Thread: First Gig

115 Posts
    The Wedding Present at Sir Henry's about 1987 for me. First proper one anyway. Still one of the best.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    The Wedding Present at Sir Henry's about 1987 for me. First proper one anyway. Still one of the best.
    I think one of the loudest gigs I've been at. It took about a week before I could hear properly again.
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

You want loud? Try The Ramones in the TV Club (RIP) in 1984. There was people sitting on the steps of what is now Odeon afterwards, holding their hands over their ears and waiting for the throbbing to stop.
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    Howard Jones in the Old Savoy, Limerick in Feb 1987.

The drummers Electronic Drumkit cost 35,000 bucks in 1987 money. That's about the most remarkable aspect of the night. Not bad though either.

Same tour, but I seen him in Dublin, National Stadium I think, was 15 thought I was the Bees Knees!

I had seen Clannad before that so in public I say my first gig was Clannad but I was dragged by older sibblings to that where as Howard Jones was all my own work!

The first gig I was brought to was The Clancy Brothers and Tommy Makem
    when I was about 5 and we lived in Canada.

The first one I went to under my own steam was The Stranglers in National Stadium in October 1979.

Went to see Idlewild the other night in a tiny venue in Manc. Don't really know much of the band, but was on the guestlist so I decided to go anyway with a couple of mates who'd come over from Derry for it.

Seriously one of the greatest gigs of my entire life. Never sweated and danced so much at an indie gig. Right at the front too. And pished as a fart obviously...
    DCFC

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Guns N Roses/Faith More & an Irish band called My Little Funhouse 16th May 1992 in Slane what a day, what a fooking day! Next concert was Faith No More in The Pont and the end of November 1992.
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

Quote Originally Posted by dublinharp View Post
    Guns N Roses/Faith More & an Irish band called My Little Funhouse 16th May 1992 in Slane what a day, what a fooking day! Next concert was Faith No More in The Pont and the end of November 1992.
    I have their album Standunder on tape. Pity they split up, they were half decent. I remember them being touted as the next big thing but then the Irish Press do that to any new act that can play an instrument.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

sinead o'connor in saratoga springs, ny, it was the tour date immediately following the infamous one in n. jersey where she refused the national anthem to be played before the gig, causing minor stink. she had a few choice words to say about it! and was excellent overall, the song mandinka really rocked i remember.

good fun reading these reminin.. remi... memorable thingies.
    zombie/thread killer..

Oasis in Cork in 96 was my first and still one of the better gigs I've attended. Saw Blur the same year too, and whilst I was a bigger Blur fan than Oasis I think the atmosphere that was at the Oasis gig makes it the better gig

Quote Originally Posted by ken foree View Post
    sinead o'connor in saratoga springs, ny, it was the tour date immediately following the infamous one in n. jersey where she refused the national anthem to be played before the gig, causing minor stink. she had a few choice words to say about it! and was excellent overall, the song mandinka really rocked i remember.

good fun reading these reminin.. remi... memorable thingies.
    Sweet jesus I've spent quite a few weeks in Saratoga Springs in my time. Lovely little place with loads of nice people, all very lefty too so they probably would have lapped up Sinead back in the day

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Sweet jesus I've spent quite a few weeks in Saratoga Springs in my time. Lovely little place with loads of nice people, all very lefty too so they probably would have lapped up Sinead back in the day
    nice one jebus! was it in august for the track season? yea it's a great town in the summer, the parting glass pub used have all the jockey/trainer lads down there, some great times and stories with them fellas.
    zombie/thread killer..

Quote Originally Posted by ken foree View Post
    nice one jebus! was it in august for the track season? yea it's a great town in the summer, the parting glass pub used have all the jockey/trainer lads down there, some great times and stories with them fellas.
    I was there for june in 2002 and june/july in 2003 visiting a friend who warned me to get out before track season started, apparantly a lot of Saratogans head to the hills for the track invasion. That said I had managed to get myself a job at the track for August of 2003 until the American government shagged up my fast-track Visa and I had to leave the country.

Parting Glass was/is a great pub though, some good times had in there with some good people. I remember one time I was waiting for a mate of mine in there and I got talking with two lads in the Irish jersey at the bar and sure enough within 20 minutes of talking them I had a job if I needed it and a floor to crash on until I got myself set up. I had a place to stay already but it was still sound of them to offer it.

My first gig will be Iron Maiden on the 20th of this month not looking forward to it TBH. Doing it as a favour to my mate.

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.
    Red Hot Chilli peppers and Queens of the Stoneage in Chicago in 2002 was my first gig. QOTSA were brilliant the chillis were good as well but the Queens were better

My first gig will be Iron Maiden on the 20th of this month not looking forward to it TBH. Doing it as a favour to my mate.

id take the ticket off ye so!!!!

The Drifters in Donegal when I was only a little fella in the 80's on my own would've been Radiohead in the RDS in 1997, I think
    Sitting pretty!!!

The Wolfe Tones in the Temple when I was 14 and it was 18s .There was a big fight outside afterwards, the Garda showed up and suddenly everyone dissappeared leaving us two young lads waiting for our lift standing opposite a group of townies/junkies huddled in the stairway of those flats across the road, in a dark, deserted corner of the inner city. We were bricking it, but the mates Dad showed up just as the lads were beginning to eye us up. I'd say I probably could of taken them anyway
    <insert witty remark>

Well depends on your definition of Gig. Saw a lot of dodgy cabaret acts when I was a kid with my parents. First gig I went to that I wanted to was Feile 94. I think the first band I saw was that grunge/punk/metal band from Kilkenny that had a song called Basket case. Can't remember what they were called though.
    Highlights were The Prodigy, Blur and Elvis Costello. Remember seeing the beautiful south and enjoying it but was extremely hammered. There were probably other great moments at that gig but as I said I was very very drunk at the time.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

My first concert was Transvision Vamp back in late 1989 in the Point Depot...or Theatre...I used to suspect the name of the venue changed to reflect how "classy" the band were...so it must have been Depot!