Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Dundalk win the play-off

of course we are not from dublin but I think some of these lads lack an education system on top of lacking decent football teams. The patectic attempt to try and bloster their argeuemnt by trying to call Drogs dubin is just plain thick. Sure if you want to use that argument then all of Leinster might as well be Dublin. Aright coming from bohs trying to wind us up but for proplr to try and use it in a factual argument - well what can I say

If these rral teams wee good enough then they would be fine - its not Leinster teams fault that Limerick CITY does not back is own club.

Back to the main point about Dundalk - a little fact they seem to ignore - their club agreed to the new structureand selection porcess - you cannot now cry foul just cause you wn a worthless playoff.

Now some might argue that they beat Waterford - but so what, they signed up to the new format and they knew at the start of the season that it was a worthless format.

Should duns replace a team who performed better on the field over the last five years ?

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SeanDrog View Post
    Back to the main point about Dundalk - a little fact they seem to ignore - their club agreed to the new structureand selection porcess - you cannot now cry foul just cause you wn a worthless playoff.

Now some might argue that they beat Waterford - but so what, they signed up to the new format and they knew at the start of the season that it was a worthless format.

Should duns replace a team who performed better on the field over the last five years ?
    In a normal season, yes Waterford would go down and on last nights performance they should simple as. Dundalk were the better team. They approached this game with a professional attitude while we just left Cawley and Reynolds go on holidays and treated the tie as a pre season friendly. There were so many of our players last night just totally switched off with the exception of Kavanagh, Browne and Hayes.

Gareth Cronin was never going to claw back the damage left by Kerley (13 game consecutive losing streak) and Dundalk with the win momentum behind them all season were always going into this game on the upper hand.

if Dundalk do feel aggrieved at the end of the day they have right to be, however they signed up to the agreement, for good or bad and now it must be adhered to.

Over the last 5 years we have done alot of work on and off the pitch. The plans to develop the RSC are at an advanced stage, scholarship set up with WIT, financially sound and concrete plans are afoot to set up the youth academy and underage teams. Our record in the last 4-5 years is quite goodwith the exception of this season of course.

Dundalk and to John Gill's credit have been putting in some solid work but alas the agreement that we all signed up to, will be points based and ourselves will be judged on that. I know it will be rough justice for Dundalk but that unfortunatley is how it has turned out.

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post

Gareth Cronin was never going to claw back the damage left by Kerley (13 game consecutive losing streak) and Dundalk with the win momentum behind them all season were always going into this game on the upper hand.

financially sound and concrete plans are afoot to set up the youth academy and underage teams. Our record in the last 4-5 years is quite goodwith the exception of this season of course.
    a lot of soundbites (concrete, solid, sound) here in your post, and financially sound my fukin arse, the reason Kerley had to go on a shoestring budget for his part of the season was that ye were very financially crap! a certian first div club also ran with soundbites throughout the season and watch which div they end up with next season
    every club has plans in their licence documents (youth progs, stadium dev etc) and im sure waterford are no differant but their not the exception.

TOTAL AND UTTER CRAP GEAL, i personally spoke to some of the players that are now with other clubs and the reason they left is because the MC left it to Kerley alone to re-sign the players, the clown obviously thought he was still with Limerick FC by the way he acted, 1 player in particular left over 50euro and others were disgusted by the reduced offer in wages Kerley was offering them and they left too.
    I spoke also to a director who wanted to sack Kerley over the way he treated the players with negotiations, he was perhaps the most inept and useless manager i personally have ever witnessed stand on the sidelines at WUFC, thank Christ he is gone.
    As regards back to the topic, yes we are on a very sound and financial footing cos i know this for a certain fact so before you go spouting crap i suggest you go and give Danny Drew a lecture on how to run a club before you come on here and slate other clubs.
    And YES we will be in the premiere division next year as it was confirmed to me at the WUFC dinner dance on friday night by a certain person ye all know and its not down to favouritism , its down to meeting all the IAG's criteria, actually we rank 9th or 10th in the points table, we all signed up for it so now we have to adhere to the rules.

48 Posts
    Mypost, why should Kildare be demoted? Because we are living within our means and developing young local talent, unlike most clubs? Because we are one of the only clubs that made a profit last year? Maybe, like other Rovers fans, you are just still bitter about the fact is was raining when you visited here in the first match last season and that the Gardaí shut down the pub?

And may I point out that Waterford aren't a "country" club. It's a city. There are other developed areas outside of Dublin believe it or not, and it is these areas that ought to be tapped into by the new League. Waterford will probably have a much stronger team next season.

