Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Stuart Byrnes RTE Rant

True. But I have a feeling he wasn't too concerned over the timing. I am still somewhat giggling at the fact he exploded. For sheer unexpectedness of it all, it was funny. I said there a bit dropjawed and nearly spat my tea all over the place
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

70 Posts
    I have to say I have had alot of dealings with Stew and he is a thoroughly
    decent fella. He is one of them players who plays on anger. Id say someone in
    Shels was fuelling his fire and by god it worked, He was fantastic. Emotion got the better of him it happens.But It was a world class rant. He will be embarrased in the morning. Its better to be a bad winner than a bad loser and
    his league winners medal should ease his anger
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

The more I think about it the funnier it gets. I think it will go down as one of those moments . I think derry fans might even laugh a little once the dust settles.

Lads you might all care about this but we couldn't give a flying ****. You can catch me in Dublin airport next July jetting of to wherever for our CL game. We can chat then

he got compo from rovers....or settled or something

Roddy didn't win his case because it never reached that stage: a compromise arose ahead of the EAT hearing. A no-blame agreement was reached that saved both sides a lot of money in legal fees.
    Considering that the people who brought him to Rovers never even signed him up to a written contract (yep, that's how badly Rovers used to be run), it's a satisfactory conclusion to a grim chapter in SRFC history.

It was a little cringeworthy. Was he the dude who was red-carded - if so maybe that explains his rant?

Good player who got carried away.If people from different clubs on here say he is normally a good fella then thats good enough for me.Congragulations Shelbourne.
    btw was a bit disappointed with Shels fans the Boez outsung them all game.

Quote Originally Posted by BleusAvantTout View Post
    It was a little cringeworthy. Was he the dude who was red-carded - if so maybe that explains his rant?
    Cringeworthy? It was a charlied-up amateur hour. Byrne embarassed Irish Football with his childish outburst. Then the podium was set up facing the stand that the Bohs fans had vacated. The TV struggled to follow the presentation with a couple of hundred on the pitch. It all looked like a GAA county final somewhere you'd never dare put on a map.

The dude who was red carded, and still on the field of play subsequently, was Dirtbird Baker.

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth View Post
    Lots of crap has been thrown at shels week in week out, and the players have not said a word. I guess the pressure cooker needs to release steam at some point. So many reasons for that rant. I still think stuart is a fine player and a very nice bloke. We have been branded cheats and all sorts during the season and as a player playing week in week out, that has got to **** you off.

So many reasons for that rant - explain in terms relating to Stephen Kenny plz ? as im lost to the reason for Byrne's rant ?

Byrne said something similar on RTE radio. Best midfielder in the country IMO

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rKxsvjUkmk

Hero. Amazing performance tonight. If we had lost and he had said that people would have called him a bad loser, so fair ****s to him for coming out and saying what he thought. Certainly made some entertaining viewing!
    The sports team from my area is superior to the sports team from your area.

Quote Originally Posted by sduffy View Post
    Did anybody pick-up on an exchange between Dave Barry and Roddy Collins before the match?

DB said that the drinks were on RC as it had been a very good week for him. A smiling RC said he couldn't possibly comment. What was that all about? Did RC win his unfair dismissal case against Rovers?

ya i heard it. there are two things DB could be referring to and both were in todays papers. first and most likely was the fact that rovers settled, and second was that RC got a new contract from RTE for being a panelist.

Last edited by Réiteoir; 18/11/2006 at 11:25 AM.
    DCFC

imagine if Stephen Gerrard said that about Sir Alex, the FA would have him up on chargers before he had finished speaking.

There is something to be said for winning graciously.

from knowing stuey's sister,i can honestly say that the interview seen on rte is not a reflection on the man himself. he let off a bit of steam??so what!they have just won the league.its probabaly what every $hel$ fan was thinking anyway .he just had the balls to say it. well done shels anyway.well deserved IMO.
    4th official"Dermot, relax with the swearing" .Keely"Ah its grand, he's me son"

Don't see what the fuss is about. Kenny is just another rat deserting the eircom league sinking ship. very entertaining. Funny hearing that Roddy had no written contract with Rovers. That was the excuse they used when he left Dublin City & the Rovers fans slagged us off about it. i Heard he got €15000, not a lot. Another Title bought by Shels, nothing to be proud of. at least ollie won't be in the high court on Monday.

A perfect example as to why sportsmen should never talk to a reporter immediately after a highly charged game. His reference to being angry for a long time is interesting. A lot of players would go around diving in and kicking lumps out of people but I have to hand it to Byrne, he channelled all the anger in the right direction and deserved his man of the match. He was still going strong at the finish. I think he should apologise though,

"Robbed Blind" "Ridden rock solid" and here I was thinking we're playing football

The guy played a great game and then went and ruined it all by harping on like that on TV... Shels deservedly won the title but managed to make themselves even more "hateable" just cos of that jibberish by Byrne.

As I say he played very well but what we will all remember is his laughable moan in the interview. If they had lost the title he had a right to be angry but when he won it would have been better to smile to the camera and say hello to his wife and kids....

Why do I get the feeling that its Eamonn Collins and his "the world against us" attitude that brought that out in Byrne last night....although that might be the reason they are champions....

"WE WON THE LEAGUE BY THREE POINTS, DO YOU HEAR ME STEPHEN KENNY"
    Poor guy cant even read the league table thru' the red mist.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast