Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Bowl development

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    In other words UCD will not meet a premier Division Licence criteria?
    The criterion is that the work must be finished by 2008.

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    In other words UCD will not meet a premier Division Licence criteria?
    No different from Drogheda, I'd assume.

3,488 Posts
    At the alumni dinner last night, it was stated that work would be starting in the next four or five weeks (I assume that's when the rugby season finishes), with the expectation that we'll finish this season in the Bowl.

Last rugby game is next weekend.

Has the old biddy who lodged the planning objection either a) withdrawn or b) croaked?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    Has the old biddy who lodged the planning objection either a) withdrawn or b) croaked?
    She was rightly told to feck off.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    She was rightly told to feck off.
    deadly bud!

What do yee recon? Should we move straight away or wait for the new season?

UCD confident of September move
    Paul O'Hehir

League of Ireland: UCD are confident of relocating to the Belfield Bowl by September as renovation to the stadium, used by the university's rugby team, is under way.

The club currently play at Belfield Park, but its location in a far pocket of the campus has meant they have struggled to attract decent crowds. However, officials believe the new site and accompanying facilities will revive attendances.

The stadium will have a capacity of 4,500 and will be located alongside the university's other sporting facilities when it is completed in three to four years.

Phase one, which began a fortnight ago, will see 900 seats added to the existing 600 in the main stand. UCD, following the go-ahead by An Bord Pleanála last October, has matched a £1.25 million Government grant towards financing that first phase. Club secretary Dick Shakespeare expects a 14-16 week construction turnaround.

Phase two will see roofing fitted over those new seats and the addition of a further 1,500 seats, bringing capacity on that main stand to 3,000. Construction of a further 750 seats at either end of the ground is scheduled in the final phase.

FAI officials will inspect the facility after phase one before awarding a licence, although plans submitted have been approved in theory.

"Moving isn't going to be the be-all and end-all," Shakespeare explained, "but it affords us the opportunity to tap into a market we haven't been able to crack before."

UCD manager Pete Mahon believes relocation will have a positive effect on attendances but suggested holding off the move until November when the season ends.

That, however, is not necessarily the club's decision. The National Institute for Bioprocessing and Training is relocating to Belfield Park and the timeframe of that operation will force the soccer club's hand.
    © 2007 The Irish Times

20 Posts
    Either way we should have "formal relocation" in the close season and organise a friendly against somebody worth watching, or failing that Sunderland
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

71 Posts
    Did anyone else know about Phase II? Is it a vague plan to get people off our backs or a real one?

They've started actually doing something there BTW. There's a big drilling yoke set up behind the stand.

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student View Post
    What do yee recon? Should we move straight away or wait for the new season?
    Not really pushed either way, I suppose, although we should go all out for a big ending for Belfield Park and a big start for the Bowl, like Athlone did. Free entry, etc.

I suppose in that regard, maybe September/October might be better. Have two big games in a row and you might encourage a few people to think of UCD games as a regular occurrence.

Maccer mentioned the possibility of a friendly with Charlton back when the plans for the improved Belfield Park were drawn up. I think it was more a case of "I know someone there" when I mentioned it to him though. Still, he didn't baulk at the idea. Worth pursuing, I reckon. Try for the biggest team knocked out in the Third Round of the FA Cup.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Did anyone else know about Phase II? Is it a vague plan to get people off our backs or a real one?
    There was a pre-planning meeting about it in the county council about 6 months ago but it's still well over a year from starting.

It would be best to have the first home game of the new academic year, so we can attract Freshers, in the Bowl. So that's late September right lads?

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    It would be best to have the first home game of the new academic year, so we can attract Freshers, in the Bowl. So that's late September right lads?
    Only thing you'll attract freshers to anything with is free drink.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

811 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    Only thing you'll attract freshers to anything with is free drink.
    Which the college alcohol policy won't let us do.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Free 'cola' so. I'm sure Student Mullet can sort that.

811 Posts
    Or the Bald Beer Baron of Belfield.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Or the Bald Beer Baron of Belfield.
    I understand that he's taking orders for tonight and is after finding a giant bottle of coffee-stout. Any takers, you could probably mix it with some chocolate-stout to make some form of stout frappuchino?

Ooh, giant.

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast