Thread: Best Gaelic Football Match of the Year

how long has it been since mick o'dwyer "played" football.....

btw its obvious he receives "expenses" but how do you know he is the highest earner in irish sport?

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Game of the year possibly the game of the decade so far.
    You have got to be joking me! There is no point in contesting these opinions anymore.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

1,928 Posts
    Real_Ale: did you see the ros v kerry minors first match? if yes it might give you more of an insight into where I am coming from...
    Ha insight? you are optimistic Paul.
    I wonder why some voyeuristic begrudgers seem to always find the time to log onto a GAA thread and express some grudge or another selected from the big sack they have hanging around their neck. I suspect that it's similar to those so called gay bashers who detest their own well suppressed nature.
    I missed that minor match
    Stuck in my memory from years ago is a performance by John O'Keefe in an all-Ireland minor final with Kerry.
    This year for me it was Kerry and Armagh, a real duel.

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    You have got to be joking me! There is no point in contesting these opinions anymore.
    course you can - it is after all an opinion. The general consensus is that the mayo-dublin game was the best game of the year - no one can say for certain that it was - its just opinion. My personal opinion was that it was and therefore it was one of the best games i've seen for the last 5/6 years.

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Ha insight? you are optimistic Paul.
    I wonder why some voyeuristic begrudgers seem to always find the time to log onto a GAA thread and express some grudge or another selected from the big sack they have hanging around their neck. I suspect that it's similar to those so called gay bashers who detest their own well suppressed nature.
    I missed that minor match
    Stuck in my memory from years ago is a performance by John O'Keefe in an all-Ireland minor final with Kerry.
    This year for me it was Kerry and Armagh, a real duel.
    Very clever geysir - this big sack full of grudges you are talking about was actually opened by Paul who for some unknown reason thought it was a good idea to take a swipe at "other professional sports" while having a discussion about the best Gaelic football game of the year - far be it from me - or anyone else to defend the sport this very MB is built around.

Real_Ale: did you see the ros v kerry minors first match? if yes it might give you more of an insight into where I am coming from.....
    saw the game, and the replay - both very exciting. Still don't know where your "insight" into taking a swipe at other sports is coming from...sorry.

was actually opened by Paul who for some unknown reason
    point taken, i shouldnt have digressed, but as I did say the whole reason we love sport(s) of all kind, is for the commitment, passoin and skill. I was simply trying to draw parallells on how some people are becoming dis-illusioned with the professional game. I wasn't taking a swipe. i draw parallels to football to the same extent on gaa boards too! anyhow you are right nuff said, i shouldn't have drawn any parrallels.

Mayo game was very exciting to be honest, and in the game of gaelic sport ( where dare i say it ) the skill level mightn't be as high as that in Hurling ( ), that is what we look for more so in football, the skill on show mightn't have been as high as other games this season, but speed, strength, passion and flair certainly were.

I wouldn't say the second game was exciting, i saw it afterwards ( as i slept through the alarm in chicago for hte replay ) and the game was sh1te tbh, sloppy, messy, slow, no skill on show really bar a handful or players, lacking everything the first one had!!!

777 Posts
    I wouldn't say the second game was exciting, i saw it afterwards ( as i slept through the alarm in chicago for hte replay ) and the game was sh1te tbh, sloppy, messy, slow, no skill on show really bar a handful or players, lacking everything the first one had!!!
    Well i was on holidays at the time - watched it in an Irish bar in Protugal - packed full of Rossies so i was hoping they would win it. Meant a lot to them. Made it a bit more exciting watching it probably.

Fair play for your other comments also.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    point taken, i shouldnt have digressed, but as I did say the whole reason we love sport(s) of all kind, is for the commitment, passoin and skill. I was simply trying to draw parallells on how some people are becoming dis-illusioned with the professional game. I wasn't taking a swipe. i draw parallels to football to the same extent on gaa boards too! anyhow you are right nuff said, i shouldn't have drawn any parrallels.

Mayo game was very exciting to be honest, and in the game of gaelic sport ( where dare i say it ) the skill level mightn't be as high as that in Hurling ( ), that is what we look for more so in football, the skill on show mightn't have been as high as other games this season, but speed, strength, passion and flair certainly were.

I'd be like you PoS, I follow both codes and I couldn't possibly choose one over the other, all I can say is that I've never come away from a Kerry game disappointed because I felt the team weren't proud of wearing the jersey. But I'm not going to bash the soccer heads just because the GAA heads are amateurs. Remember Ciaran Whelan has a brilliant job at Allianz, where his interview consisted of two mins of job speak and 1 hr 28 mins about GAA. What the top GAA players miss out on professional pay, a lot make up for in cushy jobs, or if self employed, more business as a result of the exposure of the hobby.

As for the bit of your post that is highlighted, that for me sums up all that is wrong with the GAA. All the emphasis is on endurance, power, speed, instead of trying to combine the physical side with the basic skills. I lived opposite O'Toole Park in Dublin and would always see the Dublin Hurlers train during the winter. They would train for 3 hours and for two of those hours they wouldn't see a sliotar. Thenb the powers that be would bemoan the fact that they're one of the second tier and can't challenge the big guns.

I know the Ulster teams are castigated for their strength and their use of the tackle, but there's no stronger team than Kerry. This has been openly admitted by the likes of McGeeney and Mulligan. The difference is that Kerry don't spend more than 15 mins without a ball during the training sessions.
    One of the reasons this years Minor final was so enjoyable was the execution of the basic skills of the game, pure.

Declan O'Sullivan is giving up the GAA for a year to go to OZ because he hasn't had a break since he finished his leaving 4 years ago. Thats fcuking crazy man.

horses for courses in relation to games and all that kingdom, i agree in what you are saying, there was no little skill in the game i mentioned though.

1,928 Posts
    Very clever geysir - this big sack full of grudges you are talking about was actually opened by Paul who for some unknown reason thought it was a good idea to take a swipe at "other professional sports" while having a discussion about the best Gaelic football game of the year - far be it from me - or anyone else to defend the sport this very MB is built around.
    Sorry about that misunderstanding, I don't have any problem with your opinions nor was I referring to you. It's a Gaelic football thread, Paul's opinion could not be classified as begrudgery. I don't agree with it in general but I can see the point he was making.
    Just, in general if there is a thread (rare) opened on Gaelic football I get tired of narrow minded sport bigots who seem to pop up with the usual repetitive grudges. I couldn't be arséd going to some thread of a sport I had no positive interest in.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Sorry about that misunderstanding, I don't have any problem with your opinions nor was I referring to you. It's a Gaelic football thread, Paul's opinion could not be classified as begrudgery. I don't agree with it in general but I can see the point he was making.
    Just, in general if there is a thread (rare) opened on Gaelic football I get tired of narrow minded sport bigots who seem to pop up with the usual repetitive grudges. I couldn't be arséd going to some thread of a sport I had no positive interest in.
    Here here! I'm sick of that happening. And thats not having a go at mods, cause I know they've enoughto worry about. And the arguement that this is a football website doesn't stand up, cause if thats the case, then get rid of the sub forums altogether,

lads look up a dictionary for the meaning of slander please b4 u make tits of yourselves

777 Posts
    And the arguement that this is a football website doesn't stand up, cause if thats the case, then get rid of the sub forums altogether,
    Not the point i was making at all. If you take a swipe at "other professional sports" then you should expect a backlash - referring to soccer in a GAA thread in that way is close to Trolling IMO - but Paul has realised his error and in fairness I among others were probably a bit quick to jump down his throat. case closed.

Couldnt agree more. I have an interest in most sports. Its for this reason i completly ignored the "Bogball" thread.

634 Posts
    Not the point i was making at all. If you take a swipe at "other professional sports" then you should expect a backlash - referring to soccer in a GAA thread in that way is close to Trolling IMO - but Paul has realised his error and in fairness I among others were probably a bit quick to jump down his throat. case closed.
    Wasn't referring to yourself man, but I believe the point I'm making to be correct. In the Other Sports forum and GAA is an Other Sport, some of us have started threads on football because there is a large numer of posters who have a genuine interest in the game, and I reckon you'd do well to find a GAA thread that hasn't had a non-believer come on just to flare things up, which is out of order.

Here here! I'm sick of that happening. And thats not having a go at mods, cause I know they've enoughto worry about. And the arguement that this is a football website doesn't stand up, cause if thats the case, then get rid of the sub forums altogether,
    I agree too, but when a mod is moderating it and he still puts his twopence in we are fighting a corrupt board
    I reckon you'd do well to find a GAA thread that hasn't had a non-believer come on just to flare things up, which is out of order.
    here here, but again if the mod is adding to it, how can it be controlled? The age old adage that tim berners-lee always sprouted "use the internet as a source of information for yourself", taking that into this context only use the threads you have an interest in to reply, rather than Trolling just to rise or annoy people, even though you don't succeed might I add.

finally:

lads look up a dictionary for the meaning of slander please b4 u make tits of yourselves
    what has this got to do with the price of milk?
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 30/11/2006 at 1:20 PM.

777 Posts
    here here, but again if the mod is adding to it, how can it be controlled? The age old adage that tim berners-lee always sprouted "use the internet as a source of information for yourself", taking that into this context only use the threads you have an interest in to reply, rather than Trolling just to rise or annoy people, even though you don't succeed might I add.
    In future - PRACTICE WHAT YOU PREACH

I agree too, but when a mod is moderating it and he still puts his twopence in we are fighting a corrupt board

Well the mod of this board (nominally me, as there isn't one) hasn't posted in it in ages so not sure what you're getting at but... You retracted (ish) what you said so I left it alone. The only reason I posted on this thread was your claim that no sportsman can compare with gaelic players for passion (paraphrasing). Its not trolling if I disagree with this (strongly). If you didn't post this rubbish, I wouldn't have had to post. So rather than blame others for coming into your threads and challenging your views, maybe you should just stop posting rubbish about football in Ireland.

One last thing, mods have opinions, if I wasn't allowed express them I wouldn't be here

what has this got to do with the price of milk?

the bit it referred to as been deleted in the meantime

two ppl discussing slander who were trying to be too clever by half and actually highlighting their misunderstanding of the term

Ok dodge, ill let you away with this one, as your sentence has both correct syntax and symantecs and it is also well structured grammatically.

So, have we agreed then that I am always right and the ros minors v kerry minors was the best game of the year?!?!?

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    The only reason I posted on this thread was your claim that no sportsman can compare with gaelic players for passion (paraphrasing). Its not trolling if I disagree with this (strongly). If you didn't post this rubbish, I wouldn't have had to post. So rather than blame others for coming into your threads and challenging your views, maybe you should just stop posting rubbish about football in Ireland.
    One last thing, mods have opinions, if I wasn't allowed express them I wouldn't be here
    You don't to need much reason to 'have to' post in a GAA thread. Why would you give a shíte what opinions go on in this thread. Its sealed off and can't contaminate the rest of pure sporting footies. Any other poster can pick Paul up on his statement.
    Mick O'Dwyer is BY FAR the highest paid person in Irish sport
    Have you any evidence to support this statement?