You obviously have not played clare premier recently to make those other comments and to say half the players in Clare cant play is just ignorant. Maybe thats why 90% of players in Shannon today wouldn't dream of playing for your club.Then again maybe you're too good for the clare league and have found your level in 1a...soon to be 1b.
    you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.

FORMERLY: shannonman Lev Yashin's Avatar
    59 Posts
    Personally i dont see any problem with playing in either league..it just boils down to where you feel most comfortable playing and most importantly what club you want to play for. I know there is a train of thought that says limerick league is better than the clare league and they are all muckers...but those days are over from what i understand...i dont think its healthy to get into slagging off each others leagues i gives no benfit to anyone.

Regardless of any divison outside the top tier in either league your going to play on bad pitch's with bad referee's and and against someone who gets great pleasure in kicking you up and down the field....thats life.
    the best players still play football and come out on top.
    My Goal Is To Deny Yours...

Quote Originally Posted by shannonman View Post
    Personally i dont see any problem with playing in either league..it just boils down to where you feel most comfortable playing and most importantly what club you want to play for. I know there is a train of thought that says limerick league is better than the clare league and they are all muckers...but those days are over from what i understand...i dont think its healthy to get into slagging off each others leagues i gives no benfit to anyone.

Regardless of any divison outside the top tier in either league your going to play on bad pitch's with bad referee's and and against someone who gets great pleasure in kicking you up and down the field....thats life.
    the best players still play football and come out on top.
    we have all been playing long enough now .. to accept bad pitches / bad refs/ and players who just want to kick u up & down the pitch .. just get on with playing football & kick them back . its all part of the game and the limerick / clare league who's better debate will still be going on when ye have all hung up your boots and are drinking pints in the knights / lodge or crossroads

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    we have all been playing long enough now .. to accept bad pitches / bad refs/ and players who just want to kick u up & down the pitch .. just get on with playing football & kick them back . its all part of the game and the limerick / clare league who's better debate will still be going on when ye have all hung up your boots and are drinking pints in the knights / lodge or crossroads

No doubt it will go on for years yet...unless there is a joining of clubs!!!!
    which will never happen!

No doubt it will go on for years yet...unless there is a joining of clubs!!!!
    which will never happen!
    I'd say theres more chance of Park winning promotion this year than that ever happening!!!

now , now papa-j don't be so nasty to poor old park...
    after all there was nearly the big one last year between newtown / park ..

and for newtown to be playing in the limerick league

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    so your saying lads from bruff and cappamore and hospital herbertstown aren't gaa heads..only really 2 teams in clare premier wit gaa lads..moher and mountshannon..the rest are 90% soccer lads...when did you play premier in clare to know they are gaa heads..most gaa lads are super fit so timing takles wouldn't be a problem for them..just my opinion...
    for starters have you ever seen bruff or cappamore play. asked a lad i go to college with who playes for cappamore had they any gaa players gone back playing gaa because they are on an awful run of late his reply no. asked a lad from bruff who are going very well also if they had any gaa lads his reply was that they have one or two thats all. ive never played premier in clare but i do cast an eye and listen when people talk about the farce that is your fixture secretary mike layden arranging games so the gaa lads can compete and how his club connolly celtic have a mass of gaa players. dont be fooled about the ennis clubs aswell most of them do be tipping away at the auld gaa aswell. i also seen bridge celtic with more than a few gaa players also your obviously not a gaa follower
    Last edited by parkfan; 25/01/2007 at 9:08 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    and for newtown to be playing in the limerick league
    i was waiting for it and you didn't dissapoint

i never do

is it true that donal magee is training balla now

Big Daddy?!!!

59 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by buts86 View Post
    Big Daddy?!!!
    do people actually call him that..or is that something he calls himself??

probally came from himself... anybody confirm this "big daddy "

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    i think you will find connolly are 1st division where as we were talking premier in clare..and ya bridge celtic have 2 or 3 gaa players.like most clubs..just wondering if you can name any of these gaa players that you seem to know so much about..there is no way 2 villages the size of bruff and cappamore can have a soccer team witout some gaa players on it...michael lydon does an extremly hard job and if you knew the guy he's not really into gaa..teams get free weekends cause there entitled to them...
    More than two or three of theyre players play gaa. most of them play with clonlara gaa and one or two with smith obriens. i dont no theyre names but i know them because ive played gaa against them and i have umpired matches where they have been involved. well the lads must have been lying so. seeing as you have played in limerick and been to all these places to play then you should no. have you ever been to bruff.

Old Git. this big daddy is the man also known as donal magee. he came up with himself in training i believe. another man with absolutely no man management skills. Question for ya old git. when you were playing on all them wonderful sides with newtown and i hear you still kick a ball. what was the relationship between manager and player back then like honestly i dont think much of it exists anymore.
    Last edited by parkfan; 26/01/2007 at 6:45 PM.

Page 5 of 33 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast