Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast

Thread: BIG FLAG FUND

I was down at the Cross this morning for my ticket. Got talking to Noelle. She said that the bendy poles have been banned, only straight ones are allowed. Could put a dampener on things Saturday. It's a EL/UEFA thing rather than a city thing.

Originally posted by Ali-G
    She said that the bendy poles have been banned, only straight ones are allowed. Could put a dampener on things Saturday. It's a EL/UEFA thing rather than a city thing.
    Not having seen one up close and personal last Saturday evening. Straight poles work just fine, although the 'pull' when you wave the flag in the opposite direction is unmerciful.
    Munster 33-6 Gloucester
    Aint revenge sweet?!

What's next on the list?

I'd love to see a big 50 foot by 30 foot Green/White/Red 'Crowd Cover' go up and down the Shed...

Originally posted by Neil
    What's next on the list?
    How about some of those banners on two sticks that the Ultras and SEI have got recently? You'd see them a lot at Serie A matches and they look impressive.
    Champions!

What's next on the list?

I'd love to see a big 50 foot by 30 foot Green/White/Red 'Crowd Cover' go up and down the Shed...

Well there is a 10 by 18 foot one at present which will hopefully be 20 by 18 by the end of the season...need to save up the bobs again.....that'll be as big as its gonna get though.....to har dto manage otherwise...
    and as well as that ..you should hear the moaners in the shed at it when they are inconvienced as the flag is put over them....

also an other idea would to have a loads of the 3 by 5 foot flags....different countris like algeria, hungary, italy, iraq..etc....

Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
    you should hear the moaners in the shed at it when they are inconvienced as the flag is put over them
    Yeah, good point.

The "two sticks" are good alright but are they not banned? I know SEI and Ultras have got away with them but there seems to be a different set of rules for us?

fonzi
    [QUOTE][i]
    I was down at the Cross this morning for my ticket. Got talking to Noelle. She said that the bendy poles have been banned, only straight ones are allowed. Could put a dampener on things Saturday. It's a EL/UEFA thing rather than a city thing. [/
    [QUOTE]
    thats quite bizzare.
    i was told no sticks alowed.

Post No messing about

Lads,

25 * 35 crowd cover - White with City crest (done professionally)

your talking 2,000 euros for a real class pro job.

Originally posted by Ali-G
    I was down at the Cross this morning for my ticket. Got talking to Noelle. She said that the bendy poles have been banned, only straight ones are allowed. Could put a dampener on things Saturday. It's a EL/UEFA thing rather than a city thing.
    That seems strange, especially as $hels had one of those Seria A flags on the pitch to welcome out the teams when they played Longford on Tuesday. Cant remember if it was a bendy pole or a straight one though, I'll take another look at the vid later on.
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

89 Posts
    Bit late I know lads,

But I was wondering, what material did youse, or any other clubs that have big flags use for them- approx cost per flag etc
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Maribor,
    i aint gona re-read the13 page thread but you can contact the 451 lads at

mail: fanzine@fourfiveone.net
    Web: www.fourfiveone.net
    Text: 086-40-50-451

and they'll know for sure, hope that helps

james
    life is random

Originally posted by Maribor
    What material did youse, or any other clubs that have big flags use for them
    You need to use a very light lining material.
    Leave an email address and I'll send on exact details later.
    Email: fanzine@fourfiveone.net

More Big Flags?

I think it's fair to say that the three big flags have been a huge success. Fair play to all who contributed and to those helping to wave and take care of them.

But we can't stop now!
    We need more flags, banners....

Main problems is funds.
    [One big flag and pole costs about €180 to buy, and get the material sewn together]

A lot of people have been suggesting to us that we do a regular collection around the ground. Or have a bucket outside the Horseshoe with the fanzine sellers for contributions...

Would people be willing to set up a direct debit for a while?
    ie. 30 people throw €2 a week for 9 weeks and we'd have another three BIG FLAGS.

What are supporters thoughts about these ideas?
    Any more ideas?

Cheers,
    FFO

How about a notice on the Supporters Clubs page in the Match Day Mag asking for donations or just drawing attention to what ever plan you go with.

At the Ireland match the Rovers lads all had Rovers Ultras t-shirts why not have 4-5-1 t-shirts to sell at a profit and send that money to the flag fund, not sure how workable that is.
    Oh no not them again

Originally posted by FourFiveOne
    A lot of people have been suggesting to us that we do a regular collection around the ground. Or have a bucket outside the Horseshoe with the fanzine sellers for contributions...

Would people be willing to set up a direct debit for a while?
    ie. 30 people throw €2 a week for 9 weeks and we'd have another three BIG FLAGS.

agree with the donation buckets definitely....before or after the games.....

as for 2 a week ....no problemi....snt gonna be missed by anyone....

as i said at the UCD game....just ordered more flags and will hopefully have a 20' * 18' stripey flag and a 10' * 9' checkered flag ready for the rovers game on the 11th.

the more flags, the more colour, the better.......

the 451 t-shirt idea is good too. a few scarves mightnt go astray either........

Originally posted by NorthoftheLee
    the more flags, the more colour, the better.......
    Definately, we need to keep this going and have a continuos stream of new flags etc. in the same way that the SEI or the Ultras do.
    Nobody is going to miss 2 or 3 euro a week and the increased colour and atmosphere will benefit us all.
    I still want to get some of those two sticks flags like Pats and Rovers and all the Serie A fans have, they are the job imo.

Fair play for organising a couple of more flags NOTL.
    Champions!

News...

[COLOR=red]Thank you all for the interest.

For those who were asking, here is the account number:

AIB
    Sort Code 930121
    Account Number 04034023

We are currently discussing the possibility of getting a flag sponsored. Hope to have some news soon.

Cheers,
    FFO[/COLOR]

guiness would probably help out as they're the club sponsors. you'd be surprised how many of the pubs about the city would too (180euro to have your pub name waved about at city games is small change, lots of them sponsor nightowls teams which is way less exposure).

anybody know the easiest way to contribute from abroad (can't really walk into an AIB where i am but i'd like to chip in), any of you lads have a paypal account for example?? or would an american cheque be ok????

@ndy
    I assume Bohs bought the flags at Dalymount, and Shels did same on seeing the bohs ones. It disappoints me to see the treatment you guys get after all the effort, eg Monday night. Why don't you grab Pat Dolan the next time you see him, and have a word..he strikes me as a doer who if ye told him what was up would have yous on the pitch every game.

Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast