Thread: CIS Cup FInal Saturday 2nd December

103 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by David View Post
    What questions are there on policing. I have seen Cliftonville supporters complaining because they were in riot gear saying this is somehow provocative. Looks like they were right to be prepared in this way to me.
    The main question many are asking is why were they permitted to park their cars beyond the tunnel towards Glenmachan Street only to find a wall of riot police preventing them from returning to their cars when they came out. The police were telling supporters that they would have to do a 4 mile walk to get to their cars which were only parked a few yards away? Heated exchanges started taking place, mean while those intent on trouble were given their excuse to start on the police. Fans continued to stream out onto the road from the game with more and more argueing with police about getting back to their cars by which stage for some they were met with the response of a batton or a dog handler.

In the pre-match meetings the police had agreed that there would be no parking on that part of the road, yet they failed to even put out a traffic cone.

This does not excuse the behaviour of those who started the trouble but the police failures inflamed the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post
    Yep the troublemakers were a disgrace. There are also serious questions being asked about the policing after the game. btw the numbers involved are exagerated. 1 is too many however less than 100 were involved. As for the so called hijacking, one wag stole the keys from a lorry and ran off, it certainly was no hijacking!
    Is THIS a pic of one of the wags. Didn't think they would do such a thing

Last edited by Raheny Red; 05/12/2006 at 2:41 PM.
    Who Cares?!

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    This does not excuse the behaviour of those who started the trouble but the police failures inflamed the situation.
    The "trouble" started inside the ground, ie. before the Cliftonville fans left it - witness the damage inside the ground.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

103 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    The "trouble" started inside the ground, ie. before the Cliftonville fans left it - witness the damage inside the ground.
    That was sheer vandilism and not "trouble" and I equally condemn.

131 Posts
    That was sheer vandilism and not "trouble" and I equally condemn.
    So, do you think people who indulge in unprovoked, wreckless acts of vandalism inside a football ground, were just walking home peacefully until they saw the horrific sight of PSNI officers in riot gear?

Or, do you think some of them might have been "up for it" ie. looking for a continuation of their days' wrecking?

103 Posts
    So, do you think people who indulge in unprovoked, wreckless acts of vandalism inside a football ground, were just walking home peacefully until they saw the horrific sight of PSNI officers in riot gear?

Or, do you think some of them might have been "up for it" ie. looking for a continuation of their days' wrecking?

Yes I have no doubt they were up for it and when they got out of the ground and saw people already engaged in 'heated' to put it mildly, exchanges with police because they couldn't get to their cars they got their chance. As I said I condemn their actions.

Have to say enjoyed the hospitality in windsor saturday.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Have to say enjoyed the hospitality in windsor saturday.

You enjoyed being in amongst people who wrecked and vandalised a football stadium? Strange person but could be said that this is not unusual for a Rovers fan.

Where I was there was no wrecking of anything sunshine so calm down with the lazy stereotypes. Dont tar everybody with the same brush kid.

I was referring to the lovely coffee, sandwiches and cakes at half time under the main stand

Where I was there was no wrecking of anything sunshine so calm down with the lazy stereotypes. Dont tar everybody with the same brush kid.

I was referring to the lovely coffee, sandwiches and cakes at half time under the main stand

Of course you were.

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    NY was at it myself, was that you with the Reebok Classic Sport shoes and matching sweatpants ? Nice Work mate did you get all the christmas shopping done in Iceland as well ? Take a Bow Son take a Bow !!!!!!
    Eh no.

David I was down under the stand at half time. Want me to describe the room layout?

131 Posts
    David,

Has AC gone and turned the Junior Blues Lounge into a bloody bakery?

But you were wearing a Baseball cap ? I seen a couple Of Dublin lads with strong accents all i could understand was bud to be honest, I think they were wearing Reebok Classics but they wearing white runners diffo for sure, i am certain of you lads had a Le Coq Sportif top on, anyway you seem to be having the craic.
    I saw a sligo person once on a tractor with hay coming out of his nose, ears and mouth. Judging by the hum he hadnt washed since the famine.

David,

Has AC gone and turned the Junior Blues Lounge into a bloody bakery?
    Seems so mate.

70 Posts
    David, you've lead this thread down the path to pure crap with your stupid stereotyping. Keep this thread on the topic of the game or it will be closed.

Thats right NY the old ones are the best i bet he was not wearing Reebok Classics though My word NY can you take a compliment ? all i said i seen a few lads from Dublin, it appears one of them were you judging by your reaction were having a day out seemed to be enjoying themselves. Slagging apart there is nothing wrong with le cop Sportif tops, discounted baseball caps and Reebok Classics although i nor any of my friends would wear these brands, but did you really stop on the way home and go to Iceland ? Now that is naff NY you know Kerry McFaden or now Kerry Katona as she is known fronts an ad campaign for them try hyper value next time your up it is just as cheap as well so dont worry mate. Also if you want to splash out on some new clobber for yourself i hear TK Max or TK Maxx is a place where you can get money off labels. No Problem mate glad i could help.
    I dont wear that garbage and none of the Rovers fans there sat were either. Give up the glue please.

Anyway the CAS semi has been put back to December 20th.

74 Posts
    If you think NY Hoop is a hoolie then your sad stereotyping is even more pathetic than at first glance.

As for the Sligo eejit, in my experience it's the clubs from culchie towns like Dundalk, Limerick and yes, Sligo that attract the hordes of unwashed scrots in LCS and Reebok.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    David, you've lead this thread down the path to pure crap with your stupid stereotyping. Keep this thread on the topic of the game or it will be closed.
    Forgive me for being ever so slightly annoyed when there are thousands of pounds worth of damage done to my club's ground by people in the section NY Hoop is jokingly referring to. Rovers fans have been attending Cliftonville games up here for years and causing trouble, that is not generalisation, that is fact.

74 Posts
    Forgive me for being ever so slightly annoyed when there are thousands of pounds worth of damage done to my club's ground by people in the section NY Hoop is jokingly referring to. Rovers fans have been attending Cliftonville games up here for years and causing trouble, that is not generalisation, that is fact.
    There he goes again.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

103 Posts
    I dont wear that garbage and none of the Rovers fans there sat were either. Give up the glue please.

Anyway the CAS semi has been put back to December 20th.

Both CAS semi finals have been postponed pending a meeting on Monday.