UCD will go down due to very bad attendances, unmarketability, and the odd season in D1. I hope Galway go up as they are the most professionally run club in the league. The fact that they have managed their affairs so well, even when languishishing in D1, is a testament for them.

Dundalk have probably spent to long in D1 to get enough points from their results to go up unfortunately.
    Last edited by Philly; 26/11/2006 at 3:35 PM.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Philly View Post
    UCD will go down due...the odd season in D1.
    Dundalk have probably spent to long in D1 to get enough points from their results to go up unfortunately.
    Slight inconsistency there, Philly.

Also, crowds are marked out of 60 in total, I think, and we score about 35. General range for marks there is 30-50. 15 marks isn't going to screw us over, always provided the criteria are applied correctly.

48 Posts
    Hows that inconsistent? I think both clubs will be in the First Division next year.

Ireland is not an isolated case whereby a Mega City that dwarfs all others has the stranglehold on football in the country, You see the same in Russia, there Lokomotiv, Cska, Spartak, Dynamo have all dominated the Russian league, with the exception of the new occurance of Zenit St Petersburg. There they have realised that to increase popularity of the Russian domestic game they must try and spread football out to the provinces, give it a new lease of life. I feel the same would be beneficial in Ireland. There is relative popularity of LOI football in the minor urban centres outside of Dublin. We see this in Dundalk, Drogheda, Waterford, Sligo, Athlone, etc. Some of these clubs are of the oldest in Ireland, the reason for this is there was a sufficient popularity in these urban centres to sustain LOI football. I feel it would be beneficial for the domestic game in Ireland to exploit these untapped markets in the first division, such as Dundalk, Galway, Athlone etc nd remove some of the smaller Dublin teams. It is certainly not fair on clubs such as UCD and Bray but it would certainly enhance the League.

Middle of No Where, The Center of Everywhere.
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post

Last time I looked, Dundalk, Drogheda, and Athlone, like Waterford, were not from Dublin and never were either. Not even Bray are from Dublin.

There are 5 teams from Dublin in the league, and 4 are going in, with one club in the first division. Everyone knows which ones at this stage.

As for Kilkenny, Kildare, and Monaghan, they should be demoted to the A league.
    So.....Lets see 10 (Div1)+11 (Prem Div)=21 clubs at present-myposts favourite 3= 18 clubs...

So who are you going to replace them with mypost or do you suggest replacing them?.What are you exactly suggesting ?. Replace them with three other clubs in other areas?, If so where may I ask?.

There are already clubs in every densely populated area of Ireland that have the capability or interest needed in sustaining an eircom league club. All three clubs you have mentioned have the facilities in place or have plans to do so. With the population increasing in two of these areas (Kildare and Kilkenny) the clubs will and do have the potential to attract a fanbase the problem is realising this potential.

Setting up new clubs for Div One will involve the developement of facilities in areas where there are none which requires money not to mention the fact that most other areas without a eircom league club (but not all) will have to compete with GAA and rugby in areas where both sports are already well developed a struggle which can be witnessed with the three clubs mentioned.

All three clubs are totally within their right to be in the eircom league and ARE of the few clubs that live within their means unlike other clubs who have, will and should suffer for their fianancial lunacy.

Quote Originally Posted by Mental Man View Post
    TOTAL AND UTTER CRAP GEAL, As regards back to the topic, yes we are on a very sound and financial footing cos i know this for a certain fact so before you go spouting crap i suggest you go and give Danny Drew a lecture on how to run a club before you come on here and slate other clubs.
    And YES we will be in the premiere division next year as it was confirmed to me at the WUFC dinner dance on friday night by a certain person ye all know and its not down to favouritism , its down to meeting all the IAG's criteria, actually we rank 9th or 10th in the points table, we all signed up for it so now we have to adhere to the rules.
    I wasnt for one sec saying Kerley was totally blameless, you naturally would know more of the inside dealings at your club then i would so calm down a little. But how many times in the last few years have waterford and other clubs ran into financial trouble mid season etc? Im looking there in my earlier post where i "slated" your or other clubs, and where i said ye (waterford) wouldnt be in the new star studded league. Im lost as to where to find it

3,491 Posts
    Hows that inconsistent? I think both clubs will be in the First Division next year.
    You think Dundalk will be in the First Division for a long spell in the First Division and we'll be in the First for an "odd season". So lots of time in the First gets relegation, and little time in the First gets relegation. Maybe inconsistent is the wrong word - nonsense is a better one.

If every club were who had the same "odd season" in the First as we did - that's one season in twelve now - were relegated, you'd be relegating Drogheda, Longford, Waterford and Bray as well, and you'd be left with half a Premier. Which, obviously, is nonsnse.

48 Posts
    The odd season in D1 is coupled with poor attendances and poor marketability. Basically, I feel there are too many clubs better than UCD for them to be put in the Premier Division. I suppose you guys will get some Marketing students to draw up a huge marketing plan and all though, so you never know

71 Posts
    For those obsessed with the notion of reducing Dublin clubs, the natural order will be restored even if its artificially tinkered with. This exercise is utterly pointless and senselessly damaging to UCD if we happen to be relegated.

399 Posts
    Sean Drog

You really have some neck 4 good(ish) seasons out of the last 44 in business (a grand total of 1.5 trophys) and you think you have the right to point out what we need to aspire to ?

The ONLY valid point you and your lets support drogs from 2003 mates * have is our admitably dreadful performances from 2002 - 2004. (no argument here on that)

Only this am I am a call from a good mate who`s been a drog fan for over 20 yrs, he was delighted at at hearing the result v Waterford 'i`d love if you got promoted, superb gates and excellent competiton for BOTH clubs each season'

Also he reminded me Drogs best ever domestic gate was still the cup replay v us in 2004

Its in the best interest of football in louth and indeed evry other part of ireland to have a good standard of competition between close rivals, same applies to rovers/bohs, derry/harps, galway/sligo, maybe even cork/cobh, etc etc.

So grow up mate, and leave your childish bigotary views aside and let football be the winner.

* Source, Drogs v Dlk Dec 2000, Utd Park, First Div, Attendance 410

48 Posts
    We'll all have to just wait and see I guess.

Quote Originally Posted by Mental Man View Post
    Does that mean you were told that the FAI would be selecting the teams for next years premier based entirely on the IAG's reccomendations?
    Everyone can have as many opinions as they want but it's all very simple.The FAI will announce on December 11th all 12 teams who've made into the Premier league.Whether people/clubs are happy or not-tough.That's the way it will be.The FAI now run the league and can by in large do what they want.Any club(including GUFC) can have no complaints if they're not in it.It simply means that based on all the criteria they weren't good enough.I for one will be waiting with bated breath for the next 2 weeks.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    I think both clubs will be in the First Division next year.
    Just read the bloody criteria ffs.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Sean Drog
    You really have some neck 4 good(ish) seasons out of the last 44 in business (a grand total of 1.5 trophys) and you think you have the right to point out what we need to aspire to ?
    The ONLY valid point you and your lets support drogs from 2003 mates * have is our admitably dreadful performances from 2002 - 2004. (no argument here on that)
    Only this am I am a call from a good mate who`s been a drog fan for over 20 yrs, he was delighted at at hearing the result v Waterford 'i`d love if you got promoted, superb gates and excellent competiton for BOTH clubs each season'
    Also he reminded me Drogs best ever domestic gate was still the cup replay v us in 2004
    Its in the best interest of football in louth and indeed evry other part of ireland to have a good standard of competition between close rivals, same applies to rovers/bohs, derry/harps, galway/sligo, maybe even cork/cobh, etc etc.
    So grow up mate, and leave your childish bigotary views aside and let football be the winner.
    * Source, Drogs v Dlk Dec 2000, Utd Park, First Div, Attendance 410
    How did we manage to win 1.5 trophies. The Setanta cup must be only half a trophy
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Oriel you really do seem to be dim. If you read my post (or get someone to read it for you), my point is that your club signed up to this selction process so no point in giving out about it now and trying to play the victims. i don't givre two hoots about your history (note the word history), your club signed up to the terms and now are trying to wriggle out of it (not really surprised by that TBH).

Moan moan moan - why did you moran officials sign up to it only to now cry foul?

Based on the criteria (WHICH YOU CLUB AGREED TO), you DO NOT DESERVE to come up. (can you grasp that concept - you guys agreed and signed up to this).

Try being honest with yoursleves and balme your club for agreeing to this format rather than blaming everyone else (truth hurts).

Enjoy the new look first div next season.

The other way I suppose of looking at it , is are Dundalk trying to breach their contract with the new league by tyring to breach the agreement on the club selection criteria that they agreed to? if this is the case should they then be thrown out of the new league and another cluiba sked to join in their place? (perhaps one who knows how to keep the terms of an agreement and just as importantly one that UNDERSTANDS what they are signing.
    Last edited by SeanDrog; 27/11/2006 at 7:01 AM.

its not about coming up, and the sooner people get that throught their heads the better

its about applying to a new league, a completely new entity

Well done Dundalk... 2nd is the first loser

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast