Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Madrid

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stars View Post
    What clubs/bars did you go into and where about are they?also,info on accomadation would be helpful
    Can't remember most of the clubs. One was called BlackJack, I think. There's stacks of them round the centre anyway.

Stayed in a hostel, on a street just off Puetra del Sol, Calle de Carretas. Was €20 a night for a twin room. Not the most luxurious place, for the price and location, ye can't complain. Not sure what it was called, it might have been this place. http://www.hostelspoint.com/res/155/hostel.php?str=3066 But there's a few other hostels on that street too.
    If you have GoogleEarth, just type in Madrid, and it brings you right to Puetra del Sol, so you've an idea of where's it at.

To be honest I don't know Barna well enough to compare it to Madrid but while it certainly seems to be a more picturesque and cosmopolitan town, there's usually better craic to be had in Madrid. If you stay around the Puerta del Sol (there are loads of hostels) you're a stone's throw from Chueca and Malasaña just north of the Gran Vía, with no shortage of nightlife. Not many big discos but loads of small bars/clubs with plenty of character. The area between the Quevedo and Argüelles metro stops also has plenty of decent bars, a lot of students live in that area. I know Irish pubs may not feature high on the agenda but if you want to keep tabs on the sport at home the only Irish-owned and run one is Finbar's near the Argüelles stop.

Footie in early Feb isn't great: Real are home to Levante on 4 Feb (where you or may not may see Ian Harte take the Bernabeu by storm); Atlético are home to Bilbao the following weekend while Getafe host Valencia.

Madrid is a great town for wandering from bar to bar have a few beers and tapas before heading to the smaller clubs for decent music and drinks. Unfortunately many people's impression of the centre is that it has little to offer and I'd have to admit it can be a bit underwhelming if you hit the tourist areas. But I've lived here for 11 years and have yet to tire of what it has to offer.

Have yourselves a ball.
    Last edited by Over the post; 11/12/2006 at 5:59 PM. Reason: typos
    Greece 1 - 0 Germany
    Socrates (89)

cheers Over the post,im sure we will be dropping you a few pms before we go.
    Was looking at Finbars alright,we will be in there for a few,do they serve food?

230 Posts
    cheers Over the post,im sure we will be dropping you a few pms before we go.
    Was looking at Finbars alright,we will be in there for a few,do they serve food?
    Doesn't look like they have food at Finbars, but the totty looks tasty.
    Last edited by strangeirish; 11/12/2006 at 7:58 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Finbar's tends to specialise in liquids rather than solids and taytos are about the most you could hope for on the food front. I usually pop across the road for a roll to eat during the half-time analysis while other patrons visit the Burger King around the corner. There's no shortage of eateries nearby. Feel free to fling any queries my way.
    Greece 1 - 0 Germany
    Socrates (89)

Formerly: wild rover
    can you get cider there?
    will the pubs be busy
    are any over 21's?
    what time do the pubs close at

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wild rover View Post
    can you get cider there?
    will the pubs be busy
    are any over 21's?
    what time do the pubs close at
    They have cider, but it's awful. Avoid it. They also have vermouth on draught, which is a bit weird.
    Most places in the centre are busy every day.
    I'm 20 and never once got asked for ID.
    Pubs close when they want to. Some clubs will go on till 9 in the morning, but they seem to die down a bit around 4/5.

What is there to do for 5 students in Madrid....apart from get p!ssed?
    Anysites or museums worth a look at?
    Also could ye recommend some good eat houses,cheap but nice all the same

I prefer it than Barcelona myself, but that's for two reasons. Everyone said Barcelona is better and I quite enjoyed it in Madrid (lot less street crime for instance) and secondly I like a bit of art, for which Madrid has no rivals except Paris (unless you like sp*nk stained beds sprinkled with soiled sanitary towels or lights being switched on and off and therefore we can include London). Reina Sofia near Atocha station is a must IMO (home of Picasso's Guernica) Prado also good.

Drinking is fantastic as it's Spain FFS , and while it doesn't have the concentration of bars of La Coruna or San sebastian, I'll bet you'll find it hard to find a street to complete a bar crawl on. One of the best places to get a late night swifty if nothing else is open is the City morgue. Well people need a stiffner after a relative has passed away suddenly, no?

Real Madrid will be a dissapointment. It lacks atmosphere unless you like hanging out with neo-nazi scum in the South End. Reading David Madrid's 'Insider' at the moment - about a policeman infiltrating the Ultrassur - and he claims that RM fans go not to follow their side but to demand of them. I find that hard to disagree with. Also harder to get tickets than say Barcelona. It's still a magnificent ground.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

I enjoyed the Prado museum, and I wouldn't be an art buff. The Retiro Park was great on a Sunday afternoon. Not sure its the place for lads looking to go on the **** mind, more of a coupley thing to do
    Last edited by Dodge; 12/12/2006 at 5:30 PM.

good stuff,cheers lads.
    Keep the info coming as where to eat(not McDonalds), somewhere that puts on a good feed for cheap enough.

The Prado and the Reina Sofia are great although you have to pick and choose in the former due to the size of the collection, otherwise you could spend a couple of days there. The Thyssen is also a good option as it has a smaller collection that runs from early religious paintings to modern stuff.
    There are loads of good food bars in the Cava Baja area in La Latina although the place is mobbed at the weekend and you have to get their early. The Almendro 13 (on calle Almendro no. 13) is a good place for tapas at lunchtime. Almost all Spanish bars serve food so you'll have no problem getting fed.
    I agree with Lopez about the Bernabéu; great stadium but dire supporters and the team aren't really playing the beautiful game this season, are they. Mind you, the museum there is meant to be interesting. The Calderón is always lively. I've never been to watch Getafe but they only ever fill the stadium when Barça or Madrid visit so there wouldn't seem to be a great fan base.
    Greece 1 - 0 Germany
    Socrates (89)

Museum in the Bernabeu isn't up to much. Did the stadium tour and it ends in Museum which is basically just some trophies and a list of players that have won European/World layer of the yaer and played with madrid (but not neccesarily at the same time - -the cheating swines!). Think it was about a tenner and if you're into football, its probably worth it. No problem getting tickets for Calderon. We got ours on the day of the game (for the main stand, level with 18 yardbox) at the ticket office (about 25-30 euro if mememory serves me right - cheaper tickets were available).

Oh and one more tip, if you're thinking about using a credit card over there, make sure you bring ID (preferably passport) with you. Most shops won't accept an international card without it

Cheers Dodge and Over The Post.
    Dont think we will be using credit cards,probably only drinks vouchers.
    Are there any vineyards near the city or anything like that?Bull fighting?
    Also,what day are the markets on?For some reason I think Fridays.

There's a massive bull ring in madrid (marked on every map etc) but not sure if its in use.

There are vineyards south of Madrid but I don't think they organise tours or anything like that, wine-making isn't that big an industry in Madrid.
    The bullring is in use although the season has ended and there won't be any bullfights till late spring.
    The main flea market, the Rastro, is on Sunday mornings and is held five minutes' walk south of the Puerta del Sol. Hungover Irishmen are among the pickpockets favourite targets, so keep an eye on the valuables if you do go.
    Greece 1 - 0 Germany
    Socrates (89)

Dont think we will be using credit cards
    Speak for yerself. Although I knew bout needing ID already.
    Are there any vineyards near the city or anything like that?Bull fighting?
    Vineyards? Why?

As for bull fighting, you can go to that if you want. No fear of me going though. How anyone can watch that is beyond me.

well we have to do something to pass the day sligoman.just saying a few things,just to give us options.
    Its not just gonna be drinking,although i wouldnt mind it.
    If you have a credit card,why didnt you book the flights so?

...Bull fighting?...
    Here's a good site to give you all the info you need to prepare yourself for visit to a bull 'fight'. Just click on 'clica aqui'.

http://www.latortura.es/
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

If you have a credit card,why didnt you book the flights so?
    I don't, but I'm in the process of getting one. Should have one in time for Madrid.

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast