Thread: Paul McGrath book scoop's Top Award

Paul McGrath book scoop's Top Award

http://www.villagemagazine.ie/articl...ud=18&aid=3275
    Paul McGrath's Autobiography "Back From The Brink" has won the inaugural william hill Irish sports Book of the year award
    has anyone read it?

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    http://www.villagemagazine.ie/articl...ud=18&aid=3275
    Paul McGrath's Autobiography "Back From The Brink" has won the inaugural william hill Irish sports Book of the year award
    has anyone read it?
    Bought it Saturday and am about half way through. It is a really good read. McGrath's story, much of which has been well documented before, has the best brought out of it by the superb writing style of Vincent Hogan. But I'm biased because IMHO, McGrath was Ireland's greatest player and Hogan is, by far, Ireland's greatest sports writer.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

must buy it tomorrow, will give some feedback when finished if anyone interested

Yeh would appreciate that BR, cant decide whether to spend the time reading it because altough I love the fella I was wondering was there much new stuff in there.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Awful pun in thread title.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    How many scoops did he win?
    *I know, not in good taste*

Paul McGrath=Legend!
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Yeh would appreciate that BR, cant decide whether to spend the time reading it because altough I love the fella I was wondering was there much new stuff in there.
    An awful lot of new (and shocking) stuff in the book. Amazing how much stuff the press kept quiet back then and, more surprisingly, how much they never even got wind of.

I remember deliberately not getting the book Cathal Dervan brought out because I knew it wouldn't tell the full story - would be interesting to see a comparison from someone who's read both.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    I am well over half way through and its well worth getting. I agree with Jerry a fair bit of new stuff. Will give the final review by the weekend

Not much of an award to be Irish Sports book of the year is it? The real William Hill award is prestigious, but this is a wimpy watered down version from the looks of things.
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Quote Originally Posted by el punter View Post
    Not much of an award to be Irish Sports book of the year is it?......
    Lest we should ever throw off the shackles of bedgrudery!

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Hogan is, by far, Ireland's greatest sports writer.
    do you think so?
    I think hogan is an awful writer. He seems to have spawned a load of copy cats who manage the amazing feat of actually being worse. one of the reasons I and a lot of people I know(well just me mate really) wouldnt buy the book initially was cause hogan wrote it.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    779 Posts
    I think we know why you don't like Hogan and it's more his opinion on a particular unmentionable topic that irks you I suspect.

I like Hogan. He was in our family home many years ago and he interviewed my brother for the Indo I think it was and got him good publicity. The brother is/was a racing driver and he helped him on the way with the article. I know this doesn't necessarily make him a good writer but I have a lot of time for him as a consequence.

There must have been a conspiracy of silence on McGrath's problems in the media, since little of it got out. Nowadays, it would be on the back of every Daily Tit in the country.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

716 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    I'm more concerned with the mindboggling stupidity behind that apostrophie in "scoop's".

Congratulations to McGrath. I really must get hold of a copy. He seems to have done something unfortunately unusual - (co-)written a genuinely interesting football book.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    I think we know why you don't like Hogan and it's more his opinion on a particular unmentionable topic that irks you I suspect.
    If you are talking bout Keane/Macarthy/saipan/Our 9-11 then you are wrong. I couldnt even tell ya who Hogan supported in that whole thing. I just think he is a poor writer with loads of awful descriptive prose. Having said that he seemed to have kept it to a minumim with the Magrath book and would deffo recommend it to anyone having read it.

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    If you are talking bout Keane/Macarthy/saipan/Our 9-11 then you are wrong. I couldnt even tell ya who Hogan supported in that whole thing. I just think he is a poor writer with loads of awful descriptive prose. Having said that he seemed to have kept it to a minumim with the Magrath book and would deffo recommend it to anyone having read it.
    Hogan is a writer not a reporter. It is this 'descriptive prose' that stands him out from other sports writers. He has been around too long, won too many awards and held in too high a regard by his profession to be classed as a 'bad writer'. His style has certainly stood the test of time and I for one enjoy reading his features regardless of the subject.

Paul McGrath sums it up brilliantly in the first paragraph of the book when he thanks all who contributed to the compilation of this book, 'particularly Vincent Hogan who I believe has managed to bring wonderful shape and clarity to a story that has, up to now, been largely muddied'.

Top man Vincent!

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    Having said that he seemed to have kept it to a minumim with the Magrath book and would deffo recommend it to anyone having read it.

Agree with this. He really allows McGrath's voice to come through and keeps the annoying aspects of his newspaper work out of it.

Hogan also wrote a very good biography on Nicky English some years ago.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

seen the book in easons yesterday...
    defintley a must have for me this christmas...i dont usually go for the football autobiography nonsense, but this one should be good from the legend himself...
    anyone know when its due out on paperback??

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    I'm more concerned with the mindboggling stupidity behind that apostrophie in "scoop's".
    I would be more concerned that it bothers you.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    It is this 'descriptive prose' that stands him out from other sports writers. He has been around too long, won too many awards and held in too high a regard by his profession to be classed as a 'bad writer'. His style has certainly stood the test of time and I for one enjoy reading his features regardless of the subject.
    Top man Vincent!
    I dont agree and am sure there are others who dont either. seem to remember him getting into various spats with other "writers" a while back and he was reduced to calling Humphries "fat". hardly rapier like wit? his flowery prose in his newspaper columns is woeful.

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Agree with this. He really allows McGrath's voice to come through and keeps the annoying aspects of his newspaper work out of it.
    Hogan also wrote a very good biography on Nicky English some years ago.
    Yeah this is deffo the case. credit were credit is due he wrote a great book.

been reading through a bit of it...its alot different to his previous one...the black pearl....thats fecking disney compared to the...''going completely mad and having yisser legs stick together cos ye haven't moved in so long...'' lark in the new one...

Hearing Vincent Hogan was the ghost writer would not encourage me to buy. His Indo articles are rubbish & about the quality fo a 10 year old.