Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: No Licence, No Club, No Future.

have the supporters club thought about approaching a political figure to put the pressure on half of limericks father?

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    I seem to have upset someone.

I don't like using sarcasm but sometimes that is all a post deserves because it doesn't contribute to anything and is directed purely at stirring things. Poor Wizard, I apologise for offence but I thought a poster that has used this board to call someone "Walter Mitty, Billy Liar, Daft Dave", "a pillock", "a tool of the highest order", "a greedy, spiteful arsehole", "a snivelling little worm" etc etc could take a bit of slagging but it seems not.

I don't know who you are Wizard but you have been posting on here since NOC got the chop and have been pushing for him and denigrating everything else at the club. Apart from your first post you have been hyper-critical of DD without suggesting any alternative and yet at the same time slagging off others for being all talk. I don't get it.

I am not going to engage in talking about you but instead deal with the arguments you raise. You didn't refer in your post to DD leaving but I think it is clear from your posts that that is what you want. As for answers to your questions - do you really think DD is going to come on here or anywhere else and talk about who is buying or isn't buying the club? Did the West Ham board discuss their takeover with fans? Did the Chelsea board discuss Abramovich with fans beforehand? Does any club anywher ein teh world discuss with fans negotiations with potential investors? I think not - so why should LFC be any different? In fact if he did provide details to fans here it would remarkable business naiveity and lack of judgement.

As for the lease - you know where it is. We all know where it is. JY won't sign the bloody thing. Why won't he? In your view because he hates DD. You may be right but then why not sign it to the FAI? Maybe he hates them too. But I don't understand how DD can be criticised for not delivering the lease (as he promised) when JY won't sign it. I am the only one who thinks that JY should not be allowed hold the club to ransom to get rid of a guy he doesn't like? In that context - we need a ground next season - we can't rely on JY so what are our alternatives. I don't want to go back to the Jacks but there is no alternative.

So, after all that. Whats your point?
    I think we're dealing with a bit of a stirrer here, and I'm not even going to respond to his little pop off of me, but some of the points he makes are valid. What isn't valid is his directing all of his pent-up anger and emotion at a select few on this site.

Its as plain as the nose on your face that the club is in dire straits right now...the only ways out of it are to either row in 100% with whats already there, or to examine the possibility of a fans takeover similar to what the Rovers lads did. That is a very feasible prospect if the right people were prepared to spearhead it. Easier said than done I'm afraid.

However pinballwizard, I would be grateful in future if you showed the same courtesy to others on this site as they show to everyone else. Constructive criticism is welcomed...attacking posters isn't. The whole concept of a forum like this is to share opinions, not to force them down peoples throats and to constantly whine while offering nothing in the way of solutions yourself.

Quote Originally Posted by see's it View Post
    have the supporters club thought about approaching a political figure to put the pressure on half of limericks father?
    I sent around a lot of letters a couple of years ago - I think when we moved to Pike (around the start of the SC). I circulated the letters I sent to every councillor and TD on this message board as well as responses. In fairness the reaction was positive but very little could really be done. I remember Peter Power got in touch to arrange a meeting and seemed very concerned at the club's plight. I am not sure if the SC did ever meet him but he is a fella I'd get onto again as he showed interest. (In case anyone takes this as a political stroke - I am not a Peter Power supporter and in the scheme of things would rather not have him in government next time).
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard
    So it appears that we have to resort to someone desperate for a job that has UEFA badges, i.e Mike Kerley.
    Kerley may have a Waterford badge, as it certainly isn't a UEFA one judging by his results over the last two seasons. Only Pat Dolan kept them up last year after Kerley went 5 months without a win, and his only win this year was at home to the mighty Douglas Hall in the cup!

Collins and Kerr are available, and desperate for a job. Don't think they speak Polish though.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Lads lads, for 1960s tottie look no further then Diana Rigg (the only girl bond ever married) and Hitchcocks fav, Tippie Hedren.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Collins and Kerr are available, and desperate for a job. Don't think they speak Polish though.
    Well it certainly isn't any form of English I'm familiar with

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Kerley may have a Waterford badge, as it certainly isn't a UEFA one judging by his results over the last two seasons. Only Pat Dolan kept them up last year after Kerley went 5 months without a win, and his only win this year was at home to the mighty Douglas Hall in the cup!

I believe that ye were the last people on earth stupid enough to employ Shoddy....Anyway I hear ye'd be more in order trying to hold on to your own manager....I believe he likes it in Drumcondra..

Quote Originally Posted by see's it View Post
    I think you would be surprised just how helpfull city hall could be and you would probably be less surprised to know that the club are aware of this and at the same time choose to completely ignore it.
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick View Post
    I think you would be surprised just how helpfull city hall could be and you would probably be less surprised to know that the club are aware of this and at the same time choose to completely ignore it.
    I would be very surprised

Limerick F.C. may be many things but a vote winner it is not

I would be very surprised
    Be that as it may, the club has chosen to ignore City Hall on this which doesn't surprise me in the least with Danny Drew as chairman of our club.

Must have missed the outstrecthed helping hand from city hall

Ask a local councillor, I'd be surprised if two thirds of them even knew we had a club

Can you imagine the kerfuffle if Munster, no stratch that, Young Munster, were in the situation we invariably find ourselves in every couple of seasons

Must have missed the outstrecthed helping hand from city hall
    Well, I know what I know and you know what you know!

It's nice to know that even in times of great misery and depression us Limerick people can still be counted on to pull together and come up with a solid plan of action

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    It's nice to know that even in times of great misery and depression us Limerick people can still be counted on to pull together and come up with a solid plan of action
    It's not US, it's THEM

Well, I know what I know and you know what you know!
    Whos our mystery supporter pray tell

If there are political outlets that can be used to the benefit of the club, then they should be grasped and all avenues from this point explored. The time for pride has gone...now its a matter of survival and any help, no matter where it comes from should be taken.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    If there are political outlets that can be used to the benefit of the club, then they should be grasped and all avenues from this point explored. The time for pride has gone...now its a matter of survival and any help, no matter where it comes from should be taken.
    I'm sick of pride swallowing

Whos our mystery supporter pray tell
    I don't think its right to go into detail here but I can promise you that an offer was made to meet with club officials, I myself informed the club and they inturn scorned it. The very minute the lease became an issue the club were contacted.
    It must be remembered that Drew also told people he had bought land to develop a ground on not too long after. Since this is obviously untrue, anybody with any sense at all would question anything he has to say regarding this club.

Danny Drew is gone

Hence the lack of a proper application to join the league

It's all up in the air at the moment and there is very little anyone can do about it

Danny Drew is gone
    Is this definate??
    If so who owns the club??

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